Gamers logo

3 Pokémon That I Absolutely Love

A Couple of My Favorites

By Desti DiariesPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image: Pokemon Lets Go | Nintendo

I love Pokémon. I have loved Pokémon ever since I was a kid and the love is growing strong everyday. What I thought was a phase is actually a big part of my life. I mean who didn't want to " Catch 'em all" as a kid? The Pokémon world is always growing and changing from the 150 originals to the 890 total you are bound to find some favorites. There are so many Pokémon that I like but only a handful have made it to the level of being able to be called my favorite. These are the same Pokémon that I will turn to every time. So here are 3 Pokémon that I absolutely love.

1.) Bulbasaur

Image: Screengrab Via Pokémon

Bulbasaur is my all time favorite Pokémon because what isn't there to love about a raspy little green bulb? There has always been a huge debate in the Pokémon community about what Pokémon is the best starter. Although he is the most overlooked, Bulbasaur is still loved among many. The love I have for grass type Pokémon comes from how much I adore Bulbasaur. I'm not exactly sure where the intense admiration came from, maybe it is the fact that he resembles a bulldog which was my favorite dog breed growing up.

Even as a 22 year old adult I am proud to admit that I have a growing Bulbasaur collection that is my truly my pride and joy. I am an older Pokémon fan who hasn't taken the extra time to keep up with the anime or the games but no matter what new Pokémon are introduced Bulbasaur will always be my favorite.

2.) Teddiursa / Ursaring

The love that I have for this Pokémon comes with a little backstory. Growing up I played a lot of Pokémon thanks to my older brother. We played Pokémon Stadium on Nintendo 64 all the time, but I always wanted a Pokémon game for my Gameboy Advance. After the constant nagging and begging, my brother finally let me have a copy of his Pokémon Emerald. I would play all day and night capturing, training, and battling my Pokémon.

After leveling up my Pokémon my brother was ready to have our very first battle. After I lost, my brother felt bad and let me choose one of his Pokémon to keep. I searched through all of his Pokémon totally ignoring power levels and instead I was looking for the cutest Pokémon I could find. I finally settled on this adorable little bear cub with a crescent moon on its forehead. It was the first and only time that I traded Pokémon. My Teddiursa was so special to be because it was a gift from my older brother who I admired so much.

Anytime I played Pokémon Teddiursa was always in my party. He would always be my go to in important battles and once he evolved Ursaring was the star of my team. At 10 years old I never imagined that out of all the Pokémon out there that Ursaring would hold such a big place in my heart. All of it came from a day spent with my brother, playing the game I loved.

3.) Jirachi

Image: The Pokémon Company

Highschool was rough...really rough. After moving back to America from Europe I felt like a social outcast who travelled back to a different world. I struggled with making friends or even meeting people who liked the same things at me. Eventually I found a group of people who liked me for me and showed me that it was okay to like the things that I did. My love for Jirachi hit me after watching Jirachi: The Wish Maker on repeat after one of my friends surprised me with a flash drive containing the movie. I had seen many Pokémon movies in the past but this one stuck with me for many reasons. It meant a lot to me that someone would actually do something so nice for me. Anytime I watch the movie even till this day I still think about that good friend that I had and how he wanted to make me feel comfortable about who I was.

Other than the movie, I really like Jirachi because he is the only other Pokémon besides Mewtwo that I have ever heard speak. There was that part of him that felt like more than just any other Pokémon. I understand that he is a legendary Pokémon so his abilities are more advance compared to the average Pokémon but the fact that he can not only communicate with humans but also grant wishes makes him such a cool Pokémon in my eyes.

At the end of the day we all have our favorites and we all have our reasons for loving the Pokémon that we do. Maybe one day my list of favorites will expand but for right now these are the top 3 Pokémon that I love.

nintendo
Like

About the Creator

Desti Diaries

Hello there I am a 21 year old who loves to write! I have been writing stories ever since I was 7 and even till this day it is one of my favorite hobbies. I also love drawing, animals, and Pokémon!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.