Criminal logo

Cursed Little Black Book

Never should have touched it.

By April HoisingtonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Cursed Little Black Book
Photo by Val Pierce on Unsplash

This has been the worst damn week of my life! Matter of fact, it has been the worst month ever. And all because of that damn little black book. It all started when I helped my friend clear out this old house, she had been wanting to remodel. You see this house was old and creepy, and I didn't have a really good feeling about it but I helped her anyway. Pulling up to this house was like something out of a nightmare or Freddy Krueger. I was half expecting to find a boiler room in the basement when we went down there to get all that stuff out of there. Thank God there wasn't one, or I'm pretty sure I would have run screaming.

It was bad enough that I had nothing better to do seeing as my boyfriend broke up with me for his assistant. Well, at least my friend was trying to keep me busy and wasn't like everybody else and just asking if I was okay? God, I hate that. Anyway, I’m there in the middle of nowhere at this haunted-looking house helping a friend clean it out. And that was when my life changed. as we were going through some boxes to see if there were any antiques or anything else we could sell I came across this little black book. Didn't think much of it at the time but later that night when I was going back through the box that she said she wanted to keep, I found something very interesting. Turns out that there were some numbers and what looked like combinations and a key taped on the back cover.

I called my friend and I said hey, this book has some stuff on the back cover do you know anything about it? she said she didn't know anything about it matter of fact she didn't even know where it came from. Well, I said I guess I will investigate it tomorrow. I'm a little tired today. we hung up and I put the book aside thinking nothing more of it. about three days later I remember the little book because I was looking for something and happened to knock it off the side table. oh yeah, I thought to myself I was going to go check this out. so I walked on over to the computer and started to research what these numbers could be. turns out they were numbers for accounts and lockboxes at a bank. but of course, how am I supposed to get into a bank that's not in my name and have no ID for. I figured I'd go ahead and call the bank giving me account numbers and see where it went from there. To my surprise, the bank said these were set up for heirs to a fortune. I was in complete shock! so somebody had set aside money four kids didn't even have names for. I could come to pick up my money anytime I was ready. I was astonished! as I drove to the bank I went through my mind of everything I could spend this money on. But I thought I better bring myself back in because who knows how much money is there.

I arrived at the bank, my heart was in my throat. I couldn't believe what was about to happen. Having talked to the teller, she informed me that there were over four million dollars in these accounts. And when I opened the lockbox there were diamonds and jewels worth probably more millions. I couldn't believe my luck. I thought all my money problems were finally over. I took the money and paid off all my bills and thought life is good. Well in all my running around getting my money in order, and paying off all my bills. I forgot one thing, I hadn't claimed the money to the IRS and they were after me. Now I owe them all kinds of money and my life for the last month has been hell.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

April Hoisington

A strong woman, still learning to navigate life, relationships and the world! Animal lover! Juggalette! Open minded, crazy woman with a heart of gold!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.