Filthy logo

Lucifer

Chapter two

By Breanna Katelin CurryPublished 4 years ago 11 min read
1

Chapter 2

The party won’t stop

Lucifer was furious.

BANG. BANG. BANG.

Lucifer ran for the elevator and fiddled with his coat cuffs before the elevator closed.

“What in the bloody hell is going on down here!”

BANG.

Lucifer looked down at the once-nice suit, which now had a hole in it.

“You’ll regret that.” He said as he began to get angry.

BANG.

“Come now! Do it again! This suit is ruined anyways! Give it your best shot!”

BANG. BANG. BANG.

He grabbed the man by the throat and slowly lifted him off the ground. He smiled a devilish, wicked smile and his eyes began to glow red. The man screamed with what breath he could gasp.

“Please! Don’t kill me!” The squeamish man looked at Lucifer in terror, having just seen his true form.

Lucifer smiled and cocked his head sideways, “What makes you think I shouldn’t? You deserve to be punished!”

A loud crash and the voices of several people came from the entrance and Lucifer let go of the man.

“L.A.P.D. Everybody put your hands up!” A beautiful young woman emerged, at the head of the pack of police offers who came to “resolve” the issue. “I said HANDS UP!” She yelled at the two of them and Lucifer just stood in awe.

She stood there, dressed in a lovely business-casual pant suit and her long brunette hair stretched almost to her butt. She was as beautiful as a supermodel, and as dangerous as a snake. “Can you hear me? I said put your hands up, now!”

Lucifer picked up his jaw off the ground and smiled a warm smile. “He-ll-o, Detective.” He placed his hands in the air, smiling fiendishly. “Wait,” his face dropped and he furrowed his eyebrows, “Why am I putting my hands in the air?” He lowered his arms and settled one of his hands on his hip, “I’m the victim here, someone shot up my club!”

Detective Lilith Red stood there, unbothered by his tantrum, and put her gun away. “Mr. Morningstar, this is an active murder scene. You need to take a seat and tell me exactly what happened.”

“Oh, no worry, I already got the bad guy, detective. He’s right over...” Lucifer looked to his left and got quiet for a moment. “Well, he was right here until you barged in and distracted me.”

“Oh, excuse me for barging into an active murder scene. Go give Officer Knowels your statement.” The detective rolled her eyes and turned to walk away.

“Wait a moment, I didn’t catch your name, lovely.” Lucifer grinned widely and looked deeply into her eyes.

“My name is Octavia Williams. What, do you want to file a complaint?” The detective crossed her arms and stood almost annoyed with this stranger.

“Lucifer.” He smiled and stuck his hand out, “Lucifer Morningstar. Lovely to meet you, Octavia.”

The detective stood standoffishly, keeping her arms crossed. “Yeah, nice to meet you too.” She turned on her heel and walked away, leaving Lucifer breathless.

****

The next morning, Lucifer woke feeling refreshed and excited for the day for what seemed like the first time in a long time. He stood and stretched, then went to the kitchen to make some breakfast while he listened to his favorite songs from the 70’s. It was Lucifer’s favorite thing to do when he cooked. He had an extra pep in his step today, and nothing could bring him down.

He stood in his ginormous closet and looked around at all his beloved suits. He decided to go with the purple Dolce & Gabbana and black genuine leather dress shoes. The devil never goes anywhere without looking the very best. Most days, women would chase him down to have a chance to sleep with him— and he would happily oblige. He had no desire greater than having the best possible time that he could.

He pulled up to the police station in his McLauren convertible and looked around curiously. He walked inside the police station and flashed his most devilishly handsome smile, “Hello, darling. I need to speak with Detective Octavia.”

The woman did not look up at him while she responded curtly, “The detective isn’t here. Come back later.”

Lucifer frowned and narrowed his eyes and waved his hand in front of the woman’s face “Hello, again, I need to speak with Detective Octavia,” he smiled and stared into her eyes intensely, “Please, go get her.”

The woman melted in her seat. She could barely speak, but just like the rest, she obeyed. She stammered as she walked away from her desk to retrieve Octavia.

Lucifer giggled in excitement— he loved when women were shy. They were usually the wild ones. He stood patiently and smiled as he saw his new favorite person come around the corner. “Detective! So lovely to see you again!”

Octavia looked at him with narrowed eyes and annoyed written all over her face, “Lucifer? What are you doing here? We closed the case. The guy who shot him was hiding out back, not very hard to find.”

Lucifer smiled, but he was confused, “Well, I just came to say hi, Detective. My apologies if I interrupted your work. Thank you.”

Octavia half-smiled and shook her head, “Goodbye, Lucifer.”

Lucifer turned around and left. He got into his car and sat there for a moment, dissatisfied with the way the conversation just went. He started driving for home and began to contemplate how he could get her to agree to dinner with him tomorrow.

****

Lucifer woke from a deep sleep, excited for the day ahead. He got out of bed and had the same routine from the day before. He was very methodical. He was more upbeat today, though. Encountering the detective changed something inside of him. He felt different. He’d never felt this excited to see a woman. He was the freaking devil. Women were excited to see HIM.

Lucifer pondered this thought for a moment but decided he didn’t care. He pulled his shoes on and walked towards the elevator, but when he pushed the button, everything slowed down.

“Lucifer. You must return to Hell.”

“Lovely to see you too, brother. But no, I think I’m staying. I’ve met someone you see!”

“Lucy, don’t be delusional.”

“No, it’s true!” He smiled a much different, happy smile and took his brothers by his arms, “This is different brother, now go away so I can get to it.”

“Lucifer, you know I can’t do that. I have to take you back. Hell needs a ruler.”

“Well good on you for signing up, brother. Because i quit. I will never go back to that horrific place again.” Lucifer pushed Amenadiel away and stood in the elevator waiting. “Well, brother, chop chop. I don’t have all day.”

“Lucifer, you are the one who rules Hell. You have to go back.”

“Listen!” Lucifer growled in anger as he stepped towards his brother. “I will, under no circumstances, be going back to Hell. Not by your hands, or anyone else’s. Now leave.” His eyes were bright red, screaming with anger. The only thing he hated worse than his father was that dreadful ‘home’ you call Hell.

Amenadiel stumbled backwards at his brothers rage. “I warned you, Lucifer. Don’t say I didn’t.” Within the blink of an eye, he was gone.

Lucifer paced his apartment to compose himself while he drank from his dark grey flask. It had the words “Worlds Best Devil” written on it. He always laughed at the irony. After taking a moment to calm down, he headed back to the elevator and made his way down to go find the detective, again. Hopefully with more success this time.

He walked up the steps towards the police station, one more time, and was stopped half way up the stairs.

“What are you doing here, Lucifer?”

He could pick her voice out of a crowd, almost angelic. “Hello, detective. I was just coming by to say hello and to see if you might want to go on a date with me?”

“A date? With LA’s most wanted bachelor?” She chuckled and shook her head, “No, I think I’m alright.”

Lucifers jaw dropped and he was extremely confused. Nobody had ever turned down Lucifer Morningstar, and he wasn’t about to start getting turned down now. “Wait, what? What do you mean, ‘you’re alright’?”

Octavia cocked her head to the side a little and smiled, “I mean I don’t want to go on a date with you, or sleep with you. In fact, I don’t even know why you would think I would.”

‘Well, I don’t mean this the way it sounds, but everyone wants to. So, why don’t you? What makes you so special? Who can resist the bloody Devil for goodness sake.” Lucifer was annoyed and frustrated. He didn’t like when he didn’t get what he wanted.

“Ha! I don’t know what makes me special exactly, but right now, I’m grateful for that.” Octavia shook her head and started to walk away.

“I’m sorry, wait, I didn’t mean to offend you.” Lucifer reached out and touched her hand with his.

Octavia looked down at his hand then up at him, “Don’t worry about it, I gotta go, okay.” She pulled her hand away from his, a little enamored with his touch. She shook it off and got in her car to go to a crime scene.

Lucifer stood on the steps and put his hands in his pocket, grinning widely at the exchange. I don’t know what makes you special, detective but I do intend to find out.

Lucifer walked inside the police station and bypassed everyone asking for his ID. They didn’t seem to mind much either. Lucifer walked straight to the captains office and smiled wickedly as he closed the door behind him.

“Hello, Captain.” Lucifer turned to a beautiful woman, long brown hair, recklessly tied into a bun, dark red lipstick, eyes that could cut you like glass, and a smile as white as snow.

“Excuse me, how did you get in here?” She stood and looked him dead in his eyes and began to tremble. “I... I don’t know who you are but... you need to leave.”

“Oh darling, we have so much to discuss though! I’d like a job in this establishment. I think you’re the right person to talk to about this.” He leaned in closer to her and looked deeply into her eyes.

“I... um....a job? What?” She began to come back to reality slightly. “Are you qualified?”

Lucifer smiled and laughed curtly, “I think I’m more than qualified for what that naughty little head is thinking, but I need to stay on topic here. I want a job working with your detective, Octavia. I’m intrigued by her and I want to explore my humanity a little. I ran Hell for eons so I believe I qualify to help punish people.” Lucifer sat adjacent to her and crossed his legs, confident and beaming.

“Exploring your humanity? That’s not really what we do here.” She smiled as she tried to decline his offer.

“Oh, I think it is now.” He gazed into her deep green eyes and smiled his devilish smile, “I believe you’ll give me the job, and you’ll be excited to have a new addition to your team. Isn’t that right?”

She was taken aback, locked into his firm gaze. She didn’t move a muscle besides shaking her head, “Yes, I am so excited to have you on our team. I will need some information for payroll purposes and your ID.”

Lucifer laughed and shook his head, “No, I don’t need it, trust me.” He walked out of her office with her and as soon as he opened the door, he saw Octavia sitting at her desk.

“Detective! Detective! Guess what!”

Octavia looked up, irritated that she’d now heard his voice on two separate occasions, “What are you doing back here? Who let you in here?”

Lucifer waved his hand in the air to dismiss her questions as he excitedly answered his own for her, “I’m your new Consultant. We’ll be working together from now on.”

Captain Adams looked up and smiled at Octavia, “Yes, this is our first Detective consultant, ever. Welcome him to the team and get him settled in and up to date on all policy and procedures.”

Octavias mouth dropped, she couldn’t believe he weaseled his way into this. How did he do it? “No, this isn’t happening. Do you even have any training to be a cop?”

Lucifer shrugged and laughed, “I’m the devil detective, you tell me! I specialize in punishing people, so yes in fact, I do believe I’m more than qualified for the job.” Lucifer stood confidently, looking at her confusion and annoyance.

“Do not get in my way, do not tamper with the evidence, in fact, don’t touch anything or do anything.” Octavia smiled and shook her head, “I don’t know how you managed this, but it won’t last long.”

Lucifer smiled a half smile and began to touch the papers on her desk, “So, what’s on the agenda for today? Murder? Double murder? Strip club gone wrong?” Lucifer’s smile widened and he looked up at the detective from under his eyelashes. “What, nothing?”

Octavia stood looking at him in disbelief, then smacked his hand as he touched things. “No, no, and no. You, just be quiet and follow me.”

Lucifer smiled and skipped off along behind her. If he couldn’t convince her to go to dinner with him, he could at least force himself into her life to make her get to know him. She couldn’t deny him if he did that. “As you wish, Detective. After you.” Lucifer extended his arm and motioned for her to take the lead.

Octavia gave a sigh and began to walk forward towards the exit. It was time for Lucifer’s first homicide.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.