Fiction logo

Waiting

From A Challenge From The Centre for Fantasy - Oxford

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
6
From Centre for Fantasy - Oxford

Introduction

This is a microfiction from a prompt from the Centre for Fantasy - Oxford that you can read about here and see in the image above and with a thought about the loss of the Sycamore Gap Tree.

The music is "One Tree Hill" by U2 from "The Joshua Tree"

Waiting

I really don't have long, I am just a leaf on this ancient Oak Tree, and Autumn is here. I was green and full of life, but now my life is draining, but ironically I am now far more beautiful as my skin turns golden brown.

The Oak Tree passes us news and knowledge and told us the terrible news of Sycamore Gap. I do believe that our Oak Tree is safe in this old town square.

The people love this Oak Tree, and sit beneath it on the benches in the square, eating sandwiches and drinking whatever they have brought with them.

I have enjoyed them, but I am just a leaf one of the thousands on this Oak Tree for a very short time.

Soon the Oak Tree will let me and the other leaves go and we will float down to the square to our final resting place.

This has been a beautiful few months, experiencing sun and rain, and the alchemical transformation of green to gold like we are truly magic.

I know people love the colors of Autumn and these leaves and I will crown this Oak Tree with a golden beauty before it bares itself for the winter.

I am falling

Goodbye

FantasyShort StoryMicrofictionFable
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock8 months ago

    Still grieving Sycamore Gap. My heart still aches & stomach hurts.

  • This was so amazing and wonderful! And then there's me who wrote about mass murder made to look like suicide 🤣 Loved your story!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    That's great, Mike! I love it!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Wonderful job! Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.