Futurism logo

Flirting with the Zodiac

Jungle Royalty in the Stars

By Jennifer ChristiansenPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
5
Flirting with the Zodiac
Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

she slept with wolves without fear for the wolves knew a lion was among them. - r.m. drake

Image by Oleg Gamulinskiy from Pixabay

Known for its might and majesty, the lion is jungle royalty. Its supreme killer instinct has secured the lion’s throne and its coronation as an icon of power, bravery, and strength. A territorial creature, it will not tolerate any trespassers. This regal, tawny-colored feline is also known to be intelligent, loyal, and resourceful. And, of course, no one can question its beauty and grace.

My kitchen art by Will Bullas Image by Jennifer Christiansen

The fact that I was born under the Leo star sign has been a part of my identity for as long as I can remember. Comparing myself to the magnificent lion has always been a pleasurable pursuit, so I learned a bit about astrology.

My bookmark Image by Jennifer Christiansen

When people compliment me on my thick, auburn waves, I point out that I’m a Leo. My hair has always been the physical feature that people first notice about me, much like the lion’s glorious, shaggy mane. Actor John Stamos, known for his fabulous hair, is a Leo. Uncle Jesse, Stamos’ role on Full House, was never without a comb on hand. When he didn’t want someone to touch his signature locks, he’d say, “Watch the hair.” Other celebrity Leos known for their lavish manes are Halle Berry, Rose Byrne, Mick Jagger, Amy Adams, Anna Kendrick, Mila Kunis, Antonio Banderas, Debra Messing, Chris Hemsworth, and Jason Mamoa.

Leos are fire signs, so we are notorious for hot tempers, pride, and passion. And as you may have noticed from my boasting, we’re delighted to embrace our royal status. Vibrant and theatrical, we savor the spotlight and enjoy celebrating ourselves. Although my theater aspirations were short-lived, my work with students scratches this performance itch. With the right book and eager students, my love of drama emerges with fire and gusto.

As kings of the jungle, self-confident Leos love attention and admiration. Actor Wesley Snipes said, “My sign is Leo. A Leo has to walk with pride. When he takes a step, he has to put his foot down. You walk into a room and you want people to know your presence, without you doing anything.” You can identify a Leo by how they inhabit their space. Lions walk into a room with ease and authority. Think of Leo, Jennifer Lopez, closing the runway at Versace's Spring 2020 show wearing a replica of her iconic Grammy dress.

We are adventurous, fearless, and never let temporary setbacks affect us. Although we love to be the boss, the surprising thing about Leos is that we are more sensitive and fragile than we appear. We put our hearts into everything we do, so failure can be hard to accept. Our pride and egos are important to protect.

The worst thing you can do to a Leo is criticize or ignore us. We want to be loved by everyone. Fellow-Leo Jennifer Lawrence admitted that she often Googles herself to know what people think about her. This successful, Oscar-winning actress told USA Today that she has even searched “Jennifer Lawrence Ugly.” We Leos care about what other people think, so it’s important for us to surround ourselves with honest people and work on not taking criticism personally. Leos are genuine and expect those around us to be the same.

As I consider the qualities of my star sign, most of it rings true. Acquaintances may read some of the traits, however, and think that I am more introverted than suggested. My light may not be as blinding as others’ as I go about my daily life, but don't let my mild mews trick you. A quieter Leo, I peek out from behind the curtains every now and then, watching for my chance to take the stage. Mary Alice Kemery (popularly known as Linda Goodman), a New York Times bestselling American astrologer and poet, said, “… just choose a quiet Leo who's pretending to be an introvert, and attack his pride. Take something away from him which he believes is rightfully his, give him orders and show him no respect. You'll hear that supposedly gentle cat roar from here to the zoo. It takes a brave soul to challenge him when he's defending his rights and his dignity.” I’m not sure about the sleeping bear, but it isn’t wise to poke a Leo.

Toying with the field of astrology and embracing my star-sign is an entertaining pastime. But as a former psychology professor and critical thinker, I am wary of giving astrology too much credence in my life. While it is based on understanding the positions of the stars, which in itself appears like a scientific pursuit, there is little proof to back it up. My skeptical mind also wonders about the effects of confirmation bias, which is the tendency to interpret new “evidence” as confirmation of one's existing beliefs or theories. This fallacy has been called the lifeblood of astrology.

Regardless of whether evidence exists, astrology has been used in tandem with psychology, the science of behavior. Swiss psychiatrist Carl Jung used astrology in psychoanalysis to better understand his patients. He stated, “We are born at a given moment, in a given place and, like vintage years of wine, we have the qualities of the year and of the season of which we are born. Astrology does not lay claim to anything more.”

And then, in the 1930s, Dane Rudhyar gave birth to a hybrid of psychology and astrology. Psychological astrologers, such as Dr. Jennifer Freed, PhD, claim the field can give you greater comprehension as to who you are and why things are happening to you. Perhaps astrology is another tool that can be considered in human understanding.

Image by LNTH from Pixabay

Even though astrology is an often-debated topic, I find it in my lion’s heart to go on “flirting with the zodiac.” As author, D.H. Lawrence said, “We need not feel ashamed of flirting with the zodiac. The zodiac is well worth flirting with.”

Image by Mohamed Hassan on Pixabay

(…and I daresay…so is a Leo)

astronomy
5

About the Creator

Jennifer Christiansen

Animal advocate, traveler, and bibliophile. Lover of all things dark and romantic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.