Journal logo

A Child Born into Poverty

A Kind act may not mean much to you, but to someone else it could mean everything. It did to Me.

By A. KesonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Mustang Sally and I (2006)

To My Childhood Equestrian Coach,

We see the same scenario in our small town again and again. Children born into poverty. Community eyes watch them grow and hope that they won't continue the cycle. Most never lend a helping hand. Thankfully you did, and you may not even realize that you are one of the people that I need to thank for where I am today.

But for everyone else that is new to my story, let's go back:

A child born in poverty, works hard, works their way through college, graduates, begins their career and rises out of poverty and lives a great life. At least that is the hope and goal. We all have watched countless movies with the same plot; I didn't have to though, I lived it.

It took years of hard work to get me to where I am today. One of the leading figures in my life that I have to thank for it may not even be someone who considers themselves a candidate at all. Not only did they teach me about self confidence, discipline and helped me form my hard work ethic- they also taught me kindness and the benefit of helping others. I now too have taken their example of kindness and have paid it forward to others throughout my life.

For those in my hometown that know me also know that I was born into a poor family. My parents were young when they began their family and were not financially stable like some my peer's parents. I remember visiting a friend's house once and seeing their trophies on the mantle in their living room. I wondered if I would ever have trophies and medals of my own. I remember thinking 'No, because my family does not have the money for sports'. I had tried out for sports before but due to not being able to afford transportation to practice and home afterwards, or the jersey or new shoes, I could never consistently participate.

I had family members that started to notice my love for animals. They took the initiative and I was introduced to the Equestrian world (and it very much is a world of its own). I discovered that I was very good with horses. I could not afford to buy a horse so I rode the horses that others had trouble riding. Problem horses. Horses that would rear or buck to get riders off of them. I did take lessons twice a week to learn how to ride and train the problem horses. It was not instant. Many hours in the summer heat and the freezing winter winds were spent on the back of a horse learning how to speak a language without words. How to interpret what an animal that could easily crush you was saying. Horses are living and they too have their own life to live. What was your horse's fears? What were their interest? Were they enjoying your ride and the sport that you had them in? I was nine and all of seventy pounds. My horse was about twelve hundred pounds. I had to learn their own fears and control mine so that I could show them that they were safe when we tried something new. A skill like that gives a child confidence. Sure, my classmates could throw a ball or score a goal but I could speak another language and gallop faster than a dream. Not everything is talent though. Dreams don't become reality just because of talent and hard work. To a lot of people, money sings. Money can make the difference between being great and being a legend.

Thankfully, I had an amazing Coach. In my youth, I did not notice everything she did for me but as an adult- I now realize so much more. My Coach saw me through my grumpy days, when I was frustrated or scared. She saw my many injuries that I acquired through the years from training horses. She also saw me win and basked in my achievements as I did. She even gave me rides to meetings that were required when I did not have transportation. I lived far away from the meeting and she never asked for compensation to pick me up or take me home. I believe that she knew my family couldn't afford it.

I trained with her for twelve years. The Equestrian world is not something you age out of. Certain shows have age limits but there are other show circuits for different age groups. During my adolescent years, I won many trophies, medals and plaques. Multiple times I was awarded end of the year High Point. I did not have to worry about not winning awards, instead I had to worry if I had room to showcase them. As a child born into poverty, I never thought that could have ever been possible.

Mojo and I training with my Coach (left) and in Show (middle & right)

Training horses shaped my life into something I could have never become without them. I wouldn't have the confidence that I now have. I wouldn't be as mentally and physically strong nor have the sense of community as I do. The equine world is something that is amazing to be a part of, it's like a family. Wherever you go, if you meet people with horses- you're automatically friends. It has opened so many doors for me, from hobbies to moving across the company for job opportunities with horses.

When I graduated High School my Coach made another dream of mine come true. I never thought that I would be able to continue riding horses once I graduated- let alone ever own a horse. After graduation my Coach asked if I would wanted to have the horse that I had since I was fourteen (I graduated at Eighteen). We had named him Mojo and I had worked with him for four years. His name had been Twister because of the marking on his face and because he was difficult to ride. He had been at a auction where horses were sold to meat factories due to him hurting his previous owner. After years of consistent work, he had become the best horse I ever rode. I excitedly accepted and to this day, Mojo and I are still a team. He's now twenty years old and we still show together. During November of 2021, we showed at the Michigan State Pavilion where Mojo placed in every class that we competed in.

Mojo and I in 2009 (left) and in 2021 (right)

My involvement in the equine world would have never been possible without my Coach. She took a chance, knowing that I couldn't offer the same monetary supplement that another child's family could have. Her generosity has inspired me to do the same. I have found myself in the position to offer horseback riding lessons to multiple children. Not only lessons but the use of my horse. Multiple students have attended the High School that I graduated from, with one student being a foreign exchange student- that had wanted to participate but could not otherwise afford to. These students wanted to join the High School Equestrian Team but could not afford a horse to ride or the lessons required to learn. I helped them with their dreams. I never required payment for the use of my horse, Mojo, or for the instruction I gave. During the season I would stay up late trailering horses to the fairgrounds, bathing and clipping horses, cleaning saddles, bridles and boots while making sure kids on the High School Equestrian Team were ready for the competition.

The time and money are well spent in my eyes because I am able to offer the same opportunities that I was given, to children that otherwise would not be able to participate. What makes this even better is when a child needed a horse or lessons and I was able to help, I coached alongside my childhood trainer- who is now the High School Equestrian Coach for my old High School.

Although you may not realize it, Janis, I owe you a big thank you. Thank you for being one of the few in our community who was willing to reach out to a child in poverty; because of you I am who I am today.

My Coach Janis and I in a Christmas Parade (2016)

literature
Like

About the Creator

A. Keson

Thank you for visiting my page! My goal is to write articles and short stories that are interesting and hopefully educational. I work full time but writing has always been a hobby that I am passionate about. I hope everyone enjoys my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.