Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 11

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

"You know," Wren narrowed, "I think you're cheating."

I blinked, holding a wooden staff in my hands as we practiced our technique in weapons training, which a couple of the classes had merged together. "Why would you think that?"

"Because we've been here for about the same amount of time, but I feel stuck and you keep climbing up." She lunged for me.

I blocked her attack, feeling the vibration of the clashing wood through my arms. "Not, I just train in my free time." Even if it was for only five minutes. "And study."

Wren growled. "Well, I can still kick your ass in hand to hand combat."

That was true, but only because I didn't have shifter strength, speed, and rage.

I did have my shadow powers, but they were dampened for the most part, except during my shadow magic class, where we were away from those spells and were allowed to practice.

We continued for a few more minutes until Tarek instructed us to do target practice with the bows and arrows. I swallowed. The one weapon I struggled with. I wasn't sure why either.

Maybe it was how Tarek kept his eyes glued to me the whole time I fired arrows, distracting me.

Or maybe it was because I had accidentally shot a fellow student in the leg the first time I had fired, sending them to the infirmary, undermining my confidence.

It was also where Wren shined, always hitting the center, no matter which hand she used. How she made look so effortless, I'd probably never know.

Walking to the table, I grabbed a bow, makin sure it was the right weight for me, strapping the arm guard on. Satisfied, I took a quiver full of black arrows, walking to my personal target.

I notched an arrow, pulling back the tight string, feeling the tension through my right arm. I eyed the target carefully, letting every distraction fall away.

I released the string, watching the arrow zip through the air. It struck close to the center, surprising me. I fired another round, getting a similar result.

I smiled, realizing my instructor was assisting another student with her aim. Finally. I didn't like being the center of his attention all the time.

But at least I knew I wasn't hopeless with a bow.

Glancing over my shoulder, I watched Wren pluck out her arrows, which somehow matched those pink irises of hers. Although my arrows matched my wings and hair.

I kept firing until my quiver was empty, stalking toward the target. I smirked, pulling them out. It made me pleased.

But that was when Tarek had to saunter over. "Wow, you actually hit the target."

"Yeah, not having an overbearing instructor staring at you helps your concentration."

"Not overbearing."

"Then what would you call it?" I raised a brow, challenging him.

Tarek crossed his arms, "Attentive."

"But there are others who need your attentiveness."

Wren walked over, "Is this asshole bothering you?"

We looked at her, me not sure who she addressed.

"Yeah, you are." Tarek stood straight.

She smirked, walking back to her area.

"Wow."

He shrugged, "Keep up the good work."

I turned away before anyone could see the blush flooding my cheeks as I fired again. Dammit. When would I stop reacting to him like this? It wasn't appropriate.

Luckily, class ended quickly after that, me heading to my shadow class, where Gabe and Lyra waited for me.

"Hey, friends."

Gabe narrowed his eyes, "Why are you out of breath?"

"Huh? I'm not." Although it sounded that way.

"Okay, I'll pretend to believe you."

I walked into the room and sat down. We didn't have much reading material for this class. Most of what we learned was through practice, or jotting notes on our tablets to study later.

Joanna entered, stepping in front of the class, "Hello, students."

"Hello." Yeah, she had us well trained.

"Today will be different." And evil smile danced on her face. "As you well know, this isn't the only class I teach on mastering our shadow magic."

The whole room tensed.

"So to test the skill I've been teaching, you will be facing off with my advanced class."

I swallowed loudly as other students walked in, my brother among them, who simply nodded at me. They all stood in a straight line, eyeing us in a manner that made my skin crawl.

I heard Lyra's breathing hitch from behind me. At least I had a few years of experience to back me up. She didn't, and her magic was more unpredictable than the rest of ours.

Hopefully Gabe could keep her calm.

Joanne clapped her hands, "So, let's begin."

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.