Gamers logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 8

By Kelly RileyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 8. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 8: A Trip to Paris

If anywhere in the world could lift Virginia's spirits, it had to be Paris. The city had been my home for a time and was still home to my best friend Amelia. But our trip soon took an unexpected turn.

June: We made it, Virginia. The city of light! Are you excited?

Virginia. I guess.

June: The years I spent in Paris were the best of my life. I have an old photograph here. Let me show you.

Clue #1

June: This is me, Jack, and Amelia at our favorite café.

Virginia: Who is Amelia?

June: She's my best friend. We met here in Paris at the end of the war. There was an instant connection. We didn't know what would happen, but we knew we had each other. Amelia is going to give us the grand tour. She's a very talented painter. She knows the best galleries, the best salons. We're going to see it all.

Virginia: I know you're trying to cheer me up, Aunt June. But can we just go?

June: Okay. I had better look for the gift I brought Amelia.

Clue #2

Virginia: A charm in the shape of a cat?

June: It's a little ritual Amelia and I have. I always think of her as cat-like. She's fiercely independent -- and not afraid to show her claws! I think you'll like her.

...

June: Amelia! It's so good to see you. This is my niece, Virginia.

Amelia: I see you're still fluttering around the globe, my dear. Don't ever change. Do you like Paris so far, Virginia?

Virginia: I don't know. It's my first time in Europe.

Amelia: Then we must show you everything. But first, June's gift.

Clue #3

June: A butterfly. Thank you, Amelia. I adore it. You mentioned a boyfriend in your letters. Will we get to meet him?

Amelia: Pascal? He comes, he goes. Maybe we'll see him later.

June: Doesn't sound like love's young dream.

Amelia: Darling, who is young? And I gave up dreaming long ago.

June: Cover your ears, Virginia.

...

Amelia: Jack wrote me and mentioned sparks were flying between you and a handsome Cuban. Details?

June: He was very charming. Future mayor of Havana. But you know me, darling. I could never see myself as a politician's wife.

Amelia's bag fell open as we were talking.

June: Amelia? What's that?

Clue #4

June: Why on earth are you carrying a gun?

Amelia: It's nothing. Just being careful. Never know when you might need one.

June: For what? No one's needed a gun in Paris since 1918!

Amelia: Don't worry about it. Let's show Virginia the salon.

...

Silvio: Amelia! I see you have prettier company today. Where is that charming beau of yours?

Amelia: Pascal is away. These are my friends, June and Virginia.

Silvio: Pity we don't see any of your work here today.

June: What about you? Are you an artist? Is any of your work on display?

Silvio: Here? Heaven forbid. If you'd like to see some real artwork, come to my exhibition.

Clue #5

June: "Silvio Santini's grand unveiling of The Piazza of Love." Is he always so insufferable?

Amelia: Always. It's a miracle he can stop stroking his own ego long enough to hold a paintbrush.

June: I have to admit, it's not a bad painting.

Amelia: Yeah. Life's not fair, is it?

...

Virginia: I don't understand what Silvio was talking about. I like the art on the walls.

June: There's a word for people like him. I'd rather not say it.

Amelia: Oh God, he's coming back.

Silvio: By the way, use caution if you're planning to buy any art while you're here. There are so many unscrupulous people out there.

Silvio shoved a magazine in front of Amelia as he swanned off.

Clue #6

June: "The Secret Art of Forgery." What's Silvio talking about?

Amelia: We're leaving.

June: Amelia, is something wrong?

Amelia: I'm fine. I just want to go.

Amelia didn't say a word during the cab ride to her studio.

June: All right. What's going on with you? Storming out of the salon, carrying a gun. Please talk to me.

Amelia: Sit down, June. You've been asking what I've been working on. Here it is.

Clue #7

Virginia: This painting. I've seen it before.

June: Amelia, this painting is--

Amelia: A forgery. I know. My boyfriend Pascal and I were having trouble making rent. He found a buyer. It was meant to be a one-time thing, but then...

June: Art forgeries? I'm just surprised you would use your talent that way. Your own work was always so inspired. You know how much I admired it.

Amelia: I was tired of struggling. Tired of not being able to get by. But then... Oh God, June, it's such a mess. We got this letter. Somebody found out.

Clue #8

June: This is blackmail. They're demanding money. What are you going to do about this? And where is Pascal?

Amelia: The last time I saw him he was taking the money to the drop off point. That was days ago. June, I'm worried.

June: I'm here. We're going to figure this out. Let's start by locating Pascal.

...

Amelia: The letter said to leave the money under the bridge. So Pascal would have walked this way. Maybe someone saw him.

Virginia: There's a bookstall. Should we ask the bookseller?

June: Good thinking, Virginia.

Clue #9

June: Bonjour Monsieur. We're looking for a man who came by here a week ago.

Bookseller: Bonjour. What did this man look like?

Amelia: His name is Pascal and he's tall with dark hair. He had a black eye.

Bookseller: A week ago, you say? Hmm. Let me think. Ah yes, I think I remember the man. I kept an eye on him because I thought he might be in trouble. He looked like he'd been drinking. He was arguing with another man.

June: What did the other man look like?

Bookseller: I didn't see his face but he was wearing a purple vest. They went towards the bridge.

Clue #10

June: Police cars, a crowd of people. It looks like something happened by the river.

Amelia: Oh God. It's Pascal, I just know it.

June: You don't know that.

Amelia: I do. I have that feeling.

June: Okay. Well, let's go down there and see what's going on.

puzzle
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.