Filthy logo

Betray - Part 18.

Vipertown.

By Chelsealeighstories Published 4 years ago 9 min read
1
This story was originally published on Wattpad.

https://www.wattpad.com/user/chelsealeighstories

Lake

We arrive at the bar; the line outside goes back so far, I can't see the end of it.

Wow, this place must be popular, but what would I know. I don't make a habit of going bar-hopping every weekend; this is the first bar I've been to considering I'm not twenty-one, yet.

The knowledge that my perfect stranger is hiding around here somewhere waiting to see me, I can't help but look over my shoulder always searching for him amongst the masses. His perfect smile will give him away every damn time.

True to my word, I found some bells from old cat collars Aunt Karen had lying around after Mr. Mittens died and I thought what's the harm. It's not like he's going to need the bells back anytime soon.

Okay, yeah, I know what you're thinking, that's a bit morbid. I have to reiterate myself over and over again that I loved Mr. Mittens, and I know he would want me to use his bells for this occasion.

He would be proud, strolling around me in lazy circles rubbing against the black of my jeans leaving his distinct white, fluffy, fur trail behind.

Once I had successfully remove the bells from the collars, I wasted no time and sewed them onto the hem of my dress with an accomplished grin taking over my face. I've never been the kind of girl to go against my word, and I sure as hell wasn't going to start now.

Aspen grabs my hand, hauling me in the opposite direction of the back of the line. She isn't seriously going to try and skip the line, is she?

Of course, she is, this is Aspen we're talking about.

"Wait, Aspen, don't we have to line up?" I pant out, anxiety bubbling to the surface as the sea of faces all turn to glare at me, at us, but Aspen oblivious to the stares continues to drag me behind her and to the front of the line.

As we walk I refuse to make eye contact with the angry people in the line-up who I have no doubt have been waiting here a while. The last thing I need is to acknowledge the hatred and have it wash over me, taking with it any confidence I have built up ready to meet with my stranger.

We reach the front of the line, and I step beside Aspen, I look over at her trying to figure out what her plan is here, this is never going to work and then we are going to have to do a walk of shame back down the line past all the fiery eyes.

Aspen doesn't look at me; instead, she grins up, and I follow her gaze to where a tall, bulky security guard stands just in front of us, blocking the entrance to the bar.

I'm still not sure what her strategy is here, but she isn't giving off any uncomfortable vibes very confident this is going to work, so I'll go along with it. It's not like I have a choice in the matter regardless.

"Hey pretty girl," the big security guard smiles down at Aspen the smile on his hard, mean face almost comical, but I refrain from laughing.

For a big, scary guy he sure did have a cute baby face when he was smiling. He peers over Aspen's shoulder to where I stand, his smile greeting me, so I grin back, still fighting the need to giggle and reach up to pinch his adorable big man cheeks.

He obviously knows who Aspen is, maybe she had the right idea skipping the line after all.

"Hey Max," Aspen says smacking him lightly on the chest, the large man's eyes moving back to meet hers the smile never leaving his face. "Grey said he put us on the list for tonight," she says not skipping a beat, and Max nods his head slightly in understanding.

"Of course, you two can head on inside," Max steps aside letting us enter putting his back to the murmuring crowd behind us to block the entrance from others trying to sneak their way in.

Wait, did he seriously not bother to check our ID's? There is no way either Aspen or I look twenty-one, but like I said he clearly knows who Aspen is.

Aspen did say we wouldn't have an issue with that, but of course, I didn't believe her.

I turn back to wave bye to Max, and he nods at me before his dangerous all business frown returns to his face before he turns back to the line of people waiting to get inside. I can't help it, I am giggling softly to myself.

I think Max is going to go straight onto my favorite people I've ever met list.

I step inside behind Aspen, not knowing what to expect from my first bar experience, I go in blind, having no expectations is the best way to go into any situation life throws at you. That's the only good thing my father ever taught me; I remember the day he sat me down and told me like it was yesterday.

He came home in a horrible mood after another long day at his shitty no good job, his words, not mine. I was home early from school after Mom dropping me at home, sitting at the dining room table doing my homework before I went out to ride my bike. Mom told me that I had better finish my homework before she gets home from the shops, and as usual, she takes my sister, Ana, with her.

I just nodded and got to work without any arguments, not wanting to upset Mom.

I think I was maybe eleven or twelve years old at the time, Dad called me into the lounge room where he sat taking off his work shoes, and I sat down beside him expecting for us to watch tv like we usually do in the afternoon, but, on this day he was unusually angry.

"Lake, I'm going to teach you something that I wish my parents taught me when I was your age," he said, not facing me or showing any emotion at all, unease engulfed me, I gulp knowing this mood all too well.

I sit there completely still staring at him in anticipation and dread, waiting for whatever he was about to say next, he sighs and continues. "In life, go into everything you do with absolutely no expectations because that means there's less chance of disappointment when it all goes to shit because trust me, it will."

I didn't really understand what he was saying at the time, but I watched the expression on his face waiting for a sign to help me grasp. His face lingered cold, empty, emotionless, he just sat there staring in silence at our blank television sipping some clear liquid in a shot glass that I knew wasn't water.

The scent of it causing me to want to heave as he swirls it around in his glass, sending the odor into the air filling the lounge room.

"Okay, Dad," is all I could say.

If you ask me, that's a pretty shitty thing to tell a child, but hey the older I get, the more I realize maybe he had a point.

I hate to ever agree with my Dad, I never want to be as bitter as him, but it wasn't an entirely crappy piece of advice.

I pull my phone out from my clutch, checking for any messages from my stranger, to my delight there's one waiting for me.

"I'm waiting for you at the edge of the dance floor, come find me. - Unknown."

I grin, but I let it fall almost instantly reminding myself, no expectations, no disappointment.

I yank on Aspen's arms, halting her from dragging me in any deeper. "I'm going to go find a friend who is here, and I'll come to find you at the bar soon, okay?" I say, a bit unsure how she is going to react to me ditching her straight away. She does this to me all the time; it's her turn.

"Okay, I'll be at the bar with my brother, come find me when you're ready and keep your phone on," she releases my arm, I rub it, tender from where she was clutching onto me. I nod and turn back to face what I assume is the dance floor.

I awkwardly make my way through the crowd, suddenly feeling extremely young and inadequate compared to the womanly figures these girls all have, sorry not girls, women.

Did I miss out on the curvaceous part of growing up or something? Fuck my life.

I stand nervously at the edge of the dance floor, studying the people dancing to the music, smiles beaming on all their faces.

I linger, unable to control myself from frowning; I can't imagine just losing myself to the beats, allowing the music to take control of my body without any hesitation.

I tear my eyes away from the dance floor to look around attempting to find him, but there are so many people here it's hard to make out any faces in the dark.

I reach for my phone, figuring it would be easier for him to find me if he is familiar with this place.

"Hey, I'm on the dance floor, but I can't see you anywhere. - Lake"

I clutch my phone, anxiety kicking in the longer I stand here alone, looking like a complete loser and feeling like one too.

A minute or so later I feel a light hand caressing my lower back, I tense not daring to turn around in case it isn't him.

I feel the body lean in closer to me, so close their warm breath tickles my neck causing goosebumps to rise all over my body.

"I'm looking for a pretty girl waiting by the dance floor, and I hear she has with bells on. Have you seen her anywhere?" I hear the familiar voice and releasing my breath I relax.

I turn my face slightly and smirk. There he is, my perfect stranger.

He beams at me, the smirk causing my knees to buckle, but I catch myself before I fall, I don't need any more embarrassment

I spin so I am facing him, his hand going along with my movement still settled on my back. He pulls me in closer to him, my breasts practically brushing against his hard form.

I have no idea what to do with my hands; instinct makes me place them on his stomach, seeming to be the most natural stance being this close to someone, who might I add is still a stranger to me in many ways.

Bad idea.

His firm body pressing against my palm. Holy shit, my hand rising and falling with his breaths, I can't look away, I am completely hypnotized.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Chelsealeighstories

I'm a writer from Episode and Wattpad with over 20 million reads online. Maybe one day I'll be given the opportunity to publish one of my stories physically, that is the dream!

Thank you for all your support!

IG - @chelsealeighstories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.