Fiction logo

We'll meet again in 40 years

We'll meet again in 40 years

By Liston FlowersPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like

Living in the countryside for a long time, I am accustomed to an ordinary life. There is basically no place for me to go except in the field and home. Occasionally, I will have a small family gathering in my residence, and I will leave in a hurry after eating and drinking enough when I go to a hotel in the city. Just came back to listen to the younger generation to go to the KTV in the evening can take the strength, after listening to I think that should be a young people to go to the place, only hate when we did not catch up, so just listen to it, never want to see how the entertainment place is a scene.

Occasionally took to the streets in a day, a red car suddenly stopped beside the driver opened the door with a smile hello I get on a conversation, recognize is my old classmate Chen Bingyao, in his hands for a long time did not loosen, fatal after, his mouth service road: "I want to organize a classmate party, forty years ago, some people even haven't seen one side after graduation. Alas! Life is short, the vicissitudes of life, light eye we this stubble of people's lifeline to say also all 3/4 of the past, and now there are several people have turned into the "underground party", cherish our youth, let us together aftertaste the past, looking for a feeling, old classmate you see how?" I hesitated and nodded "Yes, all right."

Looking at my confused eyes, he seemed to sense something and said, "It's not that farming has caused me to feel inferior. At this age, I don't care what I do anymore. It's the highest enjoyment to get together and reminisce about the past and find the feeling of being together." "Yeah, yeah." "Sure?" "So the time is from the evening of April 6th to the 7th, at Shanba Kangyi Hotel."

As the day of the party drew near, my heart grew faster and faster. Can everyone recognize them? He (she) they face, name, character in my mind a comb again, but there is a point I am very clear, all that everything is in the past, is a simple youth, wind and rain vicissitudes of life for decades, all aspects of the gap who knows how much?

That afternoon I finally with excitement but also a little uneasy mood to walk on the road together, the car did not reach Shaan ba, the phone rang again "Hello, old classmate where have you gone? We have been waiting here anxious fire!" "Ah! Here we are, here we are! We're at the Northeast Bridge, we're almost there, we're almost there!" "Oh, fine, don't make it hard." "Good! Good!" . Listening to the telephone that laugh of men and women, there is a feeling of a kind of strange again in my heart, there is anxious have timidity again, there is excitement have disconsolate again, oneself appear in front of everybody with the figure of old man of a farmer, should behave dot what ability close real? Make public? Unbecoming and unenthusiastic to stay late. Knowing that it is a latent consciousness, but how also bad restraint. Walking into the hotel lobby, in order to stabilize my mood, I walked up the stairs to the fifth floor and walked to the end of the corridor where the voices were boiling. I saw a dignified man with glasses standing at the door holding my hand, patting my shoulder and Shouting my name and saying, "Do you still know me?" I stared at it with my eyes wide open for a while, but I didn't recognize it. The person in the house saw and said: "Don't recognize, don't come in, don't let go, recognize well!" "Ha ha" the other party could not help laughing out loud, ah! This move is really clever, with his smile, I really saw him, our old monitor - Liu Jianguo.

In fact, before this, the first thing I thought of was him, and I heard that he was a senior engineer in an arms factory. He was still him, and he was still so kind and concerned about people. Then the second: Wu Lanyun, I immediately said her name. The third, good familiar face, almond eyes, flat nose bridge, skin fair and delicate, jade teeth always with a smile, I was wondering, next to someone called me "she is Liu Jianjun, always can't recognize deliberately hold the hand of the beauty!" "Ha ha" a burst of laughter, with laughter strangeness has long vanished.

Greetings come one by one. About six o 'clock 30 people basically arrived together, people shake hands with each other greetings, a few students from other places although trying to speak local dialect, but always from time to time to tell the accent of different places, he (she) they are from Ningxia, Wuhai, Baotou, Hoshi and other places.

After pleasantries, we organized down to the hall on the first floor, and arranged for all students to take photos of the reunion for forty years. I think at this moment everyone's heart will be filled with emotion, think of the first group photo when we are young, today is hair cream dyed. People's faces have been mercilessly scarred by time. In spite of this, some people are saying "although we are all 60 years old now, we will take a second group photo in 40 years, and strive to borrow another 500 years from the sky!" Sunset, golden light is brilliant, each of our faces toward the sun to meet the brilliant freeze frame for the second group photo!

Next, walked into the banquet hall, after sitting down, or the old monitor first stood up to everyone waved and said: "Pause! Stop! Please allow me to propose that we have basically all the students present at this reunion. I suggest that all of you, whether you are riding a horse or riding a sedan chair, do not say how big your official is, how rich, whether you are in business or farming, we should all refer to the past, less to the present. Because in the life of the ocean, we swim for 40 years, ups and downs experienced a lot, that is to say, all the air is exhausted, now back to the harbor where we started, can not feel warm? So what I'm going to say is start with me and we'll each tell a story from the past. If we all remember, we'll each have one drink. If not, the speaker will have three. "Good!" The crowd cheered. Under the leadership of our teacher, my classmates helped the production team cut glutinous millet. We had lunch at the commune members' home and worked until late in the afternoon. That night, the moon was dark and the wind was high. 'Yes! Everyone has a drink. Then the second one said: "Once our class helped the production team dig ditches. We enjoyed it very much. Because of the hot weather, we only wore vests and stood in colorful channels. Rest at noon to have a meal, we a few of the boys first dig out of the girls with all the dry food stolen to eat, and then comfortable lying under the tree to enjoy the cool, while listening to the cuckoo on the book, while waiting to see the appearance of hungry girls, do you remember?" 'Yes! Have a drink each! The third said: "once the teachers dug a small channel water pouring garden, the students took the opportunity to throw bricks splashed into the water a body of water mischief, then came over a person I did not see who, others are quietly away, just I threw the broken bricks in the past, I saw a splash, splashed the man a face of water, ah! The president, I was immediately stunned, but the president also smiled, wiped a face of water drops casually said a few words away. Do you remember?" 'Yes! A drink for everyone... . Turn to the graying hair, fat waist of Bu Guangrong, although he is a teacher for many years, but also can not stand the atmosphere of the students rendering, intentionally said that the secret, he said he loved Liu Jianjun in class, and carved liu Jianjun's name on the stool, see that he was naughty temper again. But his cheeky smiling face could not stand liu Jianjun's glib counterattack. "That you early say ah, also province of I and now of husband marry, wait until now you have gun have no bullet, I see you this love defend battle return how dozen ah?" "Ha ha ha!" everyone laughed. "This is your secret in those days who can know, penalty wine three cups!"

At this time everyone wine strength head, blood boiling, gradually no rules. A private company owner then said, "I have been in business for many years, and I have summed up three things I know and three things I don't know. Would you like to share them with us? "Think!" "What can be said I do not know, and what cannot be said I do know; I do not know who is good to me, and who is bad to me I know; I don't know how many women. I know who's next." "If you are not serious, you will be fined three cups of wine. End!!! Ha ha!" Turn to a village cadre who has been in office for many years to make a speech, before I opened my mouth, quick wu-lan-yun grabbed the speech way: "Riding a motorcycle with a sheep, every village has a mother-in-law, it is you, quick say! How many wives?" "You're right! The wife mixes next a group!" "Big cup!" The banquet entered the climax, people's emotions also entered the climax, and then the host took us into the karaoke hall, I saw the colorful lights of the dazzling people, eyes should not be able to receive, so that there is a feeling of vertigo. But listening to the students' beautiful singing, soon let me adapt to the environment, also listen very invested. The passionate, melodious, playing with twists and turns of the melody, can evoke people to the distant past pure ethereal feelings, the light and cheerful dance can also instantly shorten the distance between people's hearts. The past passionate years seemed to be reflected in this way, one after another, one after another. Although the students were not very professional, I thought this was the most beautiful singing and the most beautiful dancing in the world.

The night was very deep, the students returned to the guest room in a group of two, and began to inquire and communicate with each other in confidence. In the corridor, you could hear the whispers coming from each room, listening to each other's painstaking efforts to fight their own piece of heaven and earth, talking about the fickleness of the world, and the social phenomenon of malicious people. Finally encouraged each other, sighed "we have been years of waterway flow into the river, years of daughter-in-law boil into a woman, everything will be natural, enjoy some family happiness." After the exchange, my heart suddenly filled with a sense of relief and joy.

Ah! In the long river of life, some people covered with flowers along the way, victory beckons to him from the other shore. Some people are full of thorns all the way, no matter how hard you struggle, but in the end only look up to heaven and sigh, believe in fate. This is society, this is life, people often say that stretching out ten fingers will not be general ah!

It was already more than three o 'clock in the night, and I was sleepy. I got out of bed and opened the curtain, only to see the stars in the sky. At the moment, numb for many years of mixed emotions, looking out of the window vast haoyu, ethereal as if to hear the Legalist or Taoist said: "between heaven and earth everything is a play, living person is rarely confused." Oh! Life is about to think more some of happiness, think less some of trouble, think more useful? Isn't that what everyone knows? Do it! Moreover, the period of life in our generation has left a quarter of the gap, let us get together become a good memory in the future!

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.