Gamers logo

Is this Game from the same Mold?

Pokémon Legends: Arceus

By A. KesonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Pokemon franchise released their first video games in October of 1998. Today, the franchise is worth about Ninety-Five Billion (95,000,000,000.00) USD. Pokemon has variety when it comes to their merchandise: plushies, cards, movies, a long running show and video games.

If you're like me, when the new Pokemon game was released it was the favorite Christmas or Birthday present. Even well into adulthood I still have a love for the franchise. After the Ruby, Sapphire and Emerald Versions were released I completed them all. Although there were many new features such as contests and trick bikes, I was left wanted something more. It's true that the graphics had evolved since the iconic Red and Blue game but overall in the video game world, Pokemon was a bit behind.

I took a long break from Pokemon games but decided to buy again when Pokemon: Sword released. It was definitely updated and overall I enjoyed the game but it felt like another molded game with different characters and graphics. Some features were different and playing online was a unique experience for the franchise but still had a familiar plot.

Then Pokémon Legends: Arceus was scheduled to be released. I decided to buy this game, hoping for something new. I went to my local Walmart (I live in a small town and there are not any gaming stores) and bought the game. I asked the Cashier how many copies had been sold. The game had been released on January 28th so I was a couple weeks behind. The Cashier said that Walmart had sold about ninety (90) copies. That is a lot of copies for one store to sell! We do have a Meijer in our town as well that people can go to buy the game.

I was a bit apprehensive and did not want to have my hopes too high for this game to not be made from the same mold as previous games.

I was delighted to find that this game was in a class all of its own. It felt like a breath of fresh air. As I was playing, I had the feeling that this game was a prequal for the Pokemon that we all know and love. Most of the citizens of the village where the game is based do not have Pokemon. Villagers are actually scared of the monsters that surround them- and realistically, who wouldn't be?!

I was surprised to find that there were not any gyms to defeat nor other trainers out in the field to battle. This game focused on studying Pokemon instead of battling other trainers to rise to the top. The biggest feature that had my attention was the seemingly RPG (role playing game) style that this game had. There were side quests that could be completed while playing the game. As more tasks are completed, the villagers become more open to the idea of having a pocket monster as a partner. Some villagers ask for you to capture a certain Pokemon for them. Once completed, they will reward you with items. Also, you can gather supplies out in the field to make home-made items including Pokeballs, Potions and Revives.

Traveling the map is also a new experience. The landscape is expansive with Plains, Mountains and Bogs. Pokemon are all around, some hide in sulfur looking ponds while others can be found in the open. My favorite thing to do is sneak up on monsters while crouching through tall grass or throwing a home-made smoke bomb and creeping inches away from them. The problem that I have though is falling into the river. This game is full of many dangers- drowning and falling off cliffs included. Your avatar has a limit with how much damage it can take before "blacking out". This includes wild pocket monsters attacking you. Minding your own business while taking a nature walk? Oops you walked too close to a wild Rhyhorn and now you've suffered it's horn attack. Hopefully you didn't faint- you could lose items when you do.

There's also the threat of Alpha Pokemon. These Pokemon seem to be the evolved form of the common monsters in the area. Their eyes grow red and on top of being higher levels, their attack and defense are heightened. They're extremely hard to beat- even with the standard six pocket monsters at hand. Don't travel too close to them, they will chase you and ATTACK!

An Alpha Snorlax

Space-Time continuums also appear throughout the map and although it took me awhile to find one, there's many rare items and Pokemon to be found inside. They're strong and quick to attack though, so BEWARE!

Overall this game was a breath of fresh air. Follow the main story line and defeat overpowered Pokemon Bosses or catch and battle as many wild pocket monsters as possible to complete your Pokedex. Pokémon Legends: Arceus has the same charm passed down through the Pokemon Franchise, while being a game all its own.

My Avatar with My first Pocket Monster, Cyndaquil

rpg
Like

About the Creator

A. Keson

Thank you for visiting my page! My goal is to write articles and short stories that are interesting and hopefully educational. I work full time but writing has always been a hobby that I am passionate about. I hope everyone enjoys my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.