Fiction logo

Unexpected

Everyone loves when their crush notices the little things... except when they're oblivious to your advances.

By A. NguyenPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like
Unexpected
Photo by Do Nhu on Unsplash

“So hear me out. What if we blew him up? Poisoned him? Maimed him a little?”

“For fuck’s sake, no? He’s our boss.”

“Not even one punch? Come on Jason, you can’t tell me he isn’t a vexing person.”

“He’s… peculiar but he still pays us so we, as in you, cannot assault him. Plus I thought you were happy with the job.”

“I am. It’s just… he’s so confusing! Sometimes he just pleasantly minds his business and other days he has me all over the place ordering ungodly amounts then having me help him finish them when it's too much!”

“He’s just like that Krystal. After working for him for 6 months I thought you figured that out.”

“I’ve long figured that out, doesn’t mean I like it though. I’m just getting some serious whiplash from his constant back and forth and taking him out would give me one less headache with my thesis coming up. You’re his friend Jason, do you know how to keep him in a good mood?”

As I let out a frustrated sigh, Jason gave me a smile which made me narrow my eyes at him. I don't trust that look. Why does he look like he knows something I don’t?

“I think Eli’s been in quite a good mood for a while though.”

“In what world do you call him randomly screaming in the middle of closing a “good mood”? It made one of the new part-timers drop a mug at how terrified he was.”

“Like I said, he’s peculiar plus we’re a café. We have tons of mugs that he pays for. You’re bright Krystal, you’ll figure things out… eventually.”

I rolled my eyes when suddenly the front bell jingled. I got up from the seat I had taken on the edge of his desk, and made my way to the front.

“Oh no I got this, Manager Han,” I mocked as he didn't even bother to make a move to get up.

“Yeah yeah yeah. It's around the time Eli comes, don’t keep him waiting.”

He gave me a wink which I returned with the finger as I headed out, to make matters worse Jason just had to be right. Eli stood at the register with a smile which only grew bigger the moment his eyes landed on me. All I could do was give a polite one in return.

“Afternoon boss. Do you want your usual or do you want to change it up again?”

"Let’s change it up, you should know my tastes by now right? How about you surprise me?" He smirked and if this were a cartoon you would see the little anger symbol on my head.

"Will you still drink it if I get it wrong?"

"Hmmm, maybe?"

With a sigh I turned my back to him as I moved around to make him a drink, rolling my eyes when my face was safely out of sight. Or so I thought.

"I can see the reflection Krystal," he chuckled before walking away.

Mentally cursing at myself for getting caught, I went to actually make his drink this time. He took his usual seat at the table with the most sunlight by the window. Maybe because I'm like a cat and get sleepy with direct sunlight like that, I don't know how he can sit there unfazed. I've noticed he get a lot of the strawberry products so I made him the new summer drink that complements strawberries well and a slice of strawberry shortcake to accompany it. Placing the order in front of him, I prayed it suited his tastes.

"Hmmm, strawberry?" He commented when he saw the cake. After taking a bite and having a taste of the drink, his lips pulled into a smirk, "So you have been paying attention to me."

As I felt a sense of accomplishment, I prayed that the heat I felt was from the sun and not because I felt a certain way when he said I was paying attention. Come on Krystal, pull yourself together!

"Of course, you're a regular. It's hard not to when you come so often."

"So you remember all of the regulars' tastes?"

"The ones I've ran into often enough, yes."

The before mentioned accomplished feeling? Crumbled away, replaced with this weird air around us. His smile, although still there, didn't seem as genuine as it did only seconds before and it seemed like he wanted to say something but only silence filled the air. It was uncharacteristic, coming from a man who has spoken gibberish to me without batting an eye before. Eli always speaks his mind, so why isn't he now? The longer I stood there the more unease stirred in me so I scurried back to my station at the cash register to escape. As time passed I threw an occasional glance here and there but he just continued to quietly sit there nibbling at his order. I should be glad he wasn't calling me back and forth but I still couldn't get rid of this ominous feeling. Once the new part-timer Wesley came for his shift, and Jason came out to supervise, I went to take my meal after casting my god-knows-what-number concerned look at Eli who just stayed in his daze. Going out the back door, I went up the side alley towards the front of the café but made sure I was still out of sight as I took my rightful place on an old crate that has been deemed my break time spot for months now. Reason being, a certain black furry four-legged bundle of cuteness who’s familiar meow echoed down the alley as soon as I took out my food, his blue eyes looking at me as he approached.

"There you are, Siren. You only come when you smell my food you little bugger," I smiled as I took out a can of cat food from my bag.

Placing the opened can in front of him, I pulled out my sandwich and we ate in peaceful silence for a moment. In the back of my mind, Eli's behavior pricked my consciousness until I couldn't focus on eating. Putting my half-eaten sandwich down triggered Siren to look up from his food curiously.

"You know my boss came in again. He did that thing again where he threw a curveball and asked me to make an order I think he would like. He acted like I got it right, he even told me!... but maybe I was actually wrong."

"Meow?"

"He was all smiles and teasing tone like usual but then I told him of course I knew cause it's hard not to memorize regulars' tastes and it was like the air dropped a couple of degrees."

"Meow!"

"Why are you getting mad? It's a fact, that's just how my brain works. Did I pay more attention because he's my boss? Well yeah I think that's a given but is it so wrong for me to know the usuals of regulars?"

"Meow."

"Don't use that flat tone with me. Okay, so yeah he's also kind of cute but he's also annoying and misleading too, remember? Plus I can't just go "It's hard not to pay attention to you when you sit there looking good like that," I'm sure he doesn't need the ego boost."

"Hssssss."

"Why are you taking his side? Am I not the person who feeds you?" Siren only stared at me and I sighed, "What? You want me to be more honest? Fine, I'll at least see what got him all sour but that's it okay? I would like to keep working here without feeling complete shame for having a crush on my boss."

Siren purred in approval as he gave me a reassuring brush against my legs before going back to his meal. So it wasn't the most conventional conversation, and if anyone saw or heard me they would think I'm a little crazy, but the cat has a point. I finished off my sandwich before hopping off the crate.

"One day we won't be having these conversations in public, got it? Just a bit more saving and then you're coming home with me buddy."

I gave Siren a little love as I rubbed his head before going back inside and back to my shift. After washing my hands Jason ushered me back to the front cause we got busy and it wasn’t until things slowed down that Eli motioned for me to come over and he ordered two more drinks. Nothing else said. Setting the two drinks in front of him I assumed he wanted to be left alone again but he motioned for me to take a seat.

"Sit with me."

"But I'm on the clock-"

"Jason and Wes will be fine so sit with me."

I could do nothing but oblige as the café was practically empty at this point and I did need to speak with him anyways. Sitting in the chair across from him, he pushed one of the drinks to me and I realized it was one of my favorites. Still feeling stifled by the weird air around us I eagerly took the drink and sipped it down, looking anywhere but at him. His question was abrupt and blunt, out of the blue that I stopped my nervous looking and watched the man in front of me.

"Do you know why I come here so often?"

"Just to torture me?"

The words had just blurted out before I could stop myself. I had intended it to be a joke, thinking my sarcasm was evident, but the slight hurt look on his face cut my heart. Okay Krystal now is not the time to feel shitty over your stupid comment, he's being serious so match the tone. I wasn't sure how to go about this when he is so serious all of a sudden.

"Just kidding… uhm, well you come here a lot cause you own the place right?"

"Not necessarily… Then do you know why I always sit here?"

"Because you like the warmth from the sun?"

"No, I like the view."

"The view of other buildings? Eli what’s going on, why are you asking all these questions?"

At my responses he just smiled at me and shook his head. This smile wasn't like the playful ones he often gave me, this was different, there's something softer about this one.

"Okay fine, last question. Have you realized that you're the only one who services me?"

"Huh? No, that's not right. I may be here more often cause I have more availability but-"

As I spoke this my mind raced through my past time at this job. Every time Eli came in I helped him and when I asked others when I came after a day off they never mentioned Eli coming in…

"Wait, why is that then? Did someone mess up your order before so you stick to one server?"

"You know Krystal for a student working on your grad thesis you aren't bright in other areas."

"Hey, what's that supposed to mean?"

My temper started to flare but the minute the words fell from his lips any fire was immediately put out, the warm smile didn't help my beating heart either.

"Let me take you on a date, preferably not a coffee one."

"Wait so you…"

His reply was just his smile pulling up ever so slightly, revealing a little of the teasing tone I was familiar with. Everything started to make sense but why would he bring up this spot? It has to do something with that too right? I snapped my head and scanned his general view from this table and was still confused until I noticed a flick of a black tail. Looking closer, from this angle you would be able to see into the alleyway. My head whipped back to the man in front of me.

"Have you been-"

"You never answered my question," he cut me off.

Remembering my short conversation with Siren at lunch, I nodded my head. His smile grew bigger and I had to look away before my stupid blush acted up again. This was definitely not the direction I thought this conversation would go but I'm not complaining.

"Good. Then on the date I can tell you about how I fell for a girl who fed a stray cat."

LoveShort Story
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.