Gamers logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 7

By Kelly RileyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 7. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 7: June and Virginia

Sam was in jail. He pled guilty to the murders of Clare, Harry, and Eddie. But Virginia's struggle was far from over, and my new role as her guardian was just beginning.

Mrs. Talbot: How is breakfast this morning?

June: Lovely, thank you.

Mrs. Talbot: And you'll be having lunch today with a certain handsome Cuban? I've seen the picture he sent you. If I weren't happily married--

June: Mrs. Talbot! Stop!

Clue #1

She wasn't wrong. Julian was handsome and charming. But I also knew very little about him. I had hoped his visit to New York would change that.

Mrs. Talbot: Not to interrupt your reverie, but I wanted to talk about Virginia. She hasn't been herself since returning from Cuba. I'm worried about her.

June: I know. I'm worried too. I'll talk to her when I take her to school this morning.

...

June: Virginia? Are you ready for school?

Virginia: I guess. I don't really feel like going.

June: What's that you have there?

Clue #2

Stashed in Virginia's book was a report card from her school.

June: Virginia. Your grades. Headmistriss Hillingdon says you're failing two of your classes.

Virginia: My teachers hate me.

June: No one could hate you. There must be some mistake. I'll take you to school this morning and have a talk with the headmistress.

The classroom at St. Prudence Preparatory School. What a rush of memories. Different headmistress. Same wood-paneled walls, same faint odor of despair.

Miss Hillingdon: June Parker? Good to see you. We need to talk about Virginia's attendance. She hasn't been going to class, and her grades are suffering as a result.

June: Not going to class? But I drop her off every day!

Clue #3

The classroom attendance chart showed that Virginia had missed ten days in the last month.

June: I don't understand. Why wasn't I informed?

Miss Hillingdon: We sent letters home with Virginia.

June: I see. I don't understand. Virginia used to love school.

Miss Hillingdon: She's been having difficulties with some of the other students.

June: Difficulties? What kind of difficulties?

Miss Hillingdon: Taunting, teasing. And, well, recently it's gotten worse.

The headmistress gestured towards Virginia's desk.

Clue #4

June: These tacks. Did the other students do this?

Miss Hillingdon: I think it would be best if Virginia took some time off from school. She can come back next year. It'll be better for her.

June: That's a terrible solution! You're punishing Virginia because you can't control your students.

Miss Hillingdon: I understand your concerns, but I think this is best for everyone.

The meeting with the headmistress had left me fuming and made me late for my lunch with Julian.

June: Julian, I'm so sorry. I hope you weren't waiting long.

Julian: Think nothing of it. It's a pleasure to see you again. Shall we start with a toast?

June: To what?

Julian: Let's say, new beginnings.

Clue #5

June: Of course. To new beginnings.

Julian: You are distracted.

June: I'm sorry. I'm just worried about Virginia. Being sixteen is hard enough without...without all she's been through.

Julian: Virginia will be all right. Do you know how I know? She has you on her side.

I couldn't deny there had been a spark between me and Julian that first night in Cuba. And part of me was enthralled by the possibilities of our connection. But as each successive course was served and cleared, Virginia was never far from my mind.

Julian: Now that dessert is finished, I have a surprise for you.

June: A surprise? Oh...how wonderful.

Clue #6

June: Tickets...to Havana.

Julian: You didn't get to see the city properly last time you were there. I thought I could give you the tour.

June: Julian, I-- is it warm in here? Can we go for a walk?

Julian: Ah, yes...of course. Waiter, check please!

...

Julian: You still haven't answered my question.

June: What? Oh, about Havana? I just don't know...

Julian: You are still thinking about Virginia. That's her school in the distance isn't it?

Clue #7

He was right. I'd subconsciously started walking toward Virginia's school.

June: I'm sorry. I'm being a terrible date.

Julian: It's only natural that you're worried about Virginia.

...

Julian: It sounds to me like you could use a break. Come to Havana with me.

June: But Virginia...

Julian: Just one week. Virginia will be find. She just needs time.

June: No, I mean Virginia's over there. What's she doing out of class?

Clue #8

June: She's going into the subway. I'm sorry. I have to follow her.

Julian: I understand.

June: You do?

Julian: Of course. I have to return to Havana tonight, but my offer still stands. I hope there's space in your life for both me and Virginia.

Virginia rode the subway as far as Coney Island and then got off. There was a sign posted at the gate.

Clue #9

June: "Attention visitors: The park will be closing early today for ride maintenance." The park's closing in a few minutes. Now, where did that girl go?

I moved against the crowds as they slowly shuffled their way out of the park. Virginia had all but vanished.

Clue #10

June: Virginia!

Virginia: You followed me here? Leave me alone.

June: Not happening. You're supposed to be in school. Why didn't you tell me you were having trouble?

Virginia: Because it's none of your business. There's nothing you can do about it. Now leave me alone!

puzzle
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.