Filthy logo

Entangled

Chapter 3

By Ireland Lorelei Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Chapter 3

Once inside her house, she headed upstairs to take another shower and got into the bed. She tossed and turned for hours thinking about Jamie. She thought about their friendship, how things started, when they were together, right up until the end. She tried to remember any signs that she missed. Other than him never actually saying the words, ‘I love you’, she couldn’t remember anything that would have given her any ideas that he would have been cheating on her. She had thought about this so much the last two years, how had she missed the signs. Her only answer was that she was too in love with him to see it, that it was that love that had blinded her.

The last time she saw the clock before drifting off to sleep, it was 4 o’clock in the morning. Darrell would be here in four hours. Hopefully she would make it up in time to get ready before 8 a.m.

She woke up at 7:45 am. She was going to be late! She jumped into the shower and threw on a pair of shorts and a t-shirt and ran downstairs just as the doorbell rang.

“Good morning,” she said as she opened the door.

“Good morning to you too! Are you ready? I thought we might stop for breakfast,” he said.

“Yes, I am ready. Just let me grab my shoes and breakfast sounds great!” she replied.

They stopped at IHOP for breakfast on their way to the Seaquariam.

The day went by really fast and was a lot of fun, until Darrell ended it with a conversation about Jamie.

As they were on their way back to her house, Darrell said, “Christie, I know this is something we promised not to talk about, but before I leave, I feel like I have to have this conversation with you. I know you were hurt, badly, and I won’t go into any details about the situation. But I will say that it is not what you think it is, or was. You really need to call Jamie or at least make some kind of step to contact him. I believe that you need to do this for you. Even if you guys don’t get back together, you need to know what happened. You need to hear the truth.”

The only part that stuck in her head was, ‘You need to hear the truth’. “Darrell what do you mean I need to hear the truth?” she said.

“I have said too much. Just reach out. I still believe that you two belong together,” he said.

He pulled up in her driveway and she just sat there, not knowing what to say in response. “I don’t even know what to say. I can’t make any promises. I need to really think about opening up that box. I was so hurt and my feelings haven’t changed for him at all. I don’t know if I can handle the rejection,” she said.

“Well, you don’t even know if there will be a rejection or not. Stop letting your fears and emotions stop you from talking to him,” he said. “I won’t give him your number. I believe that you need to do this yourself. I will check on you though! It was great seeing you and I hope the next time I see you; you will be home for a visit. Take care of yourself.”

“Thanks, and I will think about what you have said. I will definitely come see you the next time I am home. Have a safe trip back. I will tell Sharon that I saw you!” she said.

They said their goodbyes and hugged. She got out and went inside of her house. As she closed the door behind her, she leaned back on it in a daze. She wasn’t sure what to do now. Should she unblock him or just leave things the way they were? She understood what Darrell was saying about how she needed answers, but could she handle what he might say?

Her stomach was in knots. She went upstairs made a bubble bath and decided to just go to bed. It was only 6 p.m., but she couldn’t think about anything right now. She just wanted to forget about him tonight and just clear her head. Darrell had come and gave her a lot to think about. She felt like her world was fixing to turn upside down.

She woke up at 9 o’clock pm and just couldn’t get back to sleep. All she could think about was Jamie. She decided that maybe Darrell was right. Maybe she did need to talk to him, if for no other reason, so she could move on with her life without the ‘what ifs’. She grabbed her cell phone, pulled up her IG account, and sent him a friend request. She prayed that she had enough courage to leave the request alone and go back to sleep. Maybe he would accept it, maybe he wouldn’t, but she really missed him. She just needed to know what happened, was he alive, was he okay, and was he happy. She needed closure no matter how much she loved him. She knew they would never be together now. How could she every trust him again. She thought the closure would help here to move on with her life and find the happiness she knew she deserved.

Finally, she feel back asleep.

(To read the rest of the book, it is available on Kindle Vella and www.irelandlorelei.com)

erotic
Like

About the Creator

Ireland Lorelei

I am an erotic romance author. If you like what you are reading leave a tip! You can also buy my books on my website www.irelandlorelei.com, Kindle, Nook, Kobo and Apple Books. https://www.facebook.com/ireland.lorelei.7/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.