Filthy logo

Losing Lucian

Lost memories; lost love

By KA Stefana Published 12 months ago 4 min read
2
Losing Lucian
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

Rolling over, I smelled my morning elixir brewing off in the distance, calling me to plant my feet firmly on the ground. Wrestling with desires for that liquid gold, my sleep-addled brain wasn’t ready to face the waiting world. The feel of the silk sheets against my naked body played tricks with my mind. Memories of his touch floated by. Was it just a dream? Was he real? Not wanting to know the truth, I curled up and forced my eyes to remain shut. Sealed! If I didn’t open them, I couldn’t start my day.

Steadying my breathing, I could hear the ocean’s waves crashing far below. My windows were open, letting the breeze circulate through the room, tantalizing me with scents of warm bread and other delicacies. My stomach rumbled, hunger lingering for a mere second, but the butterflies took over as images of the way he touched me fell over me like the soft summer rains.

His hands touched me in the most intimate places. His kisses upon my skin, between my legs. His tongue tortured me my burning flesh. It was enough to make me die of embarrassment.

Sitting bolt upright. Panic swelled within me. I thought my heart would beat out of my chest as the realization hit me hard. I could not remember how we met. What was his name? How could I let a stranger touch me? Where was he now?

Opening my eyes, I saw the magnificent view from my vantage point. The doors opened to a balcony pool overlooking the magnificent mountains and ocean far below. The view called me as I flipped the black sheets off. I walked slowly across the room and down into the waiting pool. Swimming slowly to the other side, I leaned on the pool’s edge and took in the mountains and the village below.

Creasing my brow, I wondered where I was and how I came to be in such a place, knowing I could never afford such luxuries when I heard a silky voice ring out from behind. I whirled around and stared at the man standing before me, undressed, and by the look in his eyes, he was ready to devour me again.

Sinking under the water to hide my nakedness, I tearfully asked, “Who are you? Why am I here?”

He smiled at me, stepping into the pool and closing the gap between us. He placed his hands on my shoulders and pulled me toward him, replying, “What do you remember, Resa?”

Shaking my head, I tried to back away, crying, “Nothing. Nothing. You need to tell me who you are. Why am I here? Please?”

Raising a hand to my forehead, I almost flew off the balcony as a burst of energy blasted through my body. Memory after memory flooded my senses until I passed out.

When I woke up, he was holding me gently in his arms, asking, “Do you trust me now, Resa?”

I felt a calmness surrounding me in his arms, but fear lingered in me, wondering if he was telling me the truth. I looked into his gaze, questioning, “Lucian, why me? I am just a poor girl.”

He let out a low growl, stating firmly, “Earthly wealth and power mean nothing to me. I wanted you, and that’s what mattered the most.”

I pushed back from him, bewildered. His words vexed me. “Don’t I have a say in the matter? You stole me from my village! Stole my memories! Took me from my family! Do you expect me to be thrilled with your actions? Just because we had sex last night doesn’t mean I want to stay locked up here forever!”

A flash of anger danced in his eyes, but he tried to hide it from me. His words rang with a sickly sweetness, “Resa, I did ask you and court you before we left your world. We loved each other deeply, and you will love me again. I promise you this.”

“Prove it!”

Raising his hand, a bolt of energy escaped hitting me in between the eyes. Stepping backward, I nearly fell into the water, but swiftly he grabbed me.

Gasping for air, I fought the memories he was showing me, not sure if I trusted this demon. “Take me back! I want you to send me home, and If I remember you in my own realm, I will return to you.”

“Resa, that is not how it works. You cannot go back and forth between the worlds until you accept me fully. Otherwise, you will always lose your memories when you cross the veil between the worlds.”

Slamming my fists down, the water sprayed him. “I don’t care. I want to go home, and if I can’t, then I shall never love you. I don’t trust those stupid memories you are showing me. You just made them up!”

Another glint of anger, but he hid it well. “Listen to me, Resa. I am not lying to you. Your memories are real! Let me finish turning you, and you will gain all your memories, not just the ones from last night.”

“No! I want to go home! Otherwise, I am just a prisoner here!”

He furrowed his eyebrows, debating what to do, then, with a wave of his hand, I felt my body being sucked backward through time. I landed harshly on my filthy bed, the one from my memories, and I cried out, screaming his name. “Lucian! Lucian! Where are you?”

In the recesses of my brain, I heard his voice echo, “You had your chance.”

I was left with nothing but memories of his touch.

fiction
2

About the Creator

KA Stefana

I started writing as a hobby during quarantine. From a hobby, a passion bloomed. Author of Dark Fantasy with a twist of romance. Available on KU - The Origins of Darkness, The Daughters of Darkness and The Forgotten.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.