Geeks logo

Underrated Shows Cancelled Before You've Even Heard Of Them

In Case You Missed It, Lets Now Miss These Shows Together

By HC MoonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

HOW TO MAKE IT IN AMERICA (2010-2011)

I remember so vividly in absolute astonishment, "What the hell.. Kid Cudi acts?," when I discovered this first show I want to write about. This show details an unlikely story following two best friends trying to start a fashion brand in the heart of New York. The show, How To Make It In America, felt like such a refreshing take on a story I am positive we all have heard at least once from a friend or may have even been you in some point of our lives. The struggle of balancing your creative passions and proving yourself. Following these entrepreneurs in their creative struggle, you get a taste of the compromise and uncomfortable growth you may be faced with that is still relevant to this day. I was so sad I had discovered this show years after it had already been cancelled. But I take solace knowing that someday the creators or some other talented writer who was partly inspired by this short lived series will put out a show on Netflix, Hulu, AppleTV, DisneyPlus, Amazon Prime, or whatever new streaming service that'll be out someday in the future. So my last plea for recommending this show to y'all is, come on.. it has Scott Mescudi playing a weed dealer in the city of New York. What more can you honestly ask for in this time of quarantine.

DEADLY CLASS (2018-2019)

This show had completely fallen under the radar as it did not get pushed as hard as the similarly-toned comic book based show, Umbrella Academy from Netflix. As much as I enjoyed Umbrella Academy for it’s quirkiness and interesting cast. I found that I enjoyed Syfy’s Deadly Class more for it’s darker humor and storyline, drama, and suspense. The only downside I could think about in writing my recommendation for this show was the lackluster world building that the show could not fully flesh out in just a single season. I had never read the comic that the show was based on but the synopsis immediately intrigued me, “a coming of age story for lost teens studying the art of assassins in American 80’s counterculture.” One look at the trailer, along with that lean synopsis, and the support of the Russo brothers and I was sold. I fell in love with the show and like the majority of it's audience wanted so much more.

DARK (2017- )

The last show that I wanted to recommend to all my quarantined brothers and sisters out there is this masterpiece of German cinema. I understand that these are series we are talking about here in this article and not necessarily what you consider when you hear the word cinema. There are a few TV shows that come to mind, such as Game of Thrones or Sherlock, when art directed for the tv screen ascends beyond what was ever originally intended when the TV was first invented. To me, this show is easily on that list as well. I am also aware that this show, unlike the former 2 shows I wrote about, is still on going.

My intentions were to spotlight the overlooked TV shows but as I kept thinking about what shows to write about. I figured it'd be such a tease to set off to write purely about shows that did not get the 3 act structure the creators must've intended, the time to construct the world and the development of each character you fall in love with, and most importantly the resolution. Though this is harder to do even when a show gets picked up with so much popularity as the creators don't know when to stop resolving and learning when to end a great series. This show on the other hand has crafted the world and the characters in it with much consideration. The show reveals within itself considerably different than what I imagine most of you, including myself, reading have consumed TV media. It could be the cultural differences, it could be the language barrier, or it could be the German acting. Whatever it is, the show is obviously successful in retaining peoples attention all over the world as it has been picked up for a third season on Netflix.

I wanted to write about this show in particular as an overlooked series because I feel as though not many are still openly talking about the profound weirdness of this show's existence. I have been gloating appropriately to friends and acquaintances to give this show a try AND to make sure they watch it in it's intended language with english subtitles. I won't preach about how great this show is and why because I feel as though no matter how sincere my intentions may be, art is purely subjective. So subjectively speaking, this show has a spark of originality on a very complex and difficult theme. Not many succeed in effectively telling stories about time travel but this is surely to be a cult classic for decades to come.

Thank you for your time and consideration in binging any of these series in your near future.

Moon

tv
1

About the Creator

HC Moon

a human being born in the year of the pig on a month named after the goddess of gods with a Leo moon. Simply looking to grow and learn through asking for and sharing stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.