Fiction logo

Underground kingdom

An Indian lost his wife and was very sad.

By QaboosPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Underground kingdom

An Indian was very sad when his wife died. He kept crying and nagging: "Wife, where are you? Without you, who would take care of me, wash my clothes and cook my meals?"

He immersed himself in his grief every day, did nothing, and in the end, he had to live a life of seeking things.

One night, he came to his wife's grave, fell to the ground, and shouted loudly with tears in his eyes: "Wife, why did you leave me alone? I am so miserable!"

Crying and crying, he suddenly found a stranger in strange clothes standing in front of him. The stranger asked him, "What happened, why are you crying so sadly?"

The Indian was taken aback and stammered: "My wife died, I cried because I was too lonely, I want to see her!"

The stranger said, "Do you really want to see her? Then I'll take you there! However, you have to close your eyes, I won't let you open them, you must not open them!"

As soon as the Indian heard that he could see his wife, he agreed with great joy.

After a while, the stranger said to him, "Okay, open your eyes!"

The Indian opened his eyes and saw that he had come to the underground kingdom ruled by Hades. The person who brought him is long gone.

Pluto said to the Indians, "If you miss your wife, go to that river. Find a horse on the bank and lead it to me!"

The Indians listened to him and went to the river. The river was quickly found, but the shore was full of women, washing their hair and washing their clothes. The Indian searched for a long time and could not find a horse. He went back to Hades and said to him, "I did not find a horse, but many women."

Death said to him, "Go again and ask them who is a horse. Whoever told you she was a horse, this woman is your wife. As long as you ask, she will become a horse. Take her well and bring her to me!"

The Indian returned to the river and did as Death ordered. He asked the group of women, "Who are you horses?" As soon as he finished speaking, one of the women turned into a horse. The Indians immediately tied her up and led her to Hades.

They walked through a large pit with a fire burning in it, and there were piles of bones beside it. The Indian's wife told her husband that she went to the river every day to bathe, and then came back with firewood. When she bathed, it was a woman, and when she carried firewood, it was a horse, but as soon as she approached the fire pit, she would become a pile of bones.

"Death burns me every day to punish me," she continued to her husband. "He burns me to ashes. I told Pluto that my suffering was over, and he would take out the ashes and turn me back into a woman. This punishment is terrible, but I still have to get through it, all because you didn't beat me when I was alive."

The woman took her husband back to her hut. In the kingdom of Hades, every dead man has a hut of his own, and the woman brings her husband to eat: yellow corn and red beans. They can't eat white corn, because white corn is the product of the wisdom of the living; they can't eat black corn, because black corn is the burning flesh of the living; they can't eat black beans, because black beans are the eyeballs of the Indians.

After eating, the woman said to her husband: "I sleep on the wooden bed, and you sleep by the stove. You must know that here is different from the human world, and you cannot sleep together."

So the Indian slept by the stove as his wife said.

After a while, he desperately wanted to make out with his wife as he had done in the past. So he lay down beside her, but when he reached out, he touched a pile of bones, as if his wife didn't exist at all. The next day, his wife scolded: "Why did you touch me, you caused a big disaster! My sins are over, now they will punish me more severely!"

Finally, one day, the woman said to her husband, "You could have lived a long time, just because you came to me, so you will die two weeks after you return to the world."

"That's fine, it's all the same to me." The Indian said. Sure enough, on the fifteenth day of his return to the world, the Indian also died.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Qaboos

I'm Qaboos and I speak for myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.