Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 28

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The next day, I woke with a knot in my stomach as I imagined how my day would progress.

Despite the assembly, I couldn't help but feel slightly paranoid. Who knew how many people sympathized with Maybelle. Made it difficult to trust people right now.

Slowly dressing, I replayed everything that happened, keeping my hands from shaking too bad. Although it wouldn't prevent me from living, the experience would forever stay with me.

As I walked to the Mess Hall, some students stopped and said how sorry they were. I clenched my hands, vision slightly blurry and stomach rolling.

Sweet divine, their pity did nothing but made me angry. This was not how I wanted to be known!

Inside the Mess Hall wasn't better, people giving me extra food as I grabbed my breakfast. I didn't hold back my glare.

I ignored their faces as I sat at my table, seeing both Taryn and Kade sitting with us. I appreciated their presence. Elys gave my shoulder a good squeeze before returning to his meal.

No one held much conversation besides a polite hello. It wasn't a surprise. After what we'd just been through, there was nothing to be said.

Most of my classes passed quickly. The instructors gave me space as they taught their classes, Maeve letting me practice my combat skills by myself.

However, when I reached my weapons training, someone threw a staff at me, knocking me to the ground.

"Who the hell did that?" I sprung to my feet, noticing none of my classmates gathered.

"Me." A woman who looked like Maeve stepped into view, hands behind her back. "Always be prepared for a surprise attack."

"You must be Merah."

"And you must be Kyrell."

"Where's everyone else?"

"It's just us today." She approached me, sizing me up. "Yeah, you're gonna be a lot of work."

I gaped at her. "What are you talking about?"

Merah hit me again with a different staff. "Your reflexes are terrible."

I reached for the one on the ground, blocking her next blow. "No they are just fine."

She somehow flicked my weapon from my grip, sending it across the arena. "Keep telling yourself that."

I grabbed her staff, pulling myself up. "Never said I was perfect."

"At least you know that going in."

For the next while, Merah found every weapon she could, wailing them on me. What was Owen thinking? How was this supposed to help me?

Finally, I decided to use my whip, wrapping it around her ankle. I yanked it, sending Merah to the ground.

"That's enough!" I stalked her. "You attacking me like this isn't to fix the problem!"

"And that's the problem?"

"People thinking I'm a helpless victim who needs a shoulder to cry on!" But my stung a little. "Or wanting me to purge my emotions."

Merah lifted a brow, "I smell the fear and anger on you."

I felt a growl bubble up from my throat.

"Owen told me about you bond with Elys."

I tugged my weapon, lump in my throat.

"It's okay to admit you're afraid."

I shook my head, turning away. My limbs vibrated as I fought the onslaught of emotions swirling inside me.

"Don't fight it, just feel it."

That was it.

I fell to my knees, the tears flowing down my face, unable to stop it. I braced my hands against the ground, watching the water drop down. So many times I held it back. I couldn't anymore.

Suddenly, a pair of warm arms wrapped around me. I jerked, seeing it was Elys and fell apart even further, gripping him tight. I sensed the energy flowing between us.

He purred, slowly rocking back and forth. He didn't speak. He didn't need to. I continued my emotional breakdown for a while, my eyes eventually running out of excess water.

Elys still held me in place, my being exhausted.

"I will see you tomorrow, Nyght." Merah handed me my whip, then left the arena.

"Did she call you?" My voice was raspy.

"No, I felt it through our bond and rushed over."

"Oh." I rubbed my face, prying away from his warm grip as I stumbled to my feet. "Well thank you."

"You're welcome." Elys stayed close as we left the arena as well.

Kade ran up to us, rubbing his chest, "What happened?"

"Nothing," Elys snarled.

I rolled my eyes, "Something much needed."

He nodded, "Okay."

I smiled, "Thanks for trying to be my brother."

"Better late than never."

"Yes, it is." It really was. "But I'll be alright."

"Well, I'm here if you need me." Kade patted my arm, then walked away.

This would be hard.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.