FYI logo

What's that Australian saying?

De-code some of the words and phrases Australians use

By Melanie CharlesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
What's that Australian saying?
Photo by Vincent Keiman on Unsplash

We're known for our outdoor lifestyle, beaches, barbeques and the tv show Neighbours.....oh and the Hemsworth brothers. But have you ever wondered what some of those colloquial terms that Australians utter really mean?

I’ve lived in the UK for 14 years, but no matter what there are days when an Australian word or phrase will slip past my lips without my notice. When it happens I get strange stares from my work colleagues (sometimes looks of horror) and it’s not until that moment that I realise I’ve used Australian slang.

For examples, 'what are you up to this arvo' is something I can’t seem to rattle loose from my vocabulary. Arvo meaning afternoon. We Australians have a fondness for shortening any word we can and if you know an Australian or two we’ve probably shortened your name too. Sorry about that.

Here are a few more to wet your whistle.

  • Aussie - Australian - you may have heard a chorus of Australians sing ‘Aussie Aussie, Oi Oi Oi’ at a sporting event. We often say this to cheer on our team.
  • Avro - shortened version of afternoon. Want some arvo tea? What are you doing this arvo? This is one that I can’t seem to shake. It’s useful to be able to say more with less effort. The true Aussie way!
  • Avo - Avocado - I think you’re getting the hang of it now? Avo on toast anyone?
  • Bloke - a man.
  • Bring a plate - a dish of food to share. If you’re going to a barbeque you may be asked to bring a plate.
  • BYO - Bring Your Own - usually refers to alcoholic drinks. Who doesn’t love a restaurant where you can bring your own wine? Be aware though, you are often charged corkage for each bottle of wine that you bring, or per person.
  • BBQ - Barbeque
  • Barbie - no not the doll from Mattel. This also means Barbeque. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had someone say, ‘Put another shrimp on the barbie.’ I’m sure somewhere in Australia this is said….. but not where I’m from. We would put prawns on the barbie. Shrimps are too small.
  • Chook - Chicken. Or a term of endearment. One of my friends alway call me chook.
  • Cuppa - cup of tea. Do you want a cuppa?
  • Flat out - busy. You might have heard someone of say - I’m flat out like a lizard drinking. That means very busy.
  • How ya goin’? - How are you going?
  • Gunna - going to. I’m gunna do that today.
  • Dunny - Toilet.
  • Dunny roll - toilet paper
  • Loo - Toilet
  • Sheila - a women. Did you see that sheila? Could also be someone’s name.
  • To be crook - to be sick. E.g. I feel crook.
  • Togs - Swimmers or bathers.
  • Not happy Jan - we might use this to let you know we aren’t happy.
  • Not a happy camper - the same as not happy Jan.
  • Pants - Trousers
  • Undies - underwear
  • Thongs - Flipflops
  • Unco - uncoordinated
  • My shout for dinner - my turn to pay for dinner
  • Lollies - sweets
  • Ambo - Ambulance
  • Servo - Service station, petrol station, gas station
  • Doona - Duvet
  • Pay out - insulting or teasing someone. I’m going to pay out on him.
  • Esky - this is a cooler box
  • Bottle-o - Bottle shop
  • Cactus - Broken. It’s cactus.
  • I can’t wait for summer so I don’t have to wear pants everyday - I can’t wait for summer so I can wear shorts.
  • Mad as a cut snake - someone very angry
  • Pokies - poker machines

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading some of these phrases and colloquialisms we have in Australia. These are just a few, but some of my favourites. I do wonder thought how the heck anyone understood what I said when I first moved to the UK.

It’s important to note that throughout Australia different phrases may mean different things. For example a half a pint of beer can be known in one place as a pot, in another as a half a pint.

Pop Culture
Like

About the Creator

Melanie Charles

Children's book author. Often gets the apostrophe placing wrong.

Often ponders, 'How did I get so old?' Writes stories about her life so far, things that interest her and often things that make her rage at the world. Pretty much whatever.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.