Fiction logo

White Feather the World-Less

An Orphan's Journal

By J. S. WadePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
White Feather the World-Less
Photo by Landon Parenteau on Unsplash

Prologue

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. I don't know who they are; I don't know who you are. I only know me. They could be Silak, my green feathered Tertian mentor. The Tertian flocks have taught me of the universe as best they understand, but they don't know from where I came. I hope to discover the answer before I scream and solve the puzzle once and for all.

Journal Entry One – My Letter to My Unknown World.

Dear Unknown World,

I was discovered in a hatching capsule catapulting through space at fifteen thousand miles an hour more than ten cycles of the sun ago by a Tertian explorer. I've grown much taller over the cycles, and my legs no longer fit inside the capsule. The Tertians invented ways to meet my unique nutrition and body cover needs. Tertians don't wear covering and are proud of their feathered bodies. The Blues and Greens don't get along unless the Cyclic season has come. Then I am ignored, and they act crazy. The Blues and Greens, Blues and the Blues, and Green and the Greens dance and strut around each other until they lock muzzles for the night. The following day they fight, and everything returns to normal until the yellows hatch.

For five cycles, the yellows are separated from the whole until the young Tertians pick their color of choice. No one knows what option the yellows will decide until picking time comes. Featherless and odd, I was excluded. I am ten and half cycles hatched, and neither Green nor Blue. Many nights have passed when I wish I could pick a color, but my skin only grows fine blonde filaments. Once, I glued my arms with yellow Tertian buds to blend in with the young ones, and the Tertians laughed. They like to laugh.

Silak said, "Featherless one, you are not of us, be your own special one. You are not of our world, but we care for you as you are. Keep learning the language we decrypted from your hatching capsule. The day will come when you will need it. We will need it."

Images of my kind were found in the capsule, and they realized my physiology required protection. My body would not regulate its temperature, so they made me a covering of molted feathers turned white. I am called White Feather the World-less. A wily blue Tertian named Albacore often squawked that I would bring bad luck to their World. A Tertian squawk is a fearful sound. I'm sure it could be heard in the vacuum of space; it makes me want to pee. I think the old Blue would dismantle me with its talons if Silak didn't protect me. Silak says Albacore was angry because no Green would agree to dance and lock muzzles during the Cyclic with such a Blue. I feel bad for the old bird because no one will pick me either.

I tell you my story because the Red feathers, who have foresworn the Cyclic, made the discovery of a faraway planet. They believe it to be my home world. Your strange objects that orbit their world are much like my sleek hatching capsule but much greater in size. Are you searching for me? Do you know where I have come from? Am I of your World? Are there other featherless creatures like me in your world? The Tertians debated long and voted to attach a message tube, with this letter, to your alien probe to announce my existence. Also, to forewarn you of my coming to your planet a half cycle later. Albacore voted against the mission and claimed contact with another world would doom Tertia. I am to follow as their emissary in a space transfer tube they modeled after my hatching capsule.

I am not afraid and grow excited to meet you though I will miss Salek, my favorite Green. Cyclic is coming again. I think a Blue has grown in Salek's favor, and a Green also. Preening every day in preparation is a tell. Either way, new hatchlings will soon come and occupy them.

I am excited to meet you and discover your world, maybe mine, and I hope I am liked for who I am.

Soon,

White Feather the World-less.

Sci Fi

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Rick Henry Christopher 2 years ago

    Good and imaginative writing. I look forward to reading more of your stories.

  • Wow, writing without pronouns is extremely difficult (at least for me, lol) and you nailed it! Perfectly executed! This was a fantastic story and I loved it!

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Hopefully White Feather world less will be accepted. Nice job trying to write without pronouns. Enjoyed❤️

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Wow. This is great. Love it

  • Excellent work Scott

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Great piece of writing! Your intro pulled me right in, and the rest kept me equally engaged. I loved the upbeat tone of the story as well. This was such an enjoyable read :)

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Brilliant new world building!!! Loving this sci-fi story!!!💖💕

  • Dana Stewart2 years ago

    Great concept! I was engaged immediately! Nice work!

  • Angel Whelan2 years ago

    Bravo! An excellent piece

J. S. WadeWritten by J. S. Wade

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.