Filthy logo

With Great Love and Pain

Comes Great responsibility

By EJ BaumgardnerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
They are also just comfortable to wear.

Being comfortable is a discomfiting idea. Being comfortable means being vulnerable, and I don’t know if I’m ready to take that leap. It requires trust. I’m not sure I can find any trust in my heart. My heart, which has been broken too many times before. My heart, which has grown cold from the distance I put between myself and anyone else. My heart, which has grown afraid of love and affection.

How can I feel safe? How can I feel welcomed and wanted? How do I know that I belong somewhere when I can’t even feel comfortable in this world?

What comfort is there for someone who doesn’t have a place to exist? What comfort is there for those who hide themselves away? What is comfort in a life of fear? To think that it would be so easy a thing, to simply describe that which brings comfort to those of us with whom the concept is alien.

I have been used, abused, neglected, betrayed, and discarded. I have been a toy, and I have been a letdown. I have been a disappointment.

My life has been filled with so many thorns that I’ve never noticed the roses.

But, on occasion, a gentle hand has come to me. These hands come at me with love and pain, bringing back the familiar sting of punishment in a context of grace and compassion. Where I had been beaten as a child for my inability to perform, my lack of social functionality, as an adult I am beaten out of love. I am beaten; but never broken. Despite the pain; I am not hurt.

I have found a sweet and gentle tranquility in restraint. In having my wrists and ankles bound, and knowing that I cannot stop what is coming, I feel at peace. In knowing that my arrogance and playfulness will bring pain, it is an encouragement to truly be myself. For, I want the pain.

When a hand caresses my skin tenderly before digging the nails in, I am elated. To feel that touch, so ready to strike, makes me know I am vulnerable. I am ready and willing, and my love will never cross my lines. My boundaries remain safe and protected, and I am safe within them.

The blows are but sweet kisses, reminding me of what I may gain. If I can be good, I shall be rewarded. What is my reward? The untouchable treasure. The one that calls to my soul, shattered and broken as it is, with hope that I may be remade in its presence.

Where I was damaged, I may be strengthened. Where I was broken, I may be reformed. Where I was lost, I find myself.

When the pain fades from the last blow, when my traumas lay shattered and defeated about me, I am left as nothing more than a helpless puddle of myself. A faint echo of what once was a broken person but is now only a soul in need of healing.

It is in these moments that I stumble into comfort. Not mere satisfaction or satiation; I have truly been comforted. In that moment, when I am held and my partner lets me know how safe and loved I am, I know that I can relax. I can be my most vulnerable self and know that there is no judgment.

I am allowed to exist, with no need to excuse my presence. I am no longer an exception to expectations; I am merely present. Gone are the anticipations and pressures of meeting social standards. Gone are the traumas and emotional scars. I am washed, stripped of my insecurities, and left bare.

It is in this blank and empty space that I am remade. Held in the arms that brought me to this point, soothed by the balm of love and affection from one I trust, I am comfortable. I am safe. I am wanted.

I belong.

What is this? How can I deserve this? Surely, something must go wrong. I do not deserve to be safe. I do not deserve to be happy. I am not allowed to enjoy comfort. It’s not safe. Feeling this way is just a trap. Just a disaster waiting to happen. Being this open and this relaxed is a surefire way to get hurt.

And then, a hand strokes my hair. And I remember where I am. I remember I am loved. I am allowed this. It has been afforded to me, unconditionally and uncompromisingly, it is mine. This is my reward.

I snuggle deeper into it, knowing that it’s for me.

This is mine. My comfort.

advocacyfetishessexual wellness
Like

About the Creator

EJ Baumgardner

A writer through and through, I just want to perfect my craft and build a community. This place would not exist without both, you and me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.