Futurism logo

Magic Abounds, Do You Believe?

The Mysterious Little Black Book

By Jessica Crane Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Po’olenalena Beach, Maui, Hi

I could sense something strange was about to happen. I woke up this morning with an inner knowing, an inkling, a curious thought of unforetold happenings. All this ran through my head when splat. “Geek” I yelled, pulling my hands to my head to feel something wet in my fingers. I looked down. It was a white, slippery mess. “Bird poop,” I exclaimed to myself.

This must have been the reason why I felt weird this morning. I had always had a knack for sensing something before it happened: a 6th sense.

I glanced up only to notice what looked to be a glinting gold feather through thick branches. I saw it was painted onto a little black book. How curious, I thought. I quickly wiped my hands on my pants and looked around for the easiest way up the tree to retrieve the book.

I pulled it down and, with trembling hands from excitement, opened the book.

It read: This book is for the eyes of only those who believe! Belief in the impossible is what is needed. Do not read further or waste your time if you don't. Kindly leave this book where you found it and read no further.

Hmmm, odd, I thought to myself. I'm no stranger to hardship. Heck, my life was filled with difficulty, but the one thing I had and held onto was the belief in the betterment of it all. At least I had that.

I read on. The book contained what looked to be esoteric knowledge and ancient symbols:

𓂀

I had little knowledge of such things, but I recognized those symbols. I'm not sure how or why, but I did.

One excerpt read:

Fifth Ethos

In essence two couplet to belove

In Trinity, quintessence of heart evolve

Go perceive belonging in desire

Go into galaxies keynote in e-choir

See strength Ein Sof mysterious eternal flame 

See Archer arc bow & arrow since in aim

Study seeds intrinsically sown in the tree of life

Study forms of divine AinSof-moksha-Paradise

Unfold the origami enigma & behold a wish

Unity in clue bee less-ultimate BLISS

Under it numbers:

1 2 3 33 34 ~infinity~ 8 ~

Then something caught my eye. It was in purple ink upon the page in smaller handwriting in the bottom corner.

This will only work if you believe it into existence. You must 100% actively know it already has happened. Be in the presence of this knowledge & hold steadfast to it. That’s what’s necessary for manifestations to occur.

At once, it all dawned on me. I could do this. Scratch that; it is already happening. It's done. I won $20,000 in the pick 5 lotto for tonight’s drawing. After these thoughts, something came over me. It felt as if I was floating, my body light, my mind felt crisp and clear. There was electricity pulsating through my body. Whatever I was feeling, I wanted it to last. I walked with a pep in my step all the way to work at the local gas station in town.

I opened the door the bell clanged as it shut behind me. The magic from the book intensified every sight, sound & smell. I was eager to get my numbers for tonight's drawing, so much, so I didn't notice I was late, and my boss was furious.

“Do you know what time it is?” He called after me.

I didn't turn my head or give him the slightest bit of attention. Instead, I strode over to the counter where Missy was standing, looking equally as upset. She wanted to go home, and I was over an hour late.

“Missy, I need a lotto ticket for tonight's drawing, ” I declared.

She stared at me in complete aw and disgust, utterly unsure of what to think. I continued, grabbing a pen and pink and white lotto paper from the slot next to the Mega Ball. I circled in my numbers 1 2 3 33, and 34. All the while envisioning myself winning. Feeling elated, I was outright over-joyed every cell in my body vibrating.

I pushed the piece of paper across the counter while reaching in my pocket to pull out three one-dollar bills. I slid them over to Missy. She looked down at them and then turned her head up to give me a sassy smirk. She looked surprised yet strangely satisfied with the fact I was in so much trouble and still dead set on getting this lotto ticket.

“Alright, Ava, ” she said while opening the cash drawer after putting my winning numbers into the machine.

I turned around walked back out the door. I was elated, lotto ticket in hand. I stood with my head held high to the sky and breathed in a deep breath. It was a new day.

Later that evening, I was lying in bed. I had my iPhone in my hand and the little black book next to me. I knew I had already won, but I typed in the pick 5 for the lottery into the search engine. I opened the website. On the top of the page, my numbers flashed on the screen. I had indeed won! I was beside myself with joy! I scrolled down, and saw something remarkable. It was calling to me—an advertisement with a picture of an epic sunset. In my mind, I envisioned dolphins leaping up from the ocean. Underneath it in bold letters was a Hawaiian Airline. In that instant, I knew what my first plan was, a one-way ticket to Hawaii. I was going to swim with the dolphins!

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Crane

A Witch | A Writer | A Guide

Across the Abyss of Time

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.