FYI logo

Let's Give Thanks To These Vocal Creators

These Are The Ones Who Read Our Stories

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
70
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

Most of us write on Vocal to get our work read, and we need to reciprocate by reading and commenting both on Vocal and Facebook and other social media platforms.

In my place as an administrator of the Vocal Social Society of Facebook along with the Vocal Weekly Leaderboard plus people who comment on a lot of my posts I think it would be good to list a few of the creators who go above and beyond (in my opinion) support of others. Below is a link to all the leaderboard articles which feed part of this.

I will probably miss a lot of great supporters but check out the Leaderboards and the Vocal Social Societies weekly Dynamic Duo where we feature people who comment and like posts and stories.

I hope you will check out a few of these creators and read some of their stories to give a little back for their excellent support. I do feel I don't give anywhere near enough support to others, but I do try.

So without further ado, in no particular order here are a few creators who deserve a little extra reciprocity.

I won't say a huge amount about them though I do consider them all good friends, whether or not we are Facebook friends.

Cathy Holmes

A great supporter in Vocal Social Societ and other groups, with a wonderful sense of humour and often accompanied by her cat Abigail.

Naomi Gold

I don't think Naomi is on Facebook but I see her giving lots of support to others on Vocal. I will drop in the story and Naomi will have been there first usually with pertinent insights on the writing.

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Our very own pastor on Vocal. Randy's insights into my own pieces are always excellent and on point. He regularly features on the Vocal Leaderboard and that shows how much support he gives to other Vocal Creators. I really don't know how these people find the time to do this but I am so glad that they do.

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

Dharrsheena is like Randy a regular on the Vocal Leaderboard as well as in the Vocal Social Society and was responsible for inspiring my fourth printed anthology.

She also runs her own Facebook Group as well and is a truly great friend.

Paul Stewart

Paul is another great supporter and his Deep Cuts series featuring little-read works by other creators is a wonderful way to help others. This is on top of the normal reading and commenting that he does. You can check out his Deep Cuts below.

Babs Iverson

The amount of support that Babs gives creators is phenomenal and she hosts alternate poetry weekends in Vocal Social Society as well. She is a great friend and we often share conversations about life and whatever.

Judey Kalchik

Judey is amazingly knowledgeable on Vocal and Medium and is always publishing articles giving advice on those platforms and lots more. She also runs her own Facebook group with almost 4,000 members.

She often features in Vocal Top Stories and continually polices Vocal Stories for plagiarism and unacknowledged AI use, as well as many other things.

She was also responsible for the rewrite of a number of Vocal resources that you can see here.

Poppy The Poet

Another supportive creator with lots of good words for other creators, plus a series "Popp's Preferences" linking in other writers' creations, which you can read here.

Conclusion

As I stated at the start I have probably missed lots of deserving creators from this list, but these are all worth visiting, although you probably already know them well as they will have commented on your work.

Pop CultureHumanity
70

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (44)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barrogaabout a month ago

    Certainly, a vibrant community depends on identifying and celebrating other innovators who continually help others. Excellent work!

  • Well said, Mike. I would add you and a few others to this list. These are not only kind and supportive individuals, they are all also talented authors and creators! Congrats on a well-deserved TS!

  • Ian Read8 months ago

    Great article. All these guys deserve this praise and more!

  • Atomic Historian8 months ago

    I swear Randy and Dharrsheena read everybody’s work. I always see them in the comments

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Just congratulating you on your leaderboard placement yesterday! 😁👏

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Brilliant choices! I recognize them all! They are the most supportive on here I agree! And well done on top story!

  • Thank you everyone for your positive supportive comments. These are really appreciated

  • JBaz8 months ago

    You absolutely got the right ones, all different and unique with their own style. Everyone of these creators are on my watch list, as are you. Congratulations Mike.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I know all these guys! Great recommendations! I’ll recommend you to because you’re awesome!

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    A Shout-Out to MikeyDred for being so encouraging and helpful to all wanting to put a foothold as writers.  - The Vocal Community appreciates you - Jay Jay Kantor, 'Senior' Vocal Author

  • Ashley Lima8 months ago

    Phenomenal list! Way to go. Congrats on your Top Story :)

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    All great and inspiringly supportive creators listed here, you included! Thank you for making this list and thank you so much for the shout out! It’s much appreciated

  • Leslie Writes8 months ago

    Cheers and congrats on the TS. These folks go above and beyond 💖

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Well done on the Top Story Mike 😁

  • Jason McCoy8 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this! I will be sure to check out these authors.

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Well done, folks!

  • Heather Lunsford8 months ago

    You are so right. I am not a prolific writer on here and am not often a top story and yet these amazing and kind people and a few others have found my stories and said nice and very supportive things. Makes it a real joy to write on this platform. Thank you for shouting out these supportive people who help make this a great place.

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    I've had a lot of support and encouragement from people on this list and try to reciprocate in the same way as often as I can. Thanks, everyone. Great shout out!

  • You are spot on, Mike. They are all fabulous contributors in support and writing. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    Thanks for including me! I try to give back what I get, and I love being here. 🥰 Congrats on your Top Story, this was such a feel-good moment on a Monday. 🥂 [insert ‘Feel Good Inc.’ by Gorillaz to go with my comment 🎶]

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Rachael MacDonald8 months ago

    It wasn't until I started engaging with other writers that I realized this platform's potential. All those you mentioned are well deserved! Congrats :)

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Mike, this is awesome!!! Appreciate the shoutout!!! Congratulation on Top Story too!!!

  • Amanda Starks8 months ago

    Oh, I love love love this! It's crazy that most of these wonderful humans have commented on my work too. Just goes to show that they will support any writer regardless if they are on the front page often or not. Thank you Babs ( she's been my cheerleader for YEARS!! ), Judey, Dharrsheena, Naomi, and Cathy for being regular supporters/commenters!! Y'all make Vocal a truly welcoming and encouraging community. I hope to emulate you all whenever I comment on other's work! <3

  • Sewuese Hambe8 months ago

    It's great when people support each other. We are the change for ourselves. I am glad to be here and hope to achieve more intellectually and financially.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.