Fiction logo

Drabbles #1: Lucy's Fear, Frozen, Reincarnation, and Revelations

A mini-collection of random Drabbles

By Susan FourtanéPublished 18 days ago 3 min read
3
Drabbles #1: Lucy's Fear, Frozen, Reincarnation, and Revelations
Photo by Chris Lawton on Unsplash

A Drabble is a self-contained, flash-fiction story of exactly 100 words.

A Drabble can be a simplified version of a longer work of fiction, or what started as a Drabble can become the inspiration for a longer short story, even for a novel.

In my quest for perfecting my editing and brevity skills, I have recently started to write Drabbles. To my surprise, what started as a mere writing exercise has become something I truly enjoy.

Writing a Drabble represents a challenge for me. After years of writing long-form, delivering a story in only 100 words is fascinating.

I like how I think differently about each individual word, the meaning they carry, and the impact on the whole story.

I am excited and curious to see if these little Drabbles become a longer work of fiction, or remain as random Drabbles.

Here, I have compiled my first ever four Drabbles. I hope you will enjoy them!

~~~

Lucy’s Fear

Suddenly, chilly wind slips through leaves, cracking underground with each of Lucy Donovan’s steps

By Vadim Bogulov on Unsplash

At night, the woods are an entirely different world.

While during the day there is a breeze of magic with fairytale feeling at times, the dark hours awaken mystery, and sometimes fear.

Fear.

This is something that Lucy has learned to fight; a battle she conquered a long time ago. Why was it, then, that she felt her old enemy was back?

She felt as if fear was coming back to haunt her like a professional ghost that never quite leaves.

Or, that was at least what the guide tour at that haunted castle Lucy visited in Scotland once said.

~~~

Frozen

How could the snowflakes know?

A frozen, pale, stiff human hand emerged from its snowy grave — Concept created by Susan Fourtané using Ideogram.ai

Winter is a particularly fun season.

As I walked through the snowy woods, a playful magpie rested on the treetops under the dancing snowflakes.

The wild rabbits began to dig deep under a pine tree. Slowly, a frozen, pale, stiff human hand emerged from its snowy grave.

As the creatures dug deeper, a lifeless human body was revealed.

Snowflakes had been dancing a quiet winter ballet, unaware of the mortal dangers, unaware of the hidden death that lay underneath them.

They were the only witnesses of the crime.

They became accomplices of the most haunting murder the town ever knew.

~~~

Reincarnation

The white gown was waiting for her ...

An engraved portrait of Blanche Arundell, based on a drawing by William Hilton — © National Portrait Gallery, London

“I saw my reflection in the mirror. The gown still fitted like a glove. I closed my eyes. I was dancing in the ballroom. My hair was different. It was red. You wouldn’t believe me if I told you.”

“I am your psychiatrist. I can only help you with your dreams if you tell me everything.”

“This was not a dream. It was real. I went to the sale at the Old Wardour Castle. Of all the objects in the room, I was mesmerised by how well my white gown was preserved.”

“Your white gown?”

“I AM Lady Blanche Arundell!”

~~~

Revelations

Showing his true colours

By Janesca on Unsplash

“Are you coming? It’s Valentine’s Day. Bring food. I am waiting.”

The message revealed this was not a friendly invitation but rather a demand.

Marcus was impatient, bossy, and bad-tempered. Yet, Sophie loved him.

She bought him a heart-shaped chocolate and rushed to his house.

After lunch, while walking in the park, they saw a couple with two small children.

Out of the blue, he screamed: “You are old, you are ugly, you can’t have children! Go away! Leave me alone!”

Marcus left running, leaving Sophie standing alone.

She was ashamed. She didn’t know what her crime was.

~~~

Susan Fourtané ©2024 | All Rights Reserved

SeriesShort StoryMicrofiction
3

About the Creator

Susan Fourtané

Susan Fourtané is a Science and Technology Journalist, a professional writer with 18 years experience writing for global media and industry publications. She's a member of the ABSW, WFSJ, Society of Authors, and London Press Club.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    Nice job on the drabbles. All different from each other. I liked the ending of Frozen!

  • Great work. You did a fantastic job creating four drabbles. I do remember reading the longer version of Revelations not so long ago. My favorites are Revelations and Lucy's Fears.

  • Wow, an amazing work.

  • Ottwa 5518 days ago

    Please help me you tell me how write article.

  • My favourites were Frozen and Reincarnation. Also, have you published Revelations before? I felt like I've read that before.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.