Futurism logo

A Date with My Old Self

Reconnecting with the Dreamer Within

By OKAFOR LOTANNAPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
Like
A Date with My Old Self
Photo by Hoshino Ai on Unsplash

As the year drew to a close, a peculiar sensation enveloped me, a strange mix of anticipation and apprehension. The impending New Year held the promise of new beginnings, fresh starts, and uncharted territories, but it also stirred within me a yearning for the past, for the person I once was, for the dreams I once held so dear.

Driven by this inexplicable longing, I decided to embark on an unusual expedition – a date with my old self. The idea seemed absurd at first, but the more I contemplated it, the more it intrigued me. I was eager to reconnect with my younger self, to rediscover the hopes and aspirations that had once fueled my existence.

The venue for our rendezvous was an old, abandoned park, a place that held a special significance in my childhood. It was here, amidst the towering trees and the rustling leaves, that I had spent countless hours, lost in my own world of make-believe and boundless imagination.

As I approached the park, a wave of nostalgia washed over me. The familiar sights and sounds transported me back in time, to a period of innocence and unbridled optimism. I could almost hear my younger self echoing through the trees, laughter mingling with the chirping of birds.

With a mix of excitement and trepidation, I ventured deeper into the park, searching for a suitable spot for our encounter. I settled on a weathered wooden bench, its once vibrant paint now faded and chipped, mirroring the passage of time.

As I sat there, waiting for my younger self's arrival, a kaleidoscope of memories flooded my mind. I recalled the days when I believed anything was possible, when dreams seemed within reach, when the future stretched out before me like an endless canvas, waiting to be painted with my hopes and aspirations.

A gentle breeze rustled through the leaves, and I sensed a presence beside me. I turned to find my younger self standing there, a wide grin etched across his face. His eyes sparkled with the same youthful zest that I had once possessed, a zest that had gradually dimmed over the years.

We sat in silence for a moment, each lost in our own thoughts. I took in his appearance – the untamed mop of hair, the carefree posture, the unwavering belief in his dreams. He was a mirror image of my younger self, a reflection of the person I once was.

Finally, I broke the silence, my voice tinged with nostalgia. "I've missed you," I confessed.

My younger self smiled, his eyes twinkling with curiosity. "Who are you?" he asked.

I hesitated for a moment, unsure how to explain the complexities of time travel and self-discovery. Then, taking a deep breath, I began to recount my journey, the ups and downs, the triumphs and failures, the experiences that had shaped me into the person I was today.

As I spoke, I watched my younger self's face transform. The initial curiosity gave way to understanding, then to empathy. He nodded along, absorbing my words, his eyes reflecting the wisdom and growth I had accumulated over the years.

When I finished my tale, my younger self reached out and took my hand. "Thank you," he whispered, his voice filled with gratitude. "Thank you for showing me what the future holds."

We sat in silence for a while longer, savoring the moment of connection, of shared dreams and aspirations. Then, as the sun began to set, casting long shadows across the park, I knew it was time to say goodbye.

With a heavy heart, I bid farewell to my younger self, promising to never forget the lessons he had taught me. I watched as he walked away, his silhouette fading into the twilight, a reminder of the person I once was, and the person I had the potential to become.

As I left the park that evening, I felt a renewed sense of purpose. I was no longer afraid of the future; instead, I embraced it with open arms, eager to continue my journey of self-discovery and growth. The date with my old self had been a poignant reminder of the power of dreams, the importance of resilience, and the beauty of embracing the past while forging ahead towards the future.

**A poignant reminder of the power of dreams, the importance of resilience, and the beauty of embracing the past while forging ahead towards the future.**

fact or fictiontravelpsychologyhumanityfutureextraterrestrialevolutionconventionsbody modificationsapparel
Like

About the Creator

OKAFOR LOTANNA

Am Everest from a world you can only imagine.

Let's make our fantasies come to life, join me in my own world I will be lonely without you guys.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.