Fiction logo

Tuna Tuesday

You Can't Win 'Em All

By Misty RaePublished 12 months ago 1 min read
17
Photo courtesy of the author

I traded shifts with Jess so I could have today off. She's the only other supervisor in the department. She didn't mind, she's single, no kids.

I did feel bad about lying to her. I told her I had an appointment. I didn't.

It's just Tuna Tuesday, at the most popular spot in town. I'm so excited! I can almost taste it!

I lined up 90 minutes before opening. Gotta get there early.

Jackson greeted me warmly, apologetically, "No tuna today, just peanut butter."

I took my bag and left the Second Street Soup Kitchen. Can't win 'em all.

Short Story
17

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Moe Radosevich12 months ago

    Had a similar situation with meatball hoagies, only on Thursday 🧐🧐 I like this plus I subscribed 😊

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Aw, the ending was touching and sad. I was not expecting that! ❤️ Love.

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    That was a twisted ending , I thought it was a restaurant she was going to. I love beautiful butter and jelly sandwich myself. I know how upsetting it could be when your taste buds was expecting something and did not get. Enjoyed 🥰

  • That's so sad. But the bitter truth. Very well written!

  • Delightfully sad. (Heather took the rest of my comment, lol.)

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    Great social commentary. Working full time and still not able to earn a living. I don’t know if I’m angry or sad or both.

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    This had so many effortless transitions, from light-hearted, to a little naughty (lying to co-worker), to anticipatory, then to disappointment, then ending with gratefulness. Well done!!!

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Tragic times have been thrust on so many. 🥲. Great story Misty!

  • Excellent work , sorry about the disappointment

  • Jess Boyes12 months ago

    A sad and thought provoking story. It reminds me of how lucky I am. Well done!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Now, that's disappointment x ten!!! Good story, Misty!!!💖💖💕

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Omg. That is horrible.

  • Antoinette L Brey12 months ago

    Good job, i thought it was going to be a market, it surprized me

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Oouf that ending. Humorous, yes a sad commentary. Great story.

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    Ooooh that's a bit cheeky! Best of luck in the challenge 😁

  • Interesting story... Kind of a day in the life type. Great job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.