Geeks logo

Always.

How Severus Snape talked to my inner self.

By Sofia DuartePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Always.
Photo by Ekaterina Kuznetsova on Unsplash

There will be a lot of people here that can talk better about the Harry Potter Series. I lack the knowledge to become a true fan of anything. I consume the feelings and the inspiration to evolve into my own worlds. But you can't say that these stories that moved a generation cannot be one of the best.

I say one because, as I am a person full of little worlds, fantasy is a vast place to be lost. We are all special in our own ways, and part of our deep selves are within those stories.

The elaborated way that this world was made, full of details and creatures that moves our attention, is one of the reasons that make us want to be a part of it.

How do I think if a fantasy world is good enough? If you want to be part of it, sure it's a great one!

Each character has its own development, even if we preferred some little changes. But one thing that I would not ever change: Snape. Dobby. Hangrid. Luna.

Isn’t it funny that we look for a perfect world, and we fall in love inside those that are full of imperfect people? We all have deep secrets, we all make mistakes and that’s why we search and want to see that kind of characters evolving. We need to believe that we can evolve too. Hogwarts legacy is all about finding our true colors and using them to become our better versions. That’s why it is such a great world to dream about.

I want to be like Harry Potter, noticing that the world thinks of me as a hero, but trying to stay down-to-earth and searching for my personal answers.

I want to be like Hermione Granger, using all the knowledge that I have available to achieve the best version of myself.

Likewise, I need to be like Ron Weasly, being that full-hearted fumbler.

We can be eccentric like Luna Lovegood, accepting our true colors, and living our best way possible.

I want to evolve like Draco Malfoy, understanding that life is more than my beliefs, and we can become better individuals.

We can always teach, learn to hear, and be there for others. Just like Dumbledore.

We can be reborn and reinvent ourselves if we need to, just like the Fenix.

I could say every character, with some kind of worlds that my heart and eyes had to acknowledge within this story. But then, I would take away the feelings and hopes of others. We all need different facts from the same world. That’s why freedom is so crucial. You aren’t alone. Be considerate of others.

Note. If you don’t want spoilers, stop reading here! You can feel all of this wonderful world by watching the movies or better, by reading the books!

Now that I’ve warned you, read as your disclosure…

“Here lies Dobby. A free elf.” J. K. Rowling

Even today, remembering this character, I cry. It remembers me all the oppressed that fight for their dreams of freedom! The oppressor can be ourselves. We are the worst enemy that we have and Harry gave Dobby the power to understand that. He was the only one that could help him achieve freedom. The way that Dobby used his freedom is freely the most selfless act.

I am free, even in death. I am me. Whatever I want to be. That’s what Dobby showed me within me.

The beauty of any fandom is that we can find equal searchers of meaning, loving people that had found a way to express their deep love to live!

With that love, that is expressed best within the Severus Snape life, I want to finish with that special moment that was forever engraved within my soul:

“After all this time? Always.” J. K. Rowling

Thank you for your time reading this! You can check more posts on my profile or in the table below.

literature
2

About the Creator

Sofia Duarte

Poetry, facts, and fiction. ✏️

A Portuguese writer with an ocean of content.

News @ sofiaduarte.com

Socials @ Instagram + Facebook + Twitter + LinkedIn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.