Futurism logo

Our Very Brief Relationship With Consciousness

A Compelling Read On What Makes Us Who We Are Today

By HC MoonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Protests of a peaceful revolution on June 6th, credit to Andrew Harnik

I remember this feeling of zooming out of my own existence when the much needed realization of change took the world weeks ago. I experienced this epiphany in a discord call talking with a group of diverse and polarizing thinkers, I am fortunate enough to call great friends, from all corners of the world. The realization that we were truly right in the middle of a very historical moment was jarring that sober night. A long due moment in history that is destined to change the course of our civilization for the nth time and this time, as rare as it may be for our brief human history, for a much more positive and peaceful advancement in our society. I remember following the very simple epiphany with a quick statement in the discord call that our unborn kids will be reading about this time in their textbooks a decade from now.

Taking this into account while pondering which book I wanted to write about took me to a pragmatic and historical perspective on what makes us the way we are. That leads me to my recommendation of Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind. This book progressively tightened it's grip on my attention from the approachable enlightening science that makes us what we are to the enthralling history that shaped the genetics of why we are the way we are. I found this book to be a useful tool in rewiring our perspective we all consciously and unconsciously mold through trauma, coping, and reflection. We thoughtlessly accept our optimistic century we have on this earth and may be quick to think lightly that our species furthermore had been conquering this land for 2,000 more lifetimes. In this current tense socio-economic turmoil we are working together through. I plead any future thinkers to take the time and give your brain a breather with this deep historical book that does not take any side in the history of our species.

I have read this book a handful of times now and have bought this book for my family, friends, significant others, and plan on continuing to gift this impactful read to many more to come. There are surely many lessons you can glean from this read but to speak on a particular lesson I have taken away from one of my several read throughs is this. The idea that the reason why our species, homo sapiens, amongst the other distant ancestors rose above all and won the genetic war to civilization was part in due to our inclination for revolution. These revolutions push the exterior limits of our humble brain and strengthens our elasticity in becoming a better society and in return, I hope, better people.

I have always been told throughout my life that I am too optimistic for my own good and while I find it confusing that they would tell me this in a condescending tone. I never took it as an insult but as a reminder that I am still on the path I saw myself on over a decade ago in shaping a better world for myself and my unborn children. That if I have to be optimistic, or naive as others have also put it, then I will gladly look to a brighter future that others whose vision was traumatized and maybe never fully healed can see. I love coming back to this book whenever the inclination comes crawling back in my headspace for that reason. While I may only live an optimistic 60+ years, I love where this book takes my brain in altering my perspective for how the world may continue to evolve with each generation born, a tiny step towards finity.

While this book, I recommend, takes on an absolutely unbiased take on the history of the human cognition. I have linked online bookstores based out of America that are black owned and run to support local bookstores and communities. As this time of revolution we have been subdued under for far too long has finally awaken to a stage where our human nature allows us to broadcast and shine every dark corners of our implicit behaviors with technology. I would like to be biased in which community we can put our dollar into. I highly recommend if you have heard of this book and/or have been meaning to purchase this book to add to your collection. Please do click on any of the links provided down below and purchase through their locally owned stores who offer domestic shipping within America.

As always, I appreciate your time and energy in reading this write up and I hope you have a great rest of your day.

Much love,

Moon

https://bookshop.org/books/sapiens-a-brief-history-of-humankind/9780062316110

https://blackpearlbookstore.com/?q=h.title.links&parms[eisbn]=VT7a219NPFUHibx98NVERA

https://www.thedockbookshop.com/book/9780062316097

https://www.booksandcranniesva.com/book/9780062316097

book review
1

About the Creator

HC Moon

a human being born in the year of the pig on a month named after the goddess of gods with a Leo moon. Simply looking to grow and learn through asking for and sharing stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.