Filthy logo

No Sex in the Therapist's Room: Navigating Love in the Realm of Taboos

A Therapist's Hilarious Journey from Sexual Stigmas to Liberating Love Conversations

By Evan BrownPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Like
No Sex in the Therapist's Room: Navigating Love in the Realm of Taboos
Photo by Womanizer Toys on Unsplash

With a deep sigh, I nudged my glasses up the bridge of my nose and eyed the pile of dating apps sitting in my phone's digital landfill. I'm thirty-two, single, and a sex therapist with no sex life. The irony of my situation would've been hilarious if it weren't so incredibly pathetic.

The thing about being a sex therapist is that it kind of kills the mood. Everyone assumes you're some sort of bedroom Olympian, capable of defying the laws of physics and physiology. So, when I reveal my profession during dates, they either get scared or expect an X-rated version of the Cirque du Soleil.

A buzz from my phone snapped me out of my musing. It was a message from Marvin, my seventy-five-year-old neighbor, asking for help with his new smartphone. Marvin's wife passed away three years ago, and since then, he's been trying to adjust to the technology-filled world around him. I couldn't help but chuckle; the scene of Marvin trying to use Siri as a remote for his old TV was fresh in my mind.

In between sorting out Marvin's tech problems and laughing at his analog anecdotes, we'd often find ourselves deep in conversation about controversial topics. One evening, the topic drifted towards my professional life and its lack of personal application. Marvin, with his arched eyebrows and a scandalized expression, questioned the societal taboo about sex and sexual health.

He believed, "Sex, like any other physiological need, is just that - a need. Yet, people treat it like a forbidden fruit. Shouldn't we be able to discuss it without fear, especially in relationships?"

His words rang in my head like a gong. I realized I had fallen into the same trap. Even as a sex therapist, I had been shying away from discussing my sexual needs and fears with my dates, afraid of scaring them away.

Marvin, my unlikely mentor, encouraged me to embrace my profession and my knowledge, rather than shying away from it. He suggested, "Use your expertise as a strength, not a curse. Be open, honest. If a man gets scared, he wasn't worth your time anyway."

Taking his words to heart, I braced myself for a whole new approach. I started engaging my dates in mature conversations about sexual health and compatibility, which surprisingly didn't send them running for the hills. On the contrary, I found them more receptive and even relieved to talk about a topic often brushed under the carpet.

The road was bumpy, and there were quite a few hilariously awkward moments. Like when George, a gym instructor, thought discussing sexual health meant demonstrating various sex positions in the middle of a crowded restaurant. But every misstep was a step forward.

Slowly but surely, I started finding men who appreciated my honesty. Men who were mature enough to discuss and consider sexual health as an integral part of a relationship. I learned that relationships aren't just about matching interests, but also about matching sexual compatibility and understanding.

Finally, I met Adrian, a smart, funny, and open-minded man who wasn't intimidated by my profession but was fascinated by it. He understood that my expertise didn't make me a sex goddess but someone who could talk about sexual health maturely.

We started dating, and my conversations with Adrian were comfortable, liberating, and enlightening. We laughed together, learned from each other, and most importantly, we were open about our needs, desires, and fears. For the first time in my life, I found a partner who understood and respected my profession.

Reflecting on my journey, I realized I hadn't just learned to navigate dating as a sex therapist, but also discovered the importance of open conversations about sexual health in relationships. This was an invaluable lesson that I was eager to share with my clients and anyone struggling with similar issues.

It was a personal struggle that brought me to a professional revelation. Sometimes, it's all about changing your perspective and embracing your strengths. My profession isn't a dating hindrance anymore; it's an asset, a guiding light in the murky waters of modern dating. I can only hope my story empowers others to shed their inhibitions and embrace open, honest discussions about sexual health in their relationships.

My journey with Marvin, George, Adrian, and many others was a roller coaster ride filled with laughter, awkwardness, and a dash of enlightenment. Looking back, I wouldn't change a thing. Because at the end of the day, I'm not just a sex therapist with a sex life now; I'm a sex therapist who knows how to live it to the fullest.

taboorelationshipslingeriehumanityfeminismfact or fictioneroticconventionsbeauty
Like

About the Creator

Evan Brown

Adventurer at heart, writer by trade. Exploring life's complexities through humor, controversy, and raw honesty. Join me on my journey to unlock the extraordinary in the everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.