Futurism logo

I Guess I'm a Furry Now

Why you should give Beastars a chance ...

By sothisisblogginnowPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Zootopia meets its anime match

Growing up I've always flip flopped on whether I liked anime or not. It's over the top , makes no sense at times , and can be downright offensive at times.

But I think I like when things are over the top , illogical , and offensive.

I wont deny liking Seven Deadly Sins, The Fate series , and other animes like Violet Evergarden that get you right in the feels.But between big titty anime girls and nose bleeds it's hard to decide whether I truly love it or not. But I wont lie when I say I never wanted to be a furry.

Zootopia came out and I stayed as far away from that as possible. The idea of being associated with anything remotely furry was horrifying. Plus we can't forget to mention all of the NSFW "artwork that followed afterwards.

So imagine my horror when I came across a little show called Beastars. With enough articles online either telling me to stay away or give into my inner furry desires.After thinking about it for a total of five minutes, I had only one option... watch it.

Somehow I was able to get conquer my fears and dive into a furry anime.

I went into it knowing things might get a little heated. But what actually takes place on the show is ...not what I was expecting but I'm happy with what it was. I wont go into spoilers , I think everyone should enjoy it for themselves.

The underlying topics that Beastars covers is done in such a way that you almost don't realize what's going on until it becomes painfully obvious.What I mean by that is : it still hits you hard where it counts , but you don't feel to painfully uncomfortable, if that makes any sense.

We often tackle sensitive topics in such painfully obvious ways ( or ways that are so uncomfortable to address that we are never really able to talk about it) or we beat around the bush. But the way Beastars does it is nothing extremely new but it's a fresh take on a not so fresh topic and it makes you just the right amount of uncomfortable and punches you right in the feels.

I love how the anime really gets you inside the mind of so many of its lead characters. There's something about most of the characters that I'm sure most people can in some ways relate to. Most of the characters are well developed and you feel like you're growing along with them. Weird how you can relate to anthropomorphic characters.

I won't say there wasn't some unsettling scenes and some scenes you probably don't want your parents to walk in on ... but that's... anime for you. If you're going to take Zootopia and make it a more risque throw in an anime flare , Beastars gets it right in my opinion.

I still don't know if I'm comfortable saying I'm a furry aloud. I wont say I'm not secretly in love with the main character. But regardless of my own convictions I say you give Beastars a watch. Pop your furry cherry. I'm sure you'll need something else to watch soon anyways.

And if this still doesn't convince you check out this adorable intro.

anime
Like

About the Creator

sothisisblogginnow

I'm an opinionated Aries and Taurus don't ask how that is possible. Seems like now is a good time to start writing again. If you like games, true crime, music and TV shows we might get along well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.