Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 29

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Several weeks passed since the incident and I was slowly figuring out the new normal.

The Academy cracked down on the security of their procedures, requiring every newcomer to undergo a psychological examine before they could be enrolled, along with tighter security everywhere.

I didn't mind, although my wings ached for the cool breeze of those night flies with my zyllah friends.

Elys and the other shifters had a hissy fit as guards were stationed around their territories, several angels being injured. They calmed once Owen explained the wouldn't be impeding their activities.

Most of the students had backed off with their sympathy, which lifted a weight off my shoulders. But I no longer chased off the ones who expressed genuine concern.

Despite my initial concerns from my first encounter with her, Merah turned out to be an excellent weapons instructor. She showed us new ways to handle swords, daggers, bows, and staffs, which we were already accustomed to.

I sometimes stayed after class to practice my whip technique, which she helped me improve upon. Now I could disarm my opponent without using combat or magic.

Merah also taught us how to use our armor more effectively, actually possessing a stamp, explaining it was an extension of our being, like an arm or leg.

Within a few sessions, all I had to do was imagine my armor appearing on my body and there is was. It finally felt like mine. Even the less weapon and armor inclined students thrived under her teachings.

I wasn't surprised. For a shifter, Merah oozed patience, taking time with each struggling student. You could tell she was a parent.

I missed Tarek though, who I hadn't seen at all for those weeks. He wasn't even teaching the other weapons training class. I hoped he was okay and not being punished.

Gabe also played a no show to many social gatherings. I missed him too, but at least I knew he was at the Academy.

On the other hand, both Kade and Taryn became more permanent members of our group, as did Ry'anne, all of us sharing the same table everyday.

As I sat with my group at lunch, I spotted someone walking toward me. I turned, Maeve standing over me.

Wren and Elys both straightened and bowed their heads. What was that about? Weren't they all alphas?

"Hello." I sipped my kona. "Can I help you?"

"I would like to speak with you, please."

Kade raised a brow, eating his meal.

"Am I in trouble?"

"No."

I smiled, finished with my meal anyways. "Alright, lead the way."

They all made faces at me as I stood. Like they could do anything anyways.

We left the Mess Hall, heading for one of the common rooms. Odd choice. I shrugged it off, following her.

Stopping, Maeve faced me. "How is my mother treating you?"

I blinked. "What?"

"I know she's been training you for a few weeks now," Maeve paced a little, hands pressed together, "and I was wondering how you were doing with that?"

"Well, I'm doing awesome." I turned on my armor. "See?"

Maeve smiled, "About time you mastered it."

I retracted it. "Guess I didn't have the right instructor before."

Her eyes narrowed.

I grinned, "But seriously, everything is going great, why do you ask?"

"Because Merah works her pupils hard and not everyone can handle it." She sighed. "Some students are complaining."

"I'm not."

She nodded. "Okay good."

Maeve went to leave, but I grabbed her arm, my left hand tingling with the use of my Gemini's strength. "I do need to ask you something though."

"You want to know about Tarek."

"Yes."

Maeve gently pried my hand off her. "He wasn't kicked out."

"Then where in the divine is he?"

"He's taking some time off, his idea apparently." Maeve rolled her eyes. "Jerk."

I swallowed the lump in the throat. "Why didn't he tell me?"

"I didn't know until the headmaster said Merah was going to be teaching his class."

I frowned. For a ma'at who was incapable of lying, Owen knew how to omit information like second nature. It made my skin prickle slightly.

"Fine."

Her expression softened, resting both warm hands on my shoulders. "It will be alright."

"I hope so, because not knowing is unnerving."

"I know, but just keep focusing on school and your friends, since both are important."

I nodded.

"Good, now I'll leave you to it." Maeve paused for a moment, "By the way, you're getting better at channeling Elys' strength."

Watching her walk away, I headed off to my next class.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.