Filthy logo

The Baby Deal

Chapter 2: The Deal

By Mackenzie101Published 2 years ago 17 min read
Like

Blair woke up the next morning. Her boyfriend had already left after they had their....alone time, ate dinner, and then left.

'Ugh....at least I only have to go to work today and then it's the weekend!'

Blair got up out of bed, only to realize.....

'Damn! I forgot to stop and get groceries again. No breakfast or coffee for me again, and I highly doubt Mel's gonna spring for me again!'

She went through her closet and narrowed it down to 3 outfits for the office today.

She laid out pencil skirts, different blouses in different shades of brown, black, and white. After some debate, she settled on a black and gray plaid skirt with a black blouse, black pantry hose, and black pumps.

'Alright, let's try this drive through mess, again.'

She went out to her living room and to her surprise, there was a note on her coffee table.

Dear Blair, I know you forgot to go get groceries again. You know they have apps for that, right? I left you a surprise on the counter and a cold brew coffee in your fridge. Have an awesome day, Love you! - Brian.

She couldn't help but smile to herself.

'That man is so in love with me, it's almost sickly too sweet.'

She walked over to her kitchen and sure enough, there's a wrapped breakfast plate there for her on the counter. She walked over to the fridge and took out the iced coffee and sat at the island and pulled her breakfast to her.

'I owe him for this....and a lot more.'

This is the first time in a long time that she actually got to sit down and enjoy breakfast for once before she'd have to leave for work.

Eventually, Blair made it in to work.

'These damn elevators better work....'

Blair stepped inside and they actually did work today. Her phone dinged with a text message.

Annie (Mom): Good morning sweetheart, can you come over today? I'd like to talk to you.

'Oh lord....it's usually never good when Mom texts that or doesn't just come out with it on text. That's how she texted me when she found out she had cancer.'

Yeah, Mom. Straight after work. What's up?

Annie: I'll get more in detail in person. Love ya! Have a good day!

Blair sighed as the elevator doors opened to the hall on the 12th floor.

'Exactly....'

She stepped out and walked to her desk. Melody noticed her, immediately.

"What's wrong Blair? You look so down. You and Brian have a fight?"

Blair shook her head. "No, but I just got one of my Mom's world famous texts."

Melody had a concerned look on her face. "Oh....the indirect ones where it's usually not good news?"

Blair nodded again. "Yeah...."

"Oh.....well....maybe it's just a fluke and it's the way she texted you."

Blair can tell she's trying her best to cheer her up, but failing at it.

Meanwhile, somewhere on the other side of the building.

Damian thought to himself while walking through the cubicle areas. 'There's gotta be at least one, just one employee I can propose this to and not get hit with a sexual harassment lawsuit.'

Damian looked around the office, searching for literally his first baby momma.

"Hmmm....that one's attractive looking enough....but she has an engagement ring. How about that one? Nah...too old....This one? Ugh....I don't like how her nose is shaped. Uhm....that one's a little too chunky for my taste."

Damian aimlessly walked into the break room. He ran his hand through his hair in frustration.

'This is impossible! How did I miss that stipulation in the contract?! If I had known, I would have purposefully got someone pregnant 5 years ago or so! But then I'd have a 5 year old and child support. I've heard from my friends how ruthless these women demanding child support can be.' He thought with a scowl.

There were a couple of women standing off to the side. He noticed they're both of his assistants. He decided to listen in on their conversation.

Melody tried to reason with Blair.

"Blair, if your Mom is dying, maybe you should quit and spend her last remaining...what could be months with her. Just try and re-apply later after she either passes or gets well. Maybe go back to school on a loan or grant?"

Blair shook her head and sighed.

"That's the thing Mel, if I quit, I loose everything. My home, everything I've built, my credit. I can't do that to myself. I can't ask Brian to do it either, he's struggling himself. I can't move back with either one of my parents. It's just not feasible."

Melody sighed.

"Then...I honestly don't know what to tell you. I wish I had a real answer for you, I do."

Damian smiled. 'That's it! I'll offer it to this Blair person! She seems desperate enough.'

"We'd better head back. Break time's almost over." Melody said as she headed for the door.

"Yeah...."

Blair also went to leave. Melody made it out of the break room, but then the door closed in front of Blair. She saw the arm that closed it. It's her boss, Damian.

'Oh Lord....what does he want?' She thought to herself, slightly annoyed.

"What can I do for you, Mr. Dresher?"

She saw him lock the door to the break room and take a step towards her.

'Ooookay....he's starting to freak me out a little....'

Blair took a step back.

"Ms. Huxley....oh....Blair, was it?"

"Yes sir?"

"I have a proposition for you."

"F...for....for me?" Blair responded nervously.

'What the hell could he want?!'

"Yes you. There's no other way to say this, so I'm going to come right out and say it....Have my baby."

'Uhm.....did I just hear him right or have I completely gone insane?! What was that expiration date on that coffee?!'

"I'm....I'm sorry....can you say that last part again?"

He put on a smile.

"You heard me correctly, get pregnant with my child. Have my baby, Blair."

She took a moment to process this.

"What the hell for?! I mean yesterday you didn't even know who the hell I was and now you want me to have your child?! I'm....I'm sorry Mr. Dresher, I resign immediately....this is way too weird...."

She tried to unlock and open the door, but he put his hand on it.

"I'm offering you something you can't refuse, money to live off of and go back to school with."

Blair turned to him and gave him a sideways look.

"How....how much?"

"5 million dollars, more than enough to go back to school and live off of while you're doing it, plus enough leftover that you can invest in property or put your future children through college."

Blair gasped at the mention of how much.

"You're....you're serious?! You'd give me 5 million dollars just to have your child?!"

He made the shhh gesture.

"We'll talk about this in further detail in my office, if you're interested."

He let go of the door and opened it, giving her a final look as he walked out of the break room, leaving Blair there alone.

'What the actual fuck?! How do I even process this?! My boss who didn't even know who the hell I was yesterday, suddenly knows both my first and last names, and wants me to have a child with him....for....FIVE....MILLION?!'

She shook her head.

'No way....this has got to be an office prank! Mel must have put him up to this. But....I don't think so.....He'd never go for anything fun like that. He never even attends the office Christmas parties or even the office BBQ's.'

Blair went to leave the break room and back to her area. She passed Melody sitting at her desk on the way to his office doors.

"Hey, everything okay?"

Blair stopped at her desk for a moment.

"Yeah, just going in to see the boss for a few minutes."

Blair knocked on his doors and she heard a faint "come in".

She walked into his office. He was sitting at his desk, obviously waiting for her.

He literally looked like a panther, ready to pounce on her. Staring at her with those blue eyes of his. It's a little bit of turn on.

'Get a grip, girl! He's your boss! You have a boyfriend! He did ask you to have his baby though.....how's he gonna....?'

"So...Ms. Huxley, you're considering my offer?"

"Yes sir. So....what would I have to do exactly? I understand I'd be getting pregnant with your child, but what's the catch?"

He shifted in his chair a bit and motioned for her to sit in the seat across from him.

She does as he said.

"The catch, Ms. Huxley, is after I give you a few weeks to a month to recover from giving birth, you will sign over all your rights to the child to me. You won't even be listed as his or her Mother. If you want to stay with the company after this deal, although I wouldn't think you'd want to after the payout, you can. It's your choice."

'Give up my first child to this total d-bag?! What happens if this happens to be the only child I'd be able to give birth to for the rest of my life? But....on the other hand, this one little sacrifice could mean my ticket to my dreams and out of this hell hole.'

"Why do you need a child so badly from me? What about your "many girlfriends?""

Damian leaned back in his chair.

"None of them were viable candidates."

"Okay....how about my first question?"

'Damn....if I say it's to save my company from being taken out from under me by my father, she'll never agree to this. I have to think of something....'

He paused for a moment and then answered her.

"Ms. Huxley, since we're in negotiations, I'll just call you Blair. You can call me Damian. Blair, I'm about to be 30 next year. I want to keep this company within the family and to this end, I must have a heir before next year. I could drop dead, my father could drop dead tomorrow, and it would be left to no one."

"Are you having health issues, si....Damian?"

He smirked and shook his head.

"Not that I'm aware of, but people in their 30's can drop dead at any time, just like the elderly. I'm just trying to secure the future of Dresher Inc. Secure the jobs of many, including yourself."

She nodded.

"Hmm...I can understand that."

'Good, she bought it.'

"Now, I'm going to have to ask if you have any romantic relationships, even casual relationships, you must end them now."

She felt her breath hitch in her throat and her heart dropped into her stomach.

'Brian.....I'd have to end things with him.'

"Why would I have to do that?"

"To make 100 percent sure that the child will be mine. No outside variables." He had sort of a pissed off look on his face when he said this.

"Oh...."

'I'm going to have to break both mine and Brian's hearts if I take this deal.'

"Alright, what else?"

"On that note, you'll have to get an STD test and I want a copy of the results."

"Okay then...."

'Ugh...I hate needles....' Blair thought, begrudgingly.

"Also, you are not to discuss this arrangement with anyone. Your co-workers, your family, friends, anyone."

"Okay, so if I don't have a boyfriend, how am I going to explain to everyone about the ever-growing beachball under my shirt? I can't just hide away from everyone for 9 months, including my parents and co-workers."

"Hmmm....you can say you have a boyfriend, just don't give a name. Make someone up."

"Again, not going to work. My parents will want to meet him and it's going to look a little suspicious if I show up to social gatherings without him."

Blair watched as he rubbed his temples slightly.

"You're making this more difficult than it needs to be. You'll have a few months before you start showing. We'll cross that bridge when we come to it."

He leaned forward on the desk.

"So, will you do it?"

Blair sat in her chair for a moment and thought.

"Let me think about it."

"48 hours should be more than enough time to consider."

Blair's mouth slightly dropped open.

'Seriously?! This guy wants me to only take two days to consider all of this?! I feel like I need a week or a month!'

"Can....can I have a week at least to consider?"

He sighed, slightly frustrated.

"Fine."

"So....what will happen to the child?"

"Once you sign over your rights, he or she will be my child. I will be the sole parent."

"And....I'll never see this child ever again? They won't even know I exist?"

"No, they won't. Once they come of age, they'll take over this company and hopefully carry on the legacy with their children."

"So when they asked what happened to their Mother...?"

"I'll either say you died during childbirth or that our relationship didn't work out and you didn't want anything to do with them. Don't even bother trying to find her. Whichever scenario I feel is best."

Blair glared at him at bit.

"So you're either going to kill me off or I'm the bitch that abandoned her child? All great things to scar your child with; Mom died before she could meet you, or Mom didn't want you."

"I'm paying you, very handsomely I might add, so that shouldn't be your concern." He stared her down with a dangerous look.

Blair flinched slightly.

"How long would I have to get pregnant?"

"Well, after we get the okay after your medical exam and you end things with any of your boyfriends or casual hook-ups, I'd give you 3 months to get pregnant."

"And if I can't or don't?"

"The contract is null and void. You'd give back any money I advanced you, and we go on like this never happened."

Blair nodded, still not believing she was sitting here, having this conversation with her boss...or that she was even considering doing this!

"Would you still let me work here?"

"Of course Blair, I'm not a monster! If you can't produce what I need you to produce, there's no sense in getting rid of a good employee who obviously gets us results for the company, not just me."

'Says the man who a day ago, didn't know who the hell I was!'

"So....I can expect your answer within a week?"

'This is absolutely crazy, not professional at all, and borders on the line of sexual harassment, but at the same time, this could be my one and only chance out of here! My one and only chance to go back to school!'

"I'll....I'll have your answer by the end of the week, Mr. Dresher."

"Damian, please."

"Right....Damian."

"Excellent! Then, I look forward to your answer in 5 days."

He got up from his chair, as does Blair and he led her out.

She felt him close the door behind her.

Melody immediately got out of her chair and pulled Blair by her arm.

"What was that all about?! You usually don't spend more than 5 minutes in Mr. Dresher's office."

"Uhm....its'...."

Blair remembered his words....you can't let anyone know about this deal.

"Nothing really. He just reprimanded me for being a smart ass about my name the other day."

"Oh....and you're not that upset?"

"No, not really. Just thankful that he didn't fire me."

"You'd better be girl. He's fired people for a lot less. I've always told you you have a mouth on you. You just gotta learn to keep that duct tape on it when you're here."

Blair laughed a little.

"Yeah....I do."

Blair went on about the rest of her workday, trying not to think about Damian's offer. She also made doctor's appointments on breaks in between and at lunch.

'I still can't believe I'm even considering this and why me?! Why not someone else? I just need a sign....that this is the right thing to do....'

Not only was she going to have to face down her fear of needles, but she was also going to have break her's and her boyfriend's hearts.

'I'd much rather get poked with a thousand needles than break his heart...' Blair thought sadly to herself.

Much later, the workday was done. Damian was long gone for the day, but not before giving Blair a sideways look before leaving.

'Ugh....how any woman puts up with his cocky ass, I'll never know.'

Blair shut down everything for the day and grabbed her purse to go.

Melody stopped her before she could jet to the elevators. "Hey, are you okay? You've been acting weird all day ever since your meeting with Mr. Dresher...."

Blair plastered on a fake smile and responded to her.

"Yeah, I'm good. Just got a lot on my mind right now."

She smiled back at Blair.

"Don't worry about it Blair, everything will work out with your Mom. Don't sweat it and just have faith."

She goes to hug Blair while she sighed to herself.

'I wish I could tell her it's more than Mom.'

She let go of her, smiling at her and they both left for the day.

A little while later, Blair is heading down the road to her Mother's, dreading the bad news she knew was coming.

'Or maybe I'm off and she actually has good news. Maybe the cancer is gone.'

Blair continued on to her Mother's house.

After about 20 minutes, she pulled up in front of her house.

'Okay, here we go....'

Blair walked up her driveway and over to the front porch. She knocked on her door. To her surprise, someone answers the door she wasn't expecting.

"Oh! Hey....Dad....what are you doing here?"

Her Mother and Father split 9 years ago when she was 16. He's been a lackadaisical father at best after the divorce. He only shows up when it's convenient for him or when shit truly has hit the fan.

Her father is in his late 40's early 50's. He's almost balding on the top of his head. He's actually a little shorter than Blair, but she does have pumps on. He's still in his orange jumpsuit from his construction work. Blair's father excitedly said "Hey Sweetpea! Haven't seen you in a while!"

'Oh lord, his nickname for me.....'

"Dad, I've been telling you to stop calling me that since I was 12."

Chris Huxley smiled. "And I haven't stopped yet!"

Her Mother, Annie Huxley comes from behind him. She is a slender woman, also in her late 40's early 30's. The chemo treatments have been harsh on her, but she's still managed to stay beautiful. Her hair is gray now, but it was a pretty shade of brown before the chemo. "Blair! I'm so happy you're here!"

Blair's Mother also comes and hugs her. Blair hugged her harder.

"Well, don't just stand there, come on in!"

They all walked into the living room.

"Have a seat." Annie said, gesturing to the couch.

She went ahead and sat down on the couch.

Her parents sat on the loveseat across from her.

"How's work going?"

"Let's cut to the chase Mom, what's the bad news?"

Annie's smile falls away a bit.

"Why would you think that, honey?"

"Oh come on, Mom! You never text me like that unless you've got bad news."

Her Father was about to respond when her Mother sighed.

"Oh Blair, you read me like a book. I got my results back today."

"And?"

Blair was both hopeful and fearful.

"Well, they said that two of the tumors have shrunk considerably, but they've found two new masses on my liver and back bones. They said they can't do chemo and radiation anymore as my immune system is too weak."

Blair shook her head, trying her best not to burst into tears and be strong for her Mom.

"So....how long are they saying? Can they do anything?"

"They're saying a year, maybe two."

Blair was fighting back tears as she told her this news.

Blair thought the day she told her she had lung cancer was bad, this hurt her much worse.

'I may not have my Mother anymore by this time next year.' Blair thought sadly to herself.

"There is some good news though. They have this new experimental drug they can try. They're not guaranteeing anything, but they're willing to try this with me. Buy me some time."

"Oh...."

"So there's something I want to ask of you, and you can say no if you want to...."

"Anything Mom, you name it and I'll do it!"

She grabbed her hands in hers, looking at Blair with hope.

"Look, I know this is not ideal or how it's supposed to be, but would you and Brian be willing to go ahead and give me...A grandchild? I know you two aren't married, but I know you'll end up getting married eventually. I just want to see my first grandchild be born before my passing."

Blair stared at her in shock.

'It's not everyday two different people ask you to bare children for them!.....Wait a minute, this could work! Although I'll be sad, Mom won't be around long enough to see my child get taken from me. I could have Damian's child. I don't think she'd care if it was Brian's or not. All she wants is to see me give her a grandchild before she passes. I kill two birds with one stone!'

"Okay, Mom. I'll start trying as soon as possible."

"Do....do you....you really mean it?!" Annie asked, excitedly.

Her father, Chris, had a frown on his face. "Blair....you really don't have to do this...."

"Yes, Dad. Yes I do. This could be the only chance Mom gets to be a Grandma before she passes. I'm going to let her live out that wish."

"Oh thank you! Thank you so much Blair! I may not get to see your wedding, but I will get to see my first grandbaby! This is the best gift you could ever give me!"

She pulled Blair into a tight hug and squeezed as hard as she could.

'If this isn't a sign to accept his deal, I don't know what is!'

NOTE FROM AUTHOR: Thanks for reading! There's much more to come. Tips aren't necessary but they are appreciated!

- Mackenzie

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Mackenzie101

I used to write fanfics when I was younger, now I publish my stories I didn’t get a chance to publish as fanfiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.