Fiction logo

Where Are You?

It only takes a minute

By Cathy holmesPublished 14 days ago 4 min read
21
Photo by Dmitry Korkhau on Unsplash

I hear the screech of tires, and the screams that follow. I jump up from the desk in my home office, knocking my chair to the floor with a loud thud. I run toward the front door, with no idea what’s happening, but instinctively I panic.

There's a truck in the street, in front of my driveway. It’s a blue truck; Ford I think, and there are red paint scrapes on the bumper. I see the skid marks from tires on the pavement. I see your bike. It’s under the truck. Your bike is under the truck! The frame is bent at a peculiar angle. Its front wheel is spinning on the twisted axle.

I smell the burning rubber and I don’t know why I’m thinking about what an odd scent it brings to the air as it lingers with the fragrance of your mother’s rose bushes.

I don’t see you. Are you... under?

Oh God. I want to run, but I can’t move. I hear myself panting, but I can't breathe. I feel my heart shatter into a million pieces, yet still it's screaming in my ears and pounding my head like a hammer. I look for you, but I can’t see you. I scream for you, but I’m not sure I made a sound. Did you hear me?

Where are you?

I want to run. I want to look for you, but I want to hide from what I know I’ll find. Still, I stand there on our step, frozen in place, turning my head left and right, up and down the sidewalk. Over and over, up and down the sidewalk I gaze, terrified to allow my eyes to travel to the street, to that blue truck.

I hear a voice. A jumble of words. “I’m sorry.” “I didn’t see it.” “It was just there, when I rounded the curve.” Something brushes against my arm. I jerk away violently. I see a stranger, a man. He’s staring at me. On his face there’s a look of regret, or is it fear? He is trying to tell me something, but I can only think of you.

His words, they're stewing in my mind. "It?" Did he just call my child "it?" I feel a burning rage erupt within me. I turn to him with clenched fists and open my mouth to scream. Then I hear your voice.

I don’t know if I’m dreaming or just praying for a miracle. I hear you again. “Daddy!” I see you running toward me from the direction of the park down the block. You're okay?

I feel my legs slip from under me as I am overwhelmed with relief. The stranger grabs on to prevent my fall. The same stranger I was about to... I don't know what I was about to do to him, but I don't think any amount of praying would have saved my soul after I was done.

I watch you still running up the sidewalk and run to meet you. You stop before you get to me. You see your mangled bike and start to cry.

I lay my hand on your shoulder and you turn to me slowly, afraid you may be in trouble. My knees are still weak as I sweep you up and squeeze you in a tight embrace, so tight you joke that I’m about to crush your bones.

You look at me with a tentative smile. I move your bangs from your sun-freckled face and can see the worry in your beautiful brown eyes. You’re still expecting to be scolded for leaving your bike in the street again. You know you’ve been told to leave it in the driveway; never on the roadway.

You’re waiting for me to say something, but I can’t speak. What you don’t realize is that, at this moment, I feel more like crying than scolding; that right now, I can only think of how grateful I am to hold you in my arms.

What you don’t think of, in your innocent mind, is that bikes can be replaced, but you, my love, cannot. What you can't feel, in your unblemished heart, is that I just lived a lifetime of grief in the brief moment you were gone, and that nothing matters but us being together, right here, right now.

PsychologicalfamilyCONTENT WARNING
21

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 2 days ago

    Beautiful, brilliant, FABULOUS storytelling & writing! Go Cathy Go! So so well done!!!!

  • Shirley Belk12 days ago

    Nightmares are made of scenes like this...glad it was only the bike. You did a great job parching my throat in fear of that child. Well done, Cathy!

  • This was full with evokes. Lovely.

  • Gabriel Huizenga13 days ago

    Wow- really, really beautifully evoked! So heart-wrenching, relieving, and real.

  • "I watch you still running up the sidewalk and run to meet you." Not me thinking you were gonna have another truck hit the kid after this sentence 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your story!

  • Extremely tense for reasons others have mentioned. Excellent story

  • Caroline Craven14 days ago

    You set this up so well. I was convinced the boy was under the lorry. God, I felt like crying too when he came home. Great story Cathy.

  • John Cox14 days ago

    You revived the terror of my worst moments as a parent with this story. Stunningly real and terrifying. Damn near stopped my heart, but the reward of your beautiful ending was worth the ride. Really exceptional storytelling!

  • ThatWriterWoman14 days ago

    The heart attack you just gave me Cathy!!! Wow! This had me on tenterhooks! The descriptive language is excellent and the story is incredibly immersive. Outstanding!

  • D.K. Shepard14 days ago

    Whew! That was so emotionally immersive! The terror, rage, relief were all so powerfully evoked. Great piece, Cathy!

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    Yeesh, you took me with you there.

  • OMG Cathy, this took me back to all those moments I lived a lifetime of grief in the few seconds I didn’t know where my children where. Well done.

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Oh wow, I was so scared! Great job!!

  • Mark Gagnon14 days ago

    You have taken me through a rollercoaster ride of emotions. Well done, Cathy!

  • JBaz14 days ago

    Brilliant Cathy, an absolute heart wrenching story that gives a welcomed relief at the end. Good luck with the challenge I believe you have a contender.

  • Cathy I love your story . Yes,bikes can be replaced but not a child

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.