Futurism logo

Using my Venom for Good

With great gifts come great responsibility. You owe it to yourself and to others to enact change.

By Lyn Morgan Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Over seven billion people are inhabiting the Earth at this exact moment. With such a tremendous volume of people come a huge volume of differences – culture, perspective, language, tradition. However, we are more alike than we are different, and zodiac signs are just another way to bring us all together and find more relatability in one another. My astrological sign is perceived as intense, empathetic, magnetism transformative, and passionate. It’s also known for displaying aggressive tendencies, seeing things in black or white, and being stubborn.

I am a Scorpio. The more I read up on Scorpios, the more I realize that I do share some traits with my astrological sign. I also realize that we have a reputation that tends to precede us. While a scorpion's venomous tail can kill and paralyze other organisms, it can also be used to treat brain tumors and make significant strides in cancer research. The duality of the venom caused an epiphany to arise within me. With great gifts come great responsibility and that everyone has the ability to turn something grim into something awe-inspiring.

Intensity is hard-wired into my being. Whether the situation is something big, like the questioning of my values or the suffering of innocents, or something small, like playing Uno with friends, my emotions are as deep as the hadopelagic zone of the ocean. While this trait has both its pros and cons, it stops me from being apathetic to situations. It has allowed me to develop an amazing sense of right and wrong. This intensity is why I am so driven in my crafts – medicine, art, writing. It’s why I enjoy thought-provoking conversations and discussing the erasure of Black bodies in multiple facets of life – media and education to name a few. It’s why I am so passionate about colorism, texturism, and featurism in Black communities. It’s why I am so passionate about humanitarian issues around the world like police brutality (the Special Anti-Robbery Squad in Nigeria and Black Lives Matter in the US), women’s rights, environmental justice, poverty, global pandemics, free healthcare for all, and natural disasters.

Empathy is a key part of who I am. I have a knack for being able to put myself in another’s shoes. It allows me to be able to relate to others and avoid becoming cold-hearted. My empathic ways are more effective with friends and family. I can pick up on minute feelings that they are reluctant to speak about. Empathy allows me to be a good judge of character and to see through charades. Not only can we see other people’s perspectives through empathy but comprehend their choices and feelings. It encourages me to appropriately access situations and broadens my horizons.

There are seven animals that symbolize the stages of a Scorpio – the spider, the scorpion, the lizard, the serpent, the wolf, the eagle, and the phoenix. The spider represents the lowest vibrational symbol on the totem pole, often representing individuals that are spoiled and spiteful. There is the Scorpion, known for tantrums and jealousy. There is the lizard, relaxed but still needs revenge. The serpent is known for being dangerous and striking at will. The wolf is protective of its loved ones but can fail to accept accountability and take part in useless battles. The eagle represents the maturation of a Scorpio; however, the Phoenix remains the most significant symbol because they can reach peace within themselves by letting go of things they cannot control as well as revenge and anything that puts their inner peace at risk.

Whether zodiac signs are mythical or not, I want to become a Phoenix. I channel my aggression into my passions. I am learning to observe things in shades of gray instead of black and white, and I use my stubbornness to never give up on my goals or my progression as a person.

One of the most prevalent things about Scorpions themselves involves their ability to withstand harsh climates. Scorpions can live in burning deserts, and researchers have allowed them to freeze overnight and watch them walk away the next day completely fine. A Scorpio's biggest superpower involves rebirth and transformation. I am working towards a better, more balanced me. All magnificent changes start within one’s self. Hopefully, one day I can aid in transforming the world. Though I am constantly evolving, I know that I want to help discover cures for the ill, solutions for the suffering, and move important discussions along about egalitarianism.

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Lyn Morgan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.