FYI logo

Wasted what?

Irish stout, face hair, and pringles.

By April HoisingtonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Wasted what?
Photo by Louis Hansel @shotsoflouis on Unsplash

As I was running through the internet one day, I came across some very interesting articles. And then I noticed that we were having a contest for some weird unknown facts that are actually facts. So the one I found quite interesting, is from Guinness. According to this article Guinness waste almost 163,000 pints of beer in facial hair every year. Now we all know that Guinness Irish Stout is an all-time favorite for our Irish friends, and we also know how our Irish friends love to grow that facial hair. Of course, there are quite a few men around the world that like to grow facial hair so that is not a fun fact. No the fun fact here is that Guinness, had an actual research study commissioned and they found is that an estimated 162,719 pints of Irish Stout go to waste every year. The study also said it was via the mustaches. So those pesky little mustaches, that men have upon their faces, are in fact drinking themselves a good old Irish Stout Guinness. The fascial hair actually traps 0.56 mm of Guinness in their mustache or beard. They even went so far as to count how that got into the average beard or mustache with each sip. They estimated that it takes about 10 sips to finish a pint. They took the average estimate of 92,370 Guinness consumers in the UK that has facial hair. And that’s only the UK. If they consume on average 180 pints each year, the total cost of Guinness wasted annually is $536,000. I found this absolutely astonishing and also why would you do a study like that? But apparently, at Guinness, they really want to know where their Irish Stout is going. I myself am not a fan of the Irish Stout. but I thought it was very interesting that a company would go so far as to see where their extra beer might be going. So looking at that math again we have 92,370 Guinness consumers with ten sips per pint, with 0.56 mm milliliters getting trapped in their mustaches and each sip which equals 162,719 pints of Irish Stout that go to waste every year costing Guinness $536,000 a year. It was cute they said the moral of the story was shave and save. I found this on a website called, best life and the website is bestlifeonline.com.

Of course, this wasn't the only story that I found on there that was quite interesting. Everybody knows and loves Pringles, right the stackable chips. We all love Pringles, don't we? My favorite flavor is sour cream and onion and of course original. I guess in 1966 Frederick Baur the designer of the Pringles can wanted to be buried with his product. I guess it was one of the things in his will and he had talked to his family about it. The article says he was so proud of his invention that he wished to be buried with a can of Pringles. I don't know about you but there's a lot of things I'm proud of but I'm not sure if I want to be buried with a can of Pringles. I sure as hell do think I want to be buried with a whole bunch of dark chocolate. I could think of nothing better than waking up from my death slumber and having a ton of chocolate to chow down on. According to the article, his kids on the way to the funeral had to stop at a store and get a can of Pringles. I guess they had to argue over or discuss which can or flavor they were going to put in with their dad. Well, those are the two that I thought I'd bring to your attention of interesting facts that we just don't know about. Again the website is bestlifeonline.com and there were a bunch of other stories on there that I'm sure would be of interest to someone.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

April Hoisington

A strong woman, still learning to navigate life, relationships and the world! Animal lover! Juggalette! Open minded, crazy woman with a heart of gold!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.