Futurism logo

Sheev Shot First: A “Star Wars” Obsessive’s Review of “The Rise of Skywalker”

If I hated “Skywalker,” the remainder of my 50s would have seriously sucked. So how did it compare to the polarizing previous episode?

By Joel EisenbergPublished 4 years ago 11 min read
1

As a reminder ...

WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD

I can die now.

No, not really, but when Disney announced its acquisition of Lucasfilm on October 30, 2012, for $4.05 billion dollars, my honest first thought was this:

“Damn. I’m going to be 50 in just over a year and they’re finally shooting Eps VII–IX. Let me get through all three and then I can die happy.”

I then recalled the late, great critic Gene Siskel, who had suffered from a brain tumor while similarly looking forward to “Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace.” He only saw the film’s (first) trailer, expressing his enthusiasm to see the prequel but passing away three months prior to its release.

Not all writers are normal. Not this one, anway. My thoughts indeed flashed to Siskel for a moment and I was determined to remain alive and catch the new trilogy at all costs.

Sanity returned and I left my house, but it was touch-and-go there for a minute.

I thought of playing things real safe for the next few years.

Onward.

I was 13-years-old I saw the first “Star Wars” back in 1977 at a dingy theater in Monticello, New York. The screen was subpar, but no matter. “Star Wars” became religion and my life would never be the same.

I never stopped watching and yes, I am even an unapologetic fan of “The Last Jedi” which I consider one of the very finest “Star Wars” episodes to date. I believed it moved the mythology forward, subverting fan expectations as opposed to paying fan service and completely leaning on what had passed before.

“The Rise of Skywalker” was pure fan service through and through though and … I loved it also. I saw it twice in two days, and would have seen it a third time the following night at an industry screening, but holiday obligations beckoned.

Did I mind “The Rise of Skywalker’s” retconning of “The Last Jedi?” No, because I thought it worked. Did I consider the retconning a J.J. Abrams slap in the face to “Jedi” director Rian Johnson? No, because Rian did not have final cut nor final script approval on his film. The Mouse House (Disney) is the sole decision-maker in all regards, so for those of you who consider Rian the Antichrist, your loathing is misplaced.

Rian wrote his script, but it still had to be developed within the process and approved through corporate, a convenient oversight by many considering the scourge of toxic fandom that transpired.

Regarding “The Rise of Skywalker,” do I have an issue with the concept of “fan service?” Not at all. I do want my expectations met when it comes to these films, but I certainly also want some unpredictability along the way.

So let’s have some no-holds-barred fun, while also addressing a swath of official “Star Wars” canon based on other media ...

Questions and Comparisons

I consider “Star Wars” canon as a single ongoing saga, regardless of individual episodes or stories, or specific medium. With that perspective, it is difficult for me to criticize any of the films without seeing its subsequent chapter. I can say I’ve found both “The Phantom Menace” and “Attack of the Clones” difficult to watch, but all was forgiven once “Revenge of the Sith” was released, which is in my top tier of personal favorites. I’m still not crazy about those first two prequels for a plethora of reasons, but as a whole the pain was lessened due to “Sith’s” existence.

How does “The Rise of Skywalker” compare to its immediate predecessor, and the series as a whole?

1. Does it make sense that Sheev Palpatine is Rey’s grandfather … at least from a certain point of view? After all, Luke needed verification from Ben Kenobi as to his lineage in “Return of the Jedi,” and Rey’s parents being “nobodies” was addressed here. So let’s take it as gospel, as Episode IX is — for now — the end of the Skywalker Saga. The question then becomes … Does it work? I believe it does. “Star Wars” is, in part, about family. The Emperor was “The Phantom Menace” who pulled the strings of this saga all along, inclusive of all those ... intense family relations. The twist works, all things considered.

2. Then … who was “The Chosen One?” This is a tough question. Was it indeed Anakin? If so, then where does Rey fit in that picture? When Yoda told force ghost Ben Kenobi in “The Empire Strikes Back” that “there is another,” in hindsight, was he referring to Princess Leia? That answer seemed largely obvious at the time, as “Return of the Jedi” was not yet fully developed. But with “The Rise of Skywalker,” has everything now changed? Did Yoda view this far into the future? Let’s talk.

3. Luke’s arc in “The Last Jedi”: Fear and guilt kept Luke on the largely desolate planet of Ahch-To. And yet, his martyrdom allowed the rebellion to fight on for another day. Why is this an issue? It is not, at all, to me, but the main criticism in fan circles is that prior to this film Luke represented optimism. This is not enough to hang a hat on, least of all take down an entire film for an opposing portrayal. Mark Hamill publicly criticized some of Johnson’s choices — as approved by Disney — and frankly (and I’m expecting kickback from this) he was wrong too, as Episode IX had not yet been written. None of us knew how this would play out.

4. Luke’s arc in “The Rise of Skywalker” was summarized in three words: “I was wrong.” And now, to many “The Last Jedi” haters, all is right in the world. Does it work? Hell yeah, it does. To me, “The Last Jedi” set Luke up in the spirit of Yoda and Ben Kenobi, going into exile and never planning to return. He died, and realized the error of his ways. Watching the two films back to back is not as inconsistent an experience story-wise as many have criticized.

5. Canto Bight (from “The Last Jedi”): Why? What was the point? Thankfully, “The Rise of Skywalker” did not contain such an extraneous piece of business. That said, “Jedi” is the more forward-moving of the two pictures, and as such I respect it that much more.

6. “Rogue One”: Tony Gilroy’s 2017 standalone was a standout. Prior to its release, the film was already fabled for its troubled production, and yet miracles happened in the reshoots and the editing. I bring the film up here as it’s a perfect example of an action-packed “Star Wars” story that also has its share of quiet moments. “The Rise of Skywalker,” on the other hand, is nearly wall-to-wall action. It worked for me, in spades actually, but I still would have preferred to take a breath now and then. See the finest film in the series, “The Empire Strikes Back,” for the value of quieter moments.

7. Critics vs Audiences: Let’s take a look at the Rotten Tomatoes scores of all three Disney Skywalker Saga films: “Episode VII: The Force Awakens,” “Episode VIII: The Last Jedi,” and “Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker.”

Of the three episodes, “The Force Awakens” was the most consistent in terms of critical and mainstream response. For me it was the least of the new trilogy, though I enjoyed it immensely.

J.J. played it safe — he didn’t have much of a choice — but the playing field was now leveled. Both he and Disney won my respect for returning a dormant film franchise to its former commercial glory. The film became the highest domestic grosser of all time, with $936,662,225 in its coffers (not adjusted for inflation).

“The Last Jedi,” like its predecessor, was largely adored by critics. But, with a degree of venom not witnessed since the aftermath of Episode I when cries of “George Lucas raped my childhood!” were heard far and wide, the fans took issue with writer-director Rian Johnson’s take on the mythology. At first, some expressed the belief that those outspoken fans were but a verbose few who didn’t get their way. Then, “Solo” was released to disappointing grosses, and the highly-hyped Disney theme part attractions opened to a lack of expected crowds. Nonsense such as a pedition for Disney to strike the film from canon received, allegedly (in this day and age what is real and what is bot is indistinguishable), over 100,000 signatures.

Had “Star Wars” become uncool?

Regardless, I loved “Jedi.” I believe it to be the best-made of the prequels, and I also believe time will be kind to it. That said, Canto Bight, for me, was a blight on what was otherwise a magnificent product. That entire section, as pretty as it was, could have been creatively cut with no damage to the end result.

As to “The Rise of Skywalker,” as mentioned I love it as well. Some of the film moved too quickly, in my opinion, but once again J.J. rose to the challenge. He tied a 42-year-old saga into a bow that audiences have largely accepted. The film has engendered its own share of controversy, but for the second time in five years J.J. Abrams faced an unfathomable challenge and came out relatively unscathed. Many of the critics, though, were brutal in their assessments, which may have in part impacted its less than expected opening gross. Word-of-mouth will carry this one.

For me, now that all is said and done, the risk-taking “The Last Jedi” remains the classic of the batch.

8. The return of Lando: It was great to see Lando Calrissian again. Did he serve a true purpose in “The Rise of Skywalker?” Arguable. Let’s chalk this one down to fan service, but again, that’s sometimes a good thing. And Billy Dee looked terrific. Did his appearance hurt the film in any way? Not in the least.

9. Incest in the “Star Wars” universe: The Emperor is Rey’s grandfather (hence the Sheev Shot First comment in the title, just in case). Luke and Leia did not know their relationship as siblings during the infamous kiss in “The Empire Strikes Back.” In the comics, The Emperor impregnated Anakin’s mother (not sexually), which is canon. Anakin became Darth Vader who is Luke’s father. Ben Solo is the son of Han and Leia. Luke and Leia are brother and sister … When Rey and Kylo kissed towards the end of “The Rise of Skywalker,” was there some incest-driven hanky-panky going on there, too? “Star Wars” just may be more subversive than we all thought.

10. The meaning of it all. 1977’s “Star Wars” (pre-”A New Hope”) resulted from George Lucas’ failed attempt to attain the rights to Alex Raymond’s “Flash Gordon.” When that effort fell through, George crafted his own space opera. The project was financed by 20th Century Fox, which in 1973 became one of the industry’s highest-ever earners. When “Star Wars” hit the cultural zeitgeist and became an unprecedented phenomenon, two sequels, “The Empire Strikes Back” and “Return of the Jedi” (originally titled “Revenge of the Jedi” but Jedis do not take revenge) beckoned. “The Empire Strikes Back” turned the relatively light “Star Wars” of three years earlier into globally appealing mythology (save for China).

“The Last Jedi” to me is similar to “The Empire Strikes Back” in its mythical beats and ambition. The final episode of the nine-part saga, “The Rise of Skywalker” returned the series to its “Flash Gordon” roots while tying up mythological loose ends. Was it perfect? No. Finn wanted to tell Rey a secret twice; said secret was dropped in the final edit. Rose Tico, a strong supporting character in the prior film, was relegated to background in the present film, along with her implied romance with Finn. We do not know who Rey’s grandmother is, but do we care at this point?

To date, along with Disney+’s “The Mandalorian” and other upcoming “Star Wars” television, perhaps some of these unanswered questions will be revealed.

The Final Word

On a scale of 1–5 stars with 5 being the highest, “The Rise of Skywalker” is a 4.5-star monster success for this longtime viewer. It’s a better film than “The Force Awakens,” and a shade below “The Last Jedi” in my affections.

To George Lucas … I cannot fully express my appreciation. Thank you for helping me realize way back when that being an introverted dreamer is important, and for allowing me — and all of us — to play in your generations-spanning toybox. Your creation will live forever, because you’ve achieved what so many artists strive for: making a difference while inspiring hope.

“Star Wars” is a film saga that will be unequalled in my lifetime in terms of personal and cultural influence. I don’t know where I’d be without it as an artist, quite frankly. If I disliked “The Rise of Skywalker” maybe I would have gotten over the disappointment finally in my 60s.

If I make it that far.

Who knows. I’m smiling now, though.

Argue away …

If you would like links to new stories sent directly to your inbox, please email me at [email protected].

star wars
1

About the Creator

Joel Eisenberg

Joel is a writer-producer, and partner in TV development group Council Tree Productions. He has developed projects for Ovation TV, TNT, Decades TV and FOX Studios, among others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.