Filthy logo

Love Triangle 3: Dinner

Peter and Veronica Have Dinner Together

By Angela Denise Fortner RobertsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Love Triangle 3: Dinner
Photo by Jay Wennington on Unsplash

"I'd like that." She glanced down shyly.

"It's a date, then." Peter kissed the tip of her nose, and she blushed slightly. "Pick you up at six."

Suddenly ecstatic, he whistled all the way back home.

He was almost ready to leave to pick Veronica up when his doorbell rang. He looked through the peephole to see an expensively-dressed brunette holding a Tupperware container. Curious, he opened the door and invited her in.

"Hi, I'm Zelda," she told him. "I know you don't know me, but I'm a friend of your Mom's. She told me you were lonely and would love to meet me, so here I am! Oh, and I made you some kugel." She held the Tupperware container out to him.

Peter just stood there for a moment, shocked, but then he recovered quickly. "Uh, Zelda, it's nice to meet you and all, but I'm leaving in just a few minutes. Maybe another time, all right?"

Zelda pouted. "We couldn't just stay here and chat for a few minutes? I promise you, you'll love my kugel."

"I'm sure it's delicious, but no. I'm sorry. I can't."

Instead of leaving, Zelda just stood there. Peter began to panic, wondering what to do if she refused to leave. "I'm sorry," he repeated.

Zelda looked crestfallen. "Fine." She turned and slowly walked away, glancing back when she reached the door. "Have fun."

"Thank you." Peter went into the bathroom and hurriedly applied cologne, then locked up and left. "I can't believe her," he muttered.

He arrived at Veronica's apartment to find her wearing a navy blue dress with a sailor collar, with white hose and navy blue flats. Her hair was tied back with a navy blue ribbon, and she wore tiny gold earrings in the shape of sailboats. "Do I look OK?" she asked Peter nervously.

"You look fine!" He grinned as he glanced up and down appreciatively.

"You wouldn't believe what my mother just did," he told her on the way to the restaurant. He related the incident with Zelda, but instead of bursting out laughing like he expected her to, she frowned.

"Just imagine what your Mom would say if she knew that you were out with me. Remember that fuss she made over your wanting to invite me to your bar mitzvah?"

"I'm not thirteen anymore, Veronica," he said gently. "I'm a grown man, and I can do whatever I want."

Most of the rest of the trip to the restaurant was silent. Peter was busy thinking that if he continued to pursue a relationship with Veronica, his mother would eventually find out, and she wouldn't be happy about it at all. Veronica was busy thinking that as much as she enjoyed Peter's company, she didn't want to cause trouble between him and his mother. She was wondering whether she should simply bow out of the relationship before she became too deeply involved.

The soft music playing in the restaurant put them both in a mellow and romantic mood. As they sat waiting for their food to arrive, Peter reached across the table and clasped Veronica's hand. "You have beautiful eyes," he told her.

"Thank you." Veronica blushed and stared at the table top. "When we first met when we were twelve, what would you have said if someone had told you you'd be taking me out to dinner one day?"

Peter chuckled. "I would have told them they were crazy."

"Life's sure funny sometimes, isn't it?"

"It sure is," Peter agreed. "Say, didn't you have a younger brother and sister?"

"Mary Rose and Stanley. Mary Rose is doing cosmetology now, and Stanley's going into tenth grade. He's taller than I am now."

"I don't believe it." Peter placed his hand on top of his head, then moved it to Veronica's. They were just about the same height now.

"I can't believe how tall you've grown to be."

Peter shrugged. "I guess the testosterone finally kicked in."

"Mm hm." Veronica lightly ran her fingers over Peter's clean-shaven upper lip, cheeks, and chin.

He laughed. "What are you doing?"

"Oh, nothing." Their food arrived then.

"Thank you for a wonderful time," Veronica said when they were standing outside her door.

"Thank you," Peter replied.

"Will you stay here with me another night? Please? I don't feel like being alone tonight."

He shrugged. "Sure." She unlocked the door, and they entered the apartment. Peter headed for the sofa, but Veronica took his hand.

"Not on the sofa, Peter," she said as she led him into the bedroom.

erotic
Like

About the Creator

Angela Denise Fortner Roberts

I have been writing since I was nine years old. My favorite subjects include historical romance, contemporary romance, and horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.