FYI logo

A Wander Back Through Vocal's Top Stories

Nine Thousand Top Stories Later

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
14
Image By Author

Introduction

I don't know what prompted this, although I did a piece on the history of Vocal's Challenges which I have included at the end of this story. I also was not sure how to approach this either, but how I have decided to do it is to include the first ever Top Story, the last Top Story at the time of publishing this, my own first and last (you got to do some self promotion) then one for each of the seven years that we have had Top Stories.

I included The Style Council's "Shout To The Top" as it is sort of appropriate for this piece.

There are nearly nine thousand Vocal Top Stories which says forty five thousand dollars paid out to Vocal Creators for their acknowledged excellent work.

When I do articles like this I feel a bit of a cheat because I am just reporting on what others have created but I am gathering them together in one place so I am putting a bit of work into it.

So without further ado we will push off.

The First Vocal Top Story

This was seven years ago in the filthy Community by Bea Norton. I have never bothered with Snapchat and find it somewhat amusing at the various definitions of "hot" that we see in posts like this. I find intelligence and empathy "hot", but you do "notice" these pictures if you scroll through.

My First Vocal Top Story

The first bit of self-promotion from September 2021 (according to Vocal two years ago), was inspired by the beautiful song by Nic Jones and a very close friend. This was very surprising because it was my first, and I am still not too confident about my poetry.

Seven Years Ago

This is a piece from a writer I know on Facebook, and you either know him or you don't but I was slightly surprised when I found he had been on Vocal for seven years, dwarfing my small two-year tenure.

Six Years Ago

All these are chosen at random although if I see someone I know then they are likely to be included, but I am also trying to include different communities and the picture postcard image drew me to this guide to Prague.

It is interesting to see the lack of interaction and hearts for these older pieces but we know why that is. Maybe this will get a few more reads and comments for these pieces.

Five Years Ago

Here are some ideas for Valentine's Day gifts, which may give you some ideas if you are that way inclined. This is the sort of post that shows how broad the creations on Vocal are. There is a lot that doesn't interest me, but that is me, for others these are a treasure trove of information.

Four Years Ago

Who could resist a Top Story about Pygmy Hedgehogs, I certainly couldn't and I bet you can't either. I am seeing a few creators that I know but I've not been able to include them so far, but this is more about Vocal as a whole rather than the creators that I know.

Three Years Ago

This is an excellent story from Erica Wagner whose name I know of as a member of the Vocal Social Society and her interesting posts on Instagram. A creator who is really worth checking out.

Two Years Ago

A Top Story from two years back by my Vocal Sister Melissa. She is also a published author and has been doing a lot of book signings recently and is a creator who has collaborated with me on a few poems. A lovely caring friend.

One Year Ago

This is an insightful piece from the Vocal Creators Chronicle. They have some excellent in-depth publications online and this is just one.

In The Last Twelve Months

A wonderful call to become part of the Vocal journey from another close friend, this is another piece full of excellent ideas and observations for us all.

Now

A microfiction from another friend, this is the current first Top Story although it may change by the time this is published.

My Last Top Story

This is the last Top Story of mine and the second piece of self-promotion in this article.

Conclusion

I hope you have enjoyed this wander through Vocal's Top Stories, but this is just a dozen stories (two of which are mine) from the nine thousand that are out there for you to explore.

I will leave you with my history of Vocal Challenges.

Pop CultureHumanityHistorical
14

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Thanks for taking me in the Time Machine. I will come back to this and read each story, they look intriguing.

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Always enjoy your inventive and informative pieces!

  • Jonathan Townendabout a year ago

    Who’s this is certainly a blast from the past - nicely written Mikey

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Oh this brightens my day. I have had such a terrible day, so you made it tons better! Thank you so much brother! Love you! ❤️❤️❤️❤️🥺🥺🥺🥺I appreciate that very thoughtful and caring shout out to my writing and my pieces. I hope YOU get top story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.