Filthy logo

Funny Book Titles

From the funny and the downright crazy!

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Funny Book Titles
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

We all know that phrase never judge a book by it’s cover. Let’s be honest, a lot of us do. The same thing goes with titles. We can learn a lot about the book based on the title. The title gives us things on what to expect. If I hadn’t had read Game of Thrones, based on the title alone I can tell there’s going to be lots of people fighting over a crown. Harry Potter I know is going to be about Harry Potter. It also entices curiosity. Titles can be as long or as short as the author/publisher wants it to be.

I seen Goodread lists that do this and they always make me laugh, but the ones I have found always seem to be short. These are book titles that have caused me to start speaking in emoji. As a disclaimer, I have not read a lot of these books. To tell you the truth I haven’t read any of these books. Some of them I’ve chosen not to read because the title tells me everything that I need to know. On the other hand, there are several of these that have made me curious.

I’ve also chosen not to add books that contain obvious homophobic or racial slurs. I was surprised to see so many older books using the N word in their book titles,

I would also like to say that this list wasn’t made to poke fun or bash the authors or this book, but to be entertained by book titles and who knows, maybe you might pick one of these books to buy and get lost in it. Some of these sound like they would be cracking reads.

For the animal lovers...

  • I Could Pee on This: And Other Poems by Cats
  • CATFLEXING: A CATLOVER’S GUIDE TO WEIGHTLIFTING, AEROBICS & STRETCHING by Stephanie Jackson
  • Knitting With Dog Hair: Better A Sweater From A Dog You Know and Love Than From A Sheep You'll Never Meet by Kendall Crolius
  • Why Cats Paint: A Theory of Feline Aesthetics by Heather Busch
  • This Little Piggy Went to the Liquor Store by A.K. Turner
  • How to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill You by Matthew Inman
  • Billionaire Bear Mate by Sicily Duval

I am speechless...

  • The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks
  • Rampaging Fuckers of Everything on the Crazy Shitting Planet of the Vomit Atmosphere by Mykle Hansen
  • Streaking for Mother by Mark Shearman
  • I Am America (And So Can You!) by Stephen Colbert
  • How I Stole Johnny Depp's Alien Girlfriend by Gary Ghislain
  • Cinderella Ate My Daughter: Dispatches from the Frontlines of the New Girlie-Girl Culture by Peggy Orenstein
  • NGLND XPX by Ian Hutson
  • Daddy Mama: A Male Pregnancy Story by Jane Smith
  • I’m not really Japanese by Sakura Bum

Someone is hungry

  • Fifty Shades of Bacon Flavored Vagina Spray (A Shameless Parody of Fifty Shades of Grey) by I.P. Freely
  • When Will Jesus Bring the Pork Chops? by George Carlin
  • What Are These Strawberries Doing on My Nipples? I Need Them for the Fruit Salad by Vanessa Feltz
  • If Life Is a Bowl of Cherries What Am I Doing in the Pits? by Erma Bombeck
  • I Know An Old Woman Who Swallowed A Fly by Nikki Smith
  • He Died with a Felafel in His Hand by John Birmingham
  • My Darling, My Hamburger by Paul Zindel
  • Ask Any Vegetable by Reinhart Ernest Eshmeyer
  • Satan Burger by Carlton Mellick III

For kinky souls...

  • The Haunted Vagina by Carlton Mellick III
  • The Baby Jesus Butt Plug by Carlton Mellick III
  • My boyfriend has 8 penises by Sakura Bum
  • Razor Wire Pubic Hair by Carlton Mellick III
  • I'm Gay For My Living Billionaire Jet Plane by Chuck Tingle
  • Rode Hard, Put Up Wet by Lorelei James
  • Two in the Bush by Gerald Durrell
  • Bad Amateur Ebook Writer Romance Storyby Ivana Murleau
  • I Hate My Stepbrother But I Love His Cock! by Lorelei Knox

Now you’re taking the piss

  • How to Shit in the Woods: An Environmentally Sound Approach to a Lost Art by Kathleen Meyer
  • The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee by Sarah Silverman
  • This book cover and title have nothing to do with this book by Jarod Kintz
  • How to Pee Standing Up: Tips for Hip Chick by Anna Skinner
  • You Really Are Full of Shit, Aren't You? by Karl Wiggins
  • Go the Fuck to Sleep by Adam Mansbach

list
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.