Filthy logo

Unnatural Affinity (6)

A Paranormal Romance

By Troi McAdory Published about a year ago 6 min read
Like
via Unsplash_Marek Piwnicki

Donald kept me busy through the morning after the meeting. We went over some of the critical aspects of the meeting and things Kale wanted to focus on. I got the majority of the social media outlets completed for the newly named Erickson Enterprises while working on my separate tasks for Cambridge. We bulldozed through our assignments now that we had some sense of direction after the meeting. Donald was definitely in a better mood, which made being in his proximity much better.

At his suggestion, we took our lunches together at a bistro not too far from the office. Donald paid as a way to congratulate me on my first day and surviving my first of many meetings. He also thanked me for being patient with him as he’s not always a nervous wreck. We sat out on the patio under an umbrella to shield us from the dry July sun. The skies were clear with a few pillows of clouds scattered about and the sun, a bright mass in the sky, was at its peak.

Los Angeles moved quickly on the sidewalk and streets as it was the time of day when everyone came from their respective holes for the lunch hour. The common animal of choice to bring everywhere was a dog no matter the breed. Some were small enough to fit into purses while others were restricted by leashes. Since this side of town wasn’t as ritzy as others, the blend of various car models was appreciated.

I was pulling off my sunglasses just as Donald was asking me what I thought of Kale’s management skills. I answered cautiously in case this was a test, yet gave my honest opinion. “I think he knows what he’s doing and he’s got a pretty detailed and strategic plan, as far as his vision goes. Some of the people who were with the company when it was Webster Enterprises should give him a chance.”

Donald took a sip of his sparkling water. “I don’t think you have anything to worry about.”

I winced, thinking of what went down in the meeting room. I was mortified I’d behaved and thought in such a way. He was Kale Erickson, CEO of Erickson Enterprises, and I was Maxine Lucchesi, the new employee who nearly lost her wits in front of him because she can’t handle her hormones. It was the wrong way to leave a lasting impression even if he admitted to wanting to sleep with me.

“Do you get nervous around him?” Donald asked. “I know he can be intimidating.”

“I feel a bit uneasy…in a sense,” I admitted.

“He seems to like you,” he said with a gentle smile.

If only you knew, I thought. I caught sight of a couple sitting behind Donald on the outside patio trying to get their lighter to work under the slight breeze. I willed a tiny flame on the metal tip and they were able to successfully enjoy their cigarettes. I probably shouldn’t be helping them with their cancer sticks, but it’s their prerogative. “I’m pretty excited to see what he does with the company. He doesn’t seem like the type to take failure very easily.”

“Do you think he’s attractive,” he asked suddenly.

My skin flushed all over my mocha skin and my spine straightened at the question. “Ah…well…”

Donald scoffed, his blue eyes crinkling in amusement. “I just asked if you were attracted to the sexiest man in LA and all you can do is mutter. That’s the best you can do? He’s un-fucking-believably gorgeous. Pretty enough to make a grown man’s toes curl.”

Thankfully, I wasn’t drinking my water, or I would have choked. “You’re gay?”

He bared his teeth in a flashy grin. “Ever since I was fifteen. Now tell me what you really think of Kale.”

“You’re right. He’s…he’s gorgeous.”

via Unsplash_Daen van Beers

Donald burst into booming laughter until his face was as red as a tomato and tears were streaming down his cheeks. “I’m sorry,” he said after he’d caught his breath, “I thought I’d bring it up since it was the elephant in the room this morning. Did you see the way those women ogled him?”

I brought my sparkling water with lemon up to my lips. I set it down with a soft clink, the ice cubes shifting in the glass. “Do you think people like him are aware of what they’re doing?”

Donald waved his hand dismissively in the air while blowing a raspberry. “Oh, I don’t doubt it. A man like Kale doesn’t walk around the earth clueless about his effect on other people.”

“He’s going to be the biggest distraction ever,” I mumbled with a heavy sigh.

Donald smiled sheepishly. “I don’t mind.”

“Can I ask you something about him?” I figured if I was going to mention something I’d do it here on neutral ground.

“Sure, what do you want to know?”

“Anything.”

The space between Donald’s brows deepened with harsh lines of puzzlement. “Anything? Why?”

I thought about my words before I said them. “You don’t get the feeling that he’s hiding something?”

Donald’s back straightened but the twinkle in his eyes was still there, making me feel like I’d possibly overstepped a line. “Are you asking me this because of my little phone call earlier?”

“No, I’d forgotten all about it until just now,” I lied, watching Donald prudently.

Donald clasped his hands together, bracing his elbows on the table. His expression was thoughtful, yet there was no hint of the scrutiny I expected from him. “That’s awfully strange of you to feel like that after only speaking to him once. What did he say to you?”

I answered nonchalantly. “Nothing worth talking about. He’s strange is all I’m saying.”

Another sip of water, a slight hardening of eyes. “Anyone who keeps us waiting the way he did this morning for no reason is indeed strange.”

“So, you don’t know anything about him?”

He shrugged. “Nothing beyond what a good Google search will do. He’s very private.”

My fists clenched under the table and my toes curled in my heels from annoyance. I wasn’t upset with Donald, not in the least. It was because I couldn’t grasp what it was about Kale beyond his physical beauty that made me hyperaware of him. The darkness in his eyes was not an illusion. There was an illuminated ring of the lightest shade of green around them when he looked at me today.

“You look irritated,” Donald said. “Just Google him.”

I smoothed out my pants and looked at Donald with a plastic smile that fooled him just as our waitress came with our food. “I’m actually starving. Let’s eat.”

feminismrelationshipsnsfwliteraturefictionerotic
Like

About the Creator

Troi McAdory

A celestial hippie with Peter Pan syndrome. I write about the things I cannot always say out loud.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.