Filthy logo

Nancy Screw and the Coming of Age (18+) Chapter 10

A Walk in the Park

By Alder StraussPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Redhead art by Glen Orbik

Chapter 10

A Walk in the Park

The phone was on its third ring when someone on the other end picked up.

“Hello?”

“Hello, Beth. It’s Nancy.”

“Nancy! My god I was so worried. I called and your mother told me that you weren’t feeling so well.”

“You called,” Nancy asked, a touch of surprise was in her tone.

“I did. Did your mom not tell you?”

“Oh, no. She didn’t. I guess she just wanted me to get some good rest.”

“That makes sense. What’s up?”

“Have you heard the news today?”

Beth was silent for a moment.

“What news? Is everything okay?”

“Well, I’m fine. It’s news that I saw on the T.V. earlier today. Did you see the same story?”

“What story, Nancy? I’ve been out running errands all day.”

“Well, Beth, there was a man who disappeared.”

“Oh, wow. When did it happen?”

“We’ll, the news report stated that it happened around 8 p.m. last night.” Nancy paused for a moment.

“At Venture Park.”

“Nancy, that’s quite scary. We were there around a couple hours later. We found you there alone.”

“I know Beth. I thought that too. But that’s not the weirdest thing.”

“Oh yea? What makes it weird, Nanc?”

“The man’s name is Charles Turner.”

Beth didn’t say anything for a second. Then she spoke.

“Who’s Charles Turner?”

Nancy suddenly realized what she had done and laughed out loud.

“I’m sorry, Beth. I completely forgot that you haven’t read my book yet. You see, Charles Turner is the main character in the book I’m reading.”

“Oh, that is a funny coincidence, Nancy,” Beth chuckled.

“I know, Beth. It is. You see, he disappeared in the book, too.”

Beth listened as Nancy continued.

“I don’t want to ruin major plot twists, but I skipped a bit ahead and read something interesting.”

“Oh?”

“He, too, was last seen walking in a park as well.”

Beth thought for a moment more and then replied.

“I’m not sure what you’re getting at. Nancy. Are you saying you think the story you’re reading is true?”

“Well, not exactly. I’m just saying that it’s something worth looking into. I do have a few hours and, hopefully you do too.”

“Well, I think it may be fun. There’s nothing going on right now. What did you have in mind?”

“Well, why don’t we go to Venture Park and see what we can find. I know it’s a long shot, but I feel like this would really help me with, you know.”

“I understand, Nanc.” Beth withdrew for a moment and then came back.

“Just so you know, Janet told me that Billy came by looking for you. He said that he also came by your place but your parents wanted to respect your wishes by not having anyone visit.”

Nancy sighed heavily and a few tears found their way down her cheeks.

“Okay. Thank you for letting me know.” Towards the end of the sentence, Nancy’s voice grew strong again.

“I don’t have time for that right now. I’ve got to go on a walk with my best friend.”

Beth smiled.

“Do you mind if your best friend’s sister comes along? She’s worried about you too and would like to see if you’re feeling and looking better.”

“Sure,” Nancy reassured. “Let’s meet at Venture Park in fifteen, okay?”

Beth agreed to the time and all set out to meet each other at the spoken destination.

fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alder StraussWritten by Alder Strauss

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.