Fiction logo

What's in a name?

Not a Shakespeare!

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published about a year ago 1 min read
What's in a name?
Photo by Ameen Fahmy on Unsplash

Hah! You probably thought I was about to scam Shakespeare.

I want to talk about names and how they’re chosen.

I can’t fathom how parents name their children so easily.

Is it like when an author chooses a pen name or a character name?

Some of us are given the names in dreams and others just come up with it on our own.

Or do you google names that fit a persona you want to create for yourself or the character? How do you choose?

That being said Donna Fox is just a pen name.

Thanks for reading,

HKB

Short Storyhumorhumanityfeaturefact or fictioncareer

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Cezanne Libellen12 months ago

    Hey, I use a pseudonym too!!

  • Mackenzie Davis12 months ago

    Ahhh, now the HKB of your spam rant makes more sense! Nice to meet you, lol.💖 I am so in love with choosing names for my characters that I will spend so much time Googling names from different cultures that have the kind of meaning I'm looking for, but that also fit the image I have for them in my mind. I tend to translate that name as the title of my short story. I name characters with great intention, or will leave them unnamed. I can't imagine naming my child yet, how I'll do it, where I'll go to look for names, etc. I know I'll need to meet them before naming. So maybe my baby will go nameless for a few weeks...or maybe something will come to me immediately. I do know that the name needs to sound good with the last name. So...I anticipate it being a challenge. Not at all the same process for what I do for characters or even how I'd pick a pen name. 🤓

  • Mark Gagnonabout a year ago

    I usually pick names that I think fit the character or have something to do with what I've done in the past. The main character in my book, Mike Gulf, comes from the phonetic alphabet of my first and last name initials. Are you going to tell me your real name, mystery lady?

  • Okay that was a plot twist! I never paused to think that Donna Fox might be a pseudonym. Pleased to meet you, HKB! Your initials seem very familiar to me but I can't quite put my finger on it. As for names in my stories, I have a list of female names that I like. They're usually picked up from any movies I've watched or books I've read. I've even used Pokemon names, lol! As for male names, I always have to Google them as I have none that I like to make a list out of Some times, my stories are based on real characters. So if you encounter the same name in different stories of mine, then both the character and the story is real Anyway, thank you for revealing a little clue about yourself. But is it okay if I continue to address you as Donna?

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Love the mystery. You already know the story behind my pen name. Signed, TT 😊

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Who can say? My initials stand for Library Card.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Does a name really matter, the real you still shines through. Donna Fox you are to me, Donna t'will always be.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    You got me Intrigued with this one

  • Sham gowthamabout a year ago

    you are the best writer!!!!!

  • ThatWriterWomanabout a year ago

    :o Hello HKB! I am shook! I loved reading this reflection on names - well done :D

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    It's a really good choice for a pen name too! I was thinking I might sign up as I.P. Knightly but decided I might just as well use my real name as everyone who might be hunting for me is already dead. Just kidding... 🤣

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Oooh mysterious!! Hi, HKB!

Donna Fox (HKB)Written by Donna Fox (HKB)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.