FYI logo

Moon Cycle Rituals

Cleansing Under The New Moon.

By Alys RevnaPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Like
Moon Cycle Rituals
Photo by Vladislav Klapin on Unsplash

“The moon is a reminder that no matter what phase I am in I am still whole.” - The Mind’s Journal.

As the moon travels through its cycles this August, I am reminded that we, as humans, have the ability to start fresh, even while in the middle of a troubling season. This summer in Texas, along with a large portion of the country, has been a bold reminder of the dire and urgent state our world is currently in. I often find myself overwhelmed, by the state of devastation that seems to be arising out of every corner, and by what feels like a sense of powerlessness to try to stop it.

Moments like these, when the world seems to be spinning too quickly for me to catch my breath, is when I know that I need to shut off my connections with the outside world, (looking at you, my beloved Tiktok) just for a few hours, or a day or too, and reconnect with mother earth herself. This ritual is not meant to ignore the issues of the world, but to just give my soul a moment to gather strength, in order to show up as best I can for the world.

Spending time with the moon, and studying her cycles, is one of my favorite ways to connect with our universe. I have a lot of unanswered questions, about my belief systems and spirituality, but one thing I know is that sitting under the light of the moon, curled up in my camping chair and a little drink, always brings my soul back into my body and relaxes my mind. This week is the time during the moon cycle when she is at her most mysterious, the new moon.

The new moon, when the sky is dark and the light of the sun is not reflected by the moon, is a reminder to us all that even planets need a little break from the spotlight. This period of darkness has often been looked at as a time for new beginnings, for cleansing rituals, and most importantly, for rest. There are several rituals and exercises that can help us to take advantage of this period of time, and give the moon some of the credit she deserves.

New Moon Cleansing Rituals:

The new moon is an excellent time to spend a little time clearing out the cobwebs, both literally and figuratively, in your life. Start with your home, and do what you have time for, and what will make you feel better. For me, it’s vacuuming up the dog hair, opening the windows to let in some fresh air (if the temperature outside is bearable), and lighting some candles. I find it easiest for my brain and body to rest and recuperate in a freshly cleansed space, so I like to do this first.

Of equal importance, is cleansing your body. A hot bath, or a cool shower, full of your favorite scents and products is a great place to start. This doesn’t have to be an everything shower, just whatever makes you feel good. A Sauna is a great activity during this time too, if available. Or even just a fresh outfit if that’s all you have time for.

Cleansing the mind is often the most difficult for me, so I like to do it last, after all of the other restful and relaxing activities, to give my mind a chance to start slowing down for a while first. Meditation is a simple way to give the mind a break from whirling. For me, it has taken a long time to be able to silence my thoughts and stop thinking about my to-do lists, but every practice session, even for just a few minutes, helps. You can use guided meditations, with paid apps like Moonly, or some of the tons of free guided meditations on Youtube. Or, you can simply turn on some instrumental music, or meditate in the silence. There is no wrong way, or wrong amount of time, as long as it helps you relax and find a little clarity. I personally prefer to meditate outside, as it feel more connected to the earth that way, but what is most important is to find a clean, comfortable, quiet space, free from distractions.

Finally, I like to make sure to spend a little time during the evening outside, observing the darkness. I am fortunate enough to have a backyard to spend time in, but if you aren’t able to go outside, or aren’t comfortable spending time outside at night, sitting on an apartment balcony, or just under a window in your home is perfectly fine. You just need to be able to see the sky, even if it’s brightened a little by city lights, it will still be much darker than normal without the light of the moon.

Relish that darkness, for it is just as important for our souls as the sunlight.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Alys Revna

Writer of things. Mostly poetry, fiction, and fantasy. ✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.