Gamers logo

My Tribute

to Henry Jackman

By Jazzy Published 10 months ago 3 min read
4
My Tribute
Photo by C D-X on Unsplash

I have always loved music; it was a gateway to feeling emotions I didn't know how to feel. At times, I feel as if I can see music; as it plays, it wraps around me, and I see it floating through the air. Sometimes, music with lyrics ruins that illusion, and I become overwhelmed by the words. Sometimes it feels like the words are wrong for the music, and I am overcome with longing to fix it. During these times of overwhelm and longing, I lean more into instrumental music. Fortunately, I found music scores from a few different video games that were so beautiful and well done that my Spotify number one played song was "A Normal Life" by Henry Jackman from the Uncharted 4: A Thief End soundtrack. I was in Henry Jackman's 0.1% of top listeners, and I played the song "A Normal Life" over 350 times in the year 2022. The feeling this song gives me is simple, domestication with compromise or that of a marriage. When that song plays, I feel the beauty that is the union of marriage. I wasn't married when I would listen to it on repeat, but it gave me hope that one day I would be married. It calmed the anxiety of loneliness, the feeling that maybe I was too much or not enough for someone; this song encompassed all of these feelings and made it real and tangible that I might be wrong. Sometimes, when I have arguments with my husband, I listen to the song, and it helps me think threw what I want to say and remember that we are a team.

I ended up writing a few more poems while listening to songs from the soundtrack, and they are as follows; I hope you enjoy my poems that come from listening to music, and I hope you might take a chance to listen to the songs themselves. The songs are so well written and well played. I believe even in 2023, "A Thief's End" soundtrack will be my most played. I need to invest in a PlayStation once again and play Uncharted 4 again. The story is wonderful and well told, and the music is composed just as well. I am so glad this game and the music create art became a part of my life. These poems came from this art, and I am so grateful.

Reunited

This song brings feelings of happiness and love to me as well. The main themes of the soundtrack repeat in this song and from the "A Normal Life" song as well. There is added gayety and hope. Reunited reminds me that we may feel alone and apart, but we can always find common ground.

Epilogue

This song is also one of my play-on-repeat songs. This song has the themes of the main song, "A Thiefs End" and "Reunited." This song plays at the end of the game when you're exploring a beach. (And spoiler, it's Nathan Drake's family beach house.) Random side fact, I do self-hypnosis to fall asleep, and when I am told to think of a place I want to be, I think of this song playing as I explore a beach house. I would love to live on the beach with my husband and kids.

Marooned

Now this song is exactly as it sounds. The song relays the feeling of being lost and alone. As if the only person on an inhabitable island. The song surges and swells in moments of fear, and eventually, when you think it can't get any more hopeless, there is a glimmer of hope towards the end.

womenlistartadventure gamesaction adventure
4

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    “I wasn't married when I would listen to it on repeat, but it gave me hope that one day I would be married. It calmed the anxiety of loneliness, the feeling that maybe I was too much or not enough for someone; this song encompassed all of these feelings and made it real and tangible that I might be wrong. Sometimes, when I have arguments with my husband, I listen to the song, and it helps me think threw what I want to say and remember that we are a team.” OMG, that’s the most beautiful thing I’ve read this week. 🥹 I think music has much more of an impact on our psyche than most people will ever know… like when we watch horror movies, the music increases our heart rate before we see something happening. And lyrics bury themselves in our subconscious. I think you manifested the type of marriage you wanted with that song. Then using that song to remember how much you wanted to find your person is an amazing way to maintain the marriage. I will come back to check out the poems later, and I will check out the music too.

  • This is a great article 😉👍❤️💯📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.