Futurism logo

Watching "Star Wars: The Clone Wars" as an adult

Watching The Clone Wars as an adult for the first time.

By Iqbal HasanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Poster for the fifth season of the show.

So Disney Plus has been out in the UK since March and with it being lockdown and all at the moment I thought now would be the perfect opportunity for me to finally watch Star Wars: The Clone Wars for the first time. I have heard that it was the best piece for Star Wars media out there but I had always avoided it because it seemed childish and cartoony and plus I was never a big Star Wars fan anyway. I had watched all the movies but the newest trilogy wasn't exactly putting me in the mood for Star Wars content. However, when Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order had come out around the same time as the Mandolorian I was suddenly craving more Star Wars lore.

First thing I would like to say is that I was pleasantly surprised by this show and that is an understatement, it is way better than I originally thought it was. The first season wasn't pretty bog standard but if you push past it you will get to the good parts of the show. Now before you start watching the show I must warn you that there are 2 ways to watch the show. The first way is to watch the show from the first episode of season 1 till the last episode of season 7 which is the way I watched it or you could watch it chronologically since the show does jump forwards and backwards in time a little bit in different episodes. Here is a link to a website detailing the order in which you should watch the show if that is that you would like to do. https://www.starwars.com/news/star-wars-the-clone-wars-chronological-episodeorder

Now let me tell you what I liked about the show. From the start, the show impresses you with the quality of the voice acting the actors put into their work. From Obi-Wan to Rex the show really cared about not only doing these characters justice but showing how much depth they have. Even random clones that we only see once or twice have an interesting back story and personality other than just being another soldier for the Rebuplic. The Clone Wars has many interesting stories aside from the overarching story of Anakin turning into Darth Vader and the fall of the Jedi, even some of the filler episodes had good stories such as when some of the clones crash onto another planet and find another clone there who left his post and decided to live a normal life. The show also added so much lore to the Star Wars universe which I had never known about like how the Jedi train as kids and even build their own lightsabers, how the clones are made and which different divisions there are and a little bit about Darth Maul's backstory and the planet of Dathomir which I found the most interesting. In fact, if they made an entire movie about the Nightsisters and Nightbrothers I wouldn't be against it. I almost forgot to mention but the inclusion of Ahsoka Tano into the Star Wars universe was a great idea by the writers because she quickly became my second favourite character after Obi-Wan Kenobi. At first, I only thought of her as a slightly annoying but well-meaning Padawan but by the end of it, I thought she was one of the most complex and interesting characters. Speaking of Obi-Wan I had always liked him but I had no idea how tragic his story was and just how great of a man he is, he might not be the strongest Jedi but he is the embodiment of what a Jedi should be. Aside from all that and the great action the show had, I think it's biggest accomplishment is the fact that it made me not mind Jar Jar Binks. Like I'm not totally annoyed by him anymore.

If I had one bad thing to say about this show it would be that it got a little too political for my liking sometimes which I found to be quite boring but some people like that kind of thing. I would highly recommend watching this show especially if you are a fan of the Star Wars franchise. This is definitely one of the best animated TV shows ever made and it even made me appreciate the prequels more. I plan on watching The Rebels show soon after and might write another review of that.

star wars
Like

About the Creator

Iqbal Hasan

I like comic books, video games and long walks on the beach. I also occasionally write some semi interesting articles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.