Fiction logo

We're All Mad Here

What good is clear sight if all you can see is confusion? 26th March, Story #86/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 3 min read
18
We're All Mad Here
Photo by twentyonekoalas on Unsplash

Does the thought ever strike you, "I'm not mad. I'm the only sane one here"?

Sounds like the call of the crazy person, does it not? But truly, I'm not mad. I'm not.

I look around at these people, and I don't think I'm better than they are... Only... Something happened that I can't explain. It's set me apart from them. Before, I was lumbering along the same as them, not-in-possession-of-all-the-facts. Now, the wool has dropped from my eyes. Ha! Imagine, the wool falling away, and now you see the blurring you didn't before. What good is clear sight if all you can see is confusion?

Like Eve, I just bit the Apple. She was despised for it. Maybe everyone despises me... But I can't put that bite back. You can't unknow things.

How odd, to be loathed and cursed, and all your children cursed... just for knowing something. For wanting to know.

I digress.

You know when you read a story, and the characters are... sort of fuzzy caricatures? You can't invent a face, you can only make this blob stand out from that blob with a characteristic. Well: we're the blobs! I speak to you now through the paper veil. None of this is real! You are, dear reader. But we... we live only in minds.

Can you picture it? When you go to buy your coffee, the barista is only a blurry face behind an apron. Your crush might have high cheekbones or shapely breasts, but the rest of her (or him) is just a lot of skin-coloured fuzz.

Sherlock Holmes doesn't have a face. Many of your actors have portrayed him very successfully, and they all looked different. Because he isn't the face. He's the hat, the pipe, the violin, the addiction.

Now imagine you look like that. Imagine you are not you, you are your window dressing. Imagine how empty that would feel, how crazy-making, and you get a sense of where I am.

I've tried telling people, but they look at me with that expression. Like I'm... you know. Imagine: people looking at you with an expression but no face. It's intolerable.

Maybe I'm differently mad. It's a small comfort.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding notes): 366

Submitted on 25th March at 23.40

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 86 day streak. I'm also putting them in my Index post.

The story behind the story: This one was inspired by Hannah Moore.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads. Leaving a comment makes that easier.

Edit: I entered this into RM Stockton's unofficial March Madness challenge. You can read more about that here:

Short StoryMicrofiction
18

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧25 days ago

    This is mind blowing, actually. I never really stopped to consider it, but you are spot on! Am I crazy? Naw, it must be all of you! lol This is a profound piece, L.C.!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Huh, this makes a lot of sense! So does that make me mad too? I know I'm mad but am I your kinda mad? Lol. Did you enter this into RM Stockton March Madness challenge?

  • Phil Flanneryabout a month ago

    "we're all mad here". Very existential L.C.

  • Ah, even my window dressing is a blur to other folks. But interesting bit of querying here, L.C.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Ha ha! Yes! This is SO it! Me? I'm hair and social awkwardness.

  • This makes complete sense to me. The only thing I would say differently is, "No, I'm probably completely mad, perhaps the least sane one around." Haha 🙃 Perception is such a strange and wonderful thing!

  • Love your description of Sherlock, this is a great piece

  • “M”about a month ago

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Whoa. I just realized how mad I am. This great, really well thought out.

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    You convinced me of blurs with Sherlock!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Differently mad, that's a club I want to belong to

  • Alexander McEvoyabout a month ago

    Ho-ly sh-**!!! This was a beautiful bit of meta prose, LC!! Damn!! It took me a hot second to realize that I was being spoken to by someone fictional, and it was amazingly crafted and delivered! I can imagine the horror of coming to realize the truth, coming to understand that one is fictional. How would that shatter our sanity? My my... so, I have a degree in philosophy and this story is one of the most existentially challenging and thought provoking that I've ever read! I simply loved it!!!

  • ROCK about a month ago

    I get it, like, totally get what you are saying. Window dressing is truly bizarre. What people see are not what they get when they get to know me. I am a fuzzy little whacko!

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    Happy to be the first to comment/like. In a fuzzy sort of way, of course. Remember, fuzz itches. And others will scratch it for you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.