Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 10

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Another few months had passed quickly, since student weren't allowed to know the time outside of our schedules, which I thought was both smart and annoying.

I continued to plug along with my studies and build my friendships, checking in on Lyra now and then. She'd seemed to adapt quickly to Academy life, people constantly with her whenever I saw her.

I lounged in the library by myself, doing some extra credit reading, not that I needed it, but sometimes I grew bored in my free time and I generally learned something interesting.

As I read on my tablet, a familiar figure touched my shadow. Dammit. So much for my one safe place.

I lifted my head, noting my weapons instructor perusing a few shelves where the paper books were kept, then looked back at the text. I did my best to ignore him, my stomach fluttering at his presence as I read.

It was easier during class since I only focused on my technique, my whip humming against my left leg. It had grown intuitive of my thoughts in the few years I claimed it as mine, my magic having bonded with it.

Even my stamp wasn't that attuned to me, although I had yet to take that course at the Academy to learn how to properly use it. That was a more advanced class.

"Nyght."

I lifted my gaze. "Yes?"

"Didn't expect to see you here," Tarek held a stack of books, "since you're top of all your classes."

"I get bored." I peered at the material. "What's that for?"

"Oh, we instructors have to study too."

"I suppose." A smirk tugged my mouth. "Fall behind?"

Tarek narrowed his blue eyes.

"It's okay, I'm not judging."

"I'm refreshing some of my knowledge, if you must know."

"Yeah, teaching me definitely forces you to be at the top of your game."

Tarek rolled his eyes. "I'll see you later, Nyght." Humor laced his voice as went to check out the books.

He was the only one I could tease without getting into trouble. Even Maeve punched me whenever I mouthed off at her. Like it stopped me, but it was nice that he shared a similar sense of humor to me.

I quickly finished up my reading and report, sending it off to Clare, stretching as I stood from me seat.

"Hey, Nyght." Gabe found me, "Whatcha doing here?"

"Doing extra credit."

"Really?"

"Yes, even I do extra credit," I rolled my neck and shoulders, "What are you doing here?"

"I have time to kill, and dinner isn't ready yet."

"Have you seen Lyra today."

"Sure, during lunch." Gabe stroked his beard. "What's with you and that girl though?"

"Just looking out for her."

"Oh good, because for a second, I thought you liked her romantically."

"No, it's not like that."

"Nah," Wren suddenly walked up to us, "he likes Tarek too much." When had she even entered the library? And why? She hated being in here when we weren't studying together.

Gabe tilted his head at her, "And how do you know that?"

"Kyrell is a good friend of mine and I know what lust and love smell like."

I nodded. "It's true, she's a close friend."

Gabe relaxed his stance, "Well, that makes more sense."

Wren grinned, "But you seem to like her, Underwood."

Blush creeped up his face.

I smiled, "Have you told Lyra?"

"Have you told Tarek?"

"That's different, he's my instructor, and Lyra is a fellow student."

Gabe rolled his eyes.

"What?"

"Nothing."

I stared at him, "I don't want to worry about forming and maintaining a romantic relationship while I'm trying to learn here, especially one that might get both of us in trouble."

"Did you take a vow or something?" Wren crossed her arms.

"No, but it's not a priority."

Neither of them seemed to believe me, sharing a look, but I didn't care.

However, seeing two of my friends from different circles talk warmed my heart. Gave me hope about the future of our society.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.