Fiction logo

Triggers

Pushing All the Wrong Buttons

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
27
imageflip.com

{Trigger Warning: If you are easily triggered by writing that, while not explicitly sexual or violent, is certainly suggestive of such…. No, no, there’s nothing detailing, representing, or otherwise implying abusive relationships between partners, whether physical, emotional, psychological, professional, or other.

And no, there is no inference or representation of any danger or harm coming to children or others who are vulnerable.

No. Absolutely not. There are no references to body parts, either male, female, or other. Nor are there descriptions of any kind as to what might be done with said body parts.

Why would you even think that? Of course, there is no hate speech, whether directed at people of varying races, gender or gender identity, mental acuity, or whatever—at least not of which I am aware.

There are no details of risky behavior included in this story nor consequences or lack thereof.

How shall I put this?

If trigger warnings are triggers for you, please don’t read this trigger warning. Did that help?

The heist? One of words, story, content. By the end of this brief paragraph, I will only have one word left for this microfiction piece.}

Salut!

SatirePsychologicalMicrofictionHumorHorrorCONTENT WARNING
27

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Nicely done, very clever.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Excellent work, can’t wait for you to start writing again. 🙂

  • You are so clever Randy... I was compelled so by this trigger warning that I had to read it through completion. I have used a trigger warning twice. But in both occasions it was necessary. I tend to get quite malicious when that is my aim. For reference the two times I used trigger warnings were on my stories "The Hail Mary Confession" the warning was mostly for part two. I added it after one of my readers had a meltdown from reading the story. The other time was for my story "Fragments," this story was rather brutal. In real life we have no control of the triggers. Our stories are not real life. We have complete control and I think it's only fair and a courtesy to those that do have illnesses such as Major Depressive Disorder, Bipolar, PTSD, etc to give a warning. Unless you've had an illness as such or have lived with someone with such illness you just do not know how much reading something as brutal as my story "Fragments" can tear such a person down.

  • Colleen Millsteed 10 months ago

    Brilliant and creative Randy. Love it 😊

  • Amelia Moore10 months ago

    heh. this is clever. and kinda perfect for the prompt. it took me a minute to get this, but once i did i had to read this over a few times. very well done, and a great entry. :)

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    This is so clever, Randy! I really love this. I've only used a trigger warning on one of my pieces, and honestly, I don't even think it needed it; I just felt pressured into putting it there. 😅 Great take on the challenge!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Haha! I think I've only used a trigger warning once. There is a fine line determining the appropriate use and I believe you've fleshed it out here. Great read and entry, Randy.

  • This was brilliantly creative

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    You are a tricky trickster, as Heather put it 🤣. This was funny!

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Pastor Randy ~ Thank you for this ~ I've been slapped by a fellow-writer to shut-up ~ so I shall. Best to you - I've always respected our Back/Forth -

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Ah, you tricky trickster!! I was starting to get suspicious after a few lines. I thought you might end it with 'I've stolen your time' hahaha. Loved this one!!!

  • I'm with Roy on this one. I too feel violated, lol! My jaw dropped when I reached the end. You got me good, lol! 🤣🤣🤣

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    I had my getting triggered boots on and everything....! :)

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    I feel violated! 😁 Absolute genius, Randy!

  • Test11 months ago

    Quite a heist! Only one word left at the end. I don't think warnings are an inherently bad idea, but perhaps we are encouraged to go too far with them. Loved the message💙Anneliese

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Interesting take on the challenge. I’m not even sure what happened here, but you definitely got my attention. Lol

  • A great way of putting it❤️😉📝❗

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    I tried to do this with a piece called 'Trigger Warning' and you did it much better than I did. I am never using a warning label on my work and I wish that Vocal never had the option (life comes with no trigger warnings, so why should our writing). And I don't usually say this, but I really do want you to win for this one. ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.