Filthy logo

Betray - Part 19.

Vipertown.

By Chelsealeighstories Published 4 years ago 8 min read
1
This story was originally published on Wattpad.

https://www.wattpad.com/user/chelsealeighstories

Lake

He chuckles, and I can feel him watching me, "your dress has bells on it Lake, I'm completely fascinated," he continues to chuckle, not teasingly though. I relax and look up to smile at him, "I told you I'd be wearing bells, I didn't want you to think I was a liar."

I shake my dress gently moving it side to side, the bells jingle with my movement and his smile grows wider, the laughter growing between us.

"You're something special," he grins reaching out to jiggle the hem of my dress, causing him to laugh some more.

"Did you have any problems getting in?" he asks, probably referring to the line outside, "no, I was actually on the door list with my friend, so we didn't have to get in line."

His face falls, confusion washing over his features, but a smile returns a few seconds later, and he looks back down to me.

That was weird.

"So, did you come alone tonight?" I ask, curious as to why he was here, and if he came alone or not. Seems like a strange place to go alone, unless he came here to hang out with little old me?

Yeah, unlikely.

"Oh, you really don't know who I am, do you?" he asks, his hand falling from my back but I don't step away from his reach.

"Should I?" I ask, totally confused.

His body tenses and he takes a small step back, pulling all contact away from me. My hands drop back to my side, I have no idea what he expects me to say. I don't even know his name, what the fuck is wrong with me.

"Well, help me out a little and tell me your name," he looks back to me, his body still rigid, but he does give me a small smile, the corner of his mouth lifting slightly.

"Reid," he says, his arms dropping back to his side, relaxing a bit more.

"Reid," I whisper, testing his name for the first time, he must hear me because he steps closer again, pulling me into him for a hug.

"Lake," he whispers in response, leaning his forehead down to press against mine.

We stand there quietly holding onto each other forgetting where we are, living in that embrace in each other gazes.

This is surreal, I've never been this comfortable with anyone this fast before now. Sure, I'm not entirely innocent, but this doesn't feel like anything I've ever experienced before. I'm not sure how to handle what is going on, so I just stay there and let myself have this with Reid.

He pulls back eventually that smirk back on his face, "okay, so you seriously still have no idea who I am?" he asks, again, still I have no idea, I shake my head and shrug.

He chuckles, throwing his arm around my shoulder pulling me into his side, "Well I guess you're in for a treat when you find out."

Okay, why is he being so weird about this? If he is someone special, surely, I'd recognize him by now, right?

I may live a pretty sheltered, boring life, but the way Reid refers to himself he must be someone insanely important.

"Who did you come with tonight?" he asks, still holding me to his side, for whatever reason we stay standing at the edge of the dance floor, I'm observing the dancers, but I can feel his stare stuck on me.

"My friend Aspen, her brother is in-" I start, but I stop dead when I feel Reid's arm tense around me. I look up to see if he is okay, but his eyes are wide and frozen, no longer staring at me but glaring straight ahead at nothing in particular.

"Did you say Aspen?" he questions, he must know her too, everyone else around here seems to.

"Yeah, Aspen, her brother is in the band," I blurt out to beat his predicted interruption.

"Yeah, I know who Aspen is and her brother, I know them very well."

He draws out the word 'very' in a mocking way. I wait for him to elaborate, but he doesn't; instead, he starts to walk, pulling me along with him still secured under his arm.

"Where are we going?" I ask, confused, looking around trying to gauge where he could be leading us.

"I want you to meet some of my friends; they're excited that you're here."

Friends?

Did he tell his friends about me?

Holy shit, I didn't think about meeting anyone else but him. I'm so not prepared for this.

Halting our steps, he stops abruptly alongside me, peering down to watch me, "what's wrong?" he asks, "nothing, sorry, I just. I'm not good with new people," I admit.

Reid turns to face me, holding both of my hands in his, "I'm new to you, sort of," he smirks, tilting his head to the side, "and you're doing just fine with me," he encourages squeezing my hands gently, but it does nothing to calm the butterflies and nerves.

"We will just go over say hi then leave. Trust me; you might even know some of them," he winks at me, which does zilch to help my palpitating heart.

He turns back still holding onto one of my hands ushering me through the crowd. I don't fight his lead and follow willingly, eager to find out who Reid really is since he vaguely likes to drop hints, but I need straight answers.

We step into a clearing just in front of the bar, and I see Aspen. She notices me at the same time, her mouth falling open, her eyes glimmering with excitement, I stare back at her confused. I don't understand her reaction at all.

Well actually no, I understand completely. Reid is hot.

There, that's the truth, he is hot, and he is currently holding my hand, willingly introducing me to his friends.

I watch Aspen as she mouths what I think is, 'holy shit,' doing a little jump with enthusiasm, I shrug but grin at her. I need to get used to the fact Reid is going to get this reaction from most women, with or without me on his arm.

To my surprise, we stop directly in front of Aspen. Is this who he wanted to introduce me to? My own best friend?

"Aspen, I understand you know who this is," Reid gestures to me smirking, proud of himself, but I'm not sure what he is proud of, me? or the fact I already know his friends?

"Of course, I do. Get your filthy hands off my best friend you asshole!" Aspen screams, forcibly removing Reid's hand from mine, I stare at her astonished by her attitude and aggressiveness, but then she bursts out laughing and so does Reid.

He reaches for my hand again, grasping it in his giving it a light squeeze to reassure me of something, I don't know of what exactly.

He introduces me to two other guys, Nico who is next to Aspen, attractive, brooding and all tattoos.

Not a blank inch of skin visible on him.

He is tall and towers over Aspen's tiny frame, but he smiles at me seemingly friendly, so I return the gesture.

The other guy Reggie is all smiles. Reid introduces me, and Reggie pulls me in for the biggest bear hug I've ever received, lifting me off the ground as he squeezes me so tightly I chortle, gasping for air in between.

I've sort of worked out by now that Reid must be part of the band. Which makes sense why he was confused that I genuinely had no idea who he was. Especially after he found out Aspen was my best friend.

Reid then turns me to meet the last guy who has his back to us facing the bar. His head hanging low, seemingly not interested in meeting me and I don't blame him, I'm not that special.

Assuming this is Grey since that would make the last member of the band and Aspens brother.

"Grey, this is Lake." Reid introduces, tapping Grey on the back forcing him to turn and face us.

My heart sinks to the floor, and so does the smile on my face.

No fucking way, it can't be him; "Carter?" I take in a sharp breath, whispering his name so silently so only I hear it, but I notice his eyes held on my mouth

No fucking way, it can't be him; "Carter?" I take in a sharp breath, whispering his name so silently so only I hear it, but I notice his eyes held on my mouth.

I purse my lips, needing his attention away from my mouth.

His eyes travel up to reach mine. I can't look away. Of all people why did he have to be Aspen's brother?

This isn't good, this isn't good at all.

Everyone around us has moved on from the greetings all engaged in conversation. Reid's arm still hangs over my shoulder but, he doesn't seem to notice my attention is stuck on someone else.

I try to look away, desperate for anything else to focus on but my eyes have a mind of their own and keep going back to Carter, his dark eyes glaring at me, the furrow in his brows doing nothing to hide his disapproval.

Seriously? Why is he glaring at me?

What the hell.

Fuck this. I glare back locking my eyes on his. I'm not the one in the wrong here, and I'm not going to let him intimidate me like that.

We have a silent conversation through our eyes, I have so many things I want to say and ask, but both of us understand what the other is thinking.

We need to talk.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Chelsealeighstories

I'm a writer from Episode and Wattpad with over 20 million reads online. Maybe one day I'll be given the opportunity to publish one of my stories physically, that is the dream!

Thank you for all your support!

IG - @chelsealeighstories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.