Fiction logo

Heist Most Clandestine

Heist, Counter-Heist

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
93
Heist Most Clandestine
Photo by Phil Plante on Unsplash

She leaned against the weeping willow, sipping from a fresh cup of tea, holding it in both hands as a shade against the night chill. If she could get away with this, it would be the heist of her career. Sonneteers would pen roundelays while balladeers sang her praises.

Cunning & stealth would be vital, never more so than for this. She had just put the children to bed. But their guests were still here. She needed a pretense for her husband & friends.

“I thought I might find you out here.”

She turned to find her beloved soul mate almost upon her. Speaking of stealth, he had done mighty well with that back door.

“Trying to steal a few moments for yourself?” he smiled as he took her in his arms & drew her close.

“It was worth a shot,” she countered with a wry grin of her own, casually brushing cookie crumbs from the shoulder of his cardigan.

“How about I steal something from you?” he enjoined, leaning in for a kiss.

Holding him tenderly behind his head, she pulled him close.

“I like your heist even better than mine.”

Young AdultMicrofictionLoveHumorfamily
93

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (53)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Millsteed 10 months ago

    So romantic and a great take in the prompt Randy. Congratulations on a great top story.

  • Jordan Flynn10 months ago

    Lovee this take on the prompt! Its the little things that are sometimes the most valued!

  • marie e ehlenbach10 months ago

    It made me remember!

  • Test11 months ago

    Haha, very real. I remember many such heists when I had young children.🙏Pernoste

  • Asif Ali11 months ago

    https://vocal.media/families/captivating-cats-exploring-the-diverse-world-of-feline-beauty

  • Asif Ali11 months ago

    plz visit my siories

  • Asif Ali11 months ago

    fantastic sir

  • Meagan Dion11 months ago

    Aww, that was sweet. Nice twist.

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    Absolutely wonderful!

  • Sara Frederick11 months ago

    Great job! Wonderful work. I love how you switched the heist to a stolen kiss.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Aww, I know that heist well. Trying to steal time to myself often feels like pulling off an elaborate plan. And I loved hubby's heist as well, how lovely :) Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Nobody11 months ago

    This story beautifully weaves together elements of mystery, romance, and humor, creating an enchanting narrative that captured my heart.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    I am not crying! You are. Or something. Anyway, Randy, I have absolutely nothing funny or silly to say. This is just great. So much detail in such a tight word count. And love the fact that you twisted it, but not in a dark and wicked way, in a lovely and sweet way. That made it more unexpected. congrats on Top Story!

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Randy, I love this sweet story! Such a simple and beautiful moment in time and a wonderful take on this challenge. Your writing always transports me right into the scene– I felt like an intruder! Well done and congrats on top story!

  • Watson11 months ago

    i saw this good . thanks

  • Gal Mux11 months ago

    I saw this play out in front of my eyes maybe even with some orchestra music playing... Congrats on TS

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    Woah! I feel like I just stepped into some side action in a period romance novel. Well done!

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story! A wonderful and unexpected plot line as it unfolded. I have Subscribed, and heated. So looking forward to reading more! If you feel inclined, here is my entry into to the ‘Micro Heist’ Challenge: https://vocal.media/fiction/ever-so-slowly Pauline 🌸

  • I just Love Romantic Stories ❤️😉❗

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Honestly, I was expecting her to knock him over the head or something. Dharrsheena is rubbing off on me. Darn lovey lovey stuff. TS yep.

  • Chantae Harding11 months ago

    This was so cute. The level of intimacy is beautiful. This was a very cool take on the prompt.

  • Lilian opene 11 months ago

    The story is nice and touching, you know love brings light to the world but when misused causes great demand

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh11 months ago

    This sweet story makes my day! I can one hundred percent relate. Leave it to you, Randy, to turn a theft into a gift!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This is so well done and a wonderful take on the challenge.Congrats on the Top Story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.